Get Your Free Audiobook

Listen with a free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $32.62

Buy Now for $32.62

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

Sherlock Holmes is an unparalleled genius. Warlock Holmes is an idiot. A font of arcane power, certainly. But he's brilliantly dim. Frankly, he couldn't deduce his way out of a paper bag.

The only thing he has really got going for him are the might of a thousand demons and his stalwart companion. Thankfully, Dr. Watson is always there to aid him through the treacherous shoals of Victorian propriety and save him from a gruesome death every now and again.

©2017 G. S. Denning (P)2017 Recorded Books Inc

Critic Reviews

"A must for all those who like their Holmes on the wilder side." (George Mann, author of Sherlock Holmes: The Spirit Box)
"I laughed like a loon." (James Lovegrove New York Times best-selling author of The Age of Odin)

What listeners say about Warlock Holmes: The Hell-Hound of the Baskervilles

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • T.N
  • 27-06-2017

The wackiness continues

Though I respect some of the haters who dislike this book or expect it to just be another Sherlock Homes mystery novel, the truth is that even if it wasn't a parody of Sir Arthur Doyle's work I probably would have bought it anyway.
I just wish the Author wrote more or that I could find something similar to this. It is very rare to find something that is enjoyable as this, that has a good plot, a good character selection, and can make me laugh.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lainey
  • Lainey
  • 27-06-2017

top class

gutted it's over and I don't have the next book to listen to. It's that good. amazing book.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for sian meakins
  • sian meakins
  • 23-06-2017

amazing!

was very funny and narrated very well! enjoyed the similarity to the original sherlock holmes

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Strawberryskullcrusher
  • Strawberryskullcrusher
  • 21-11-2018

The game is a foot Whatssssa

Really fun and refreshing. Does not take itself too seriously. A rip roaring romp around Victorian London. Excellent narrator who brings the characters to life.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for GV
  • GV
  • 03-06-2017

Sherlock Holmes will never be the same

What did you like most about Warlock Holmes: The Hell-Hound of the Baskervilles?

The geriatric Hell-Hound, the literal-minded demons, the usual shenanigans, the somewhat dim Holmes and as always; Watsons comments. And of course, the landlady.

What other book might you compare Warlock Holmes: The Hell-Hound of the Baskervilles to, and why?

Sherlock Holmes, but with demons and a fairly dim-witted Holmes. This is clearly a spoof on Sherlock Holmes, but a lot more entertaining.

Which scene did you most enjoy?

Any scene with Watson annoyed. Also trying to figure out which Sherlock Holmes story is being mangled (with added demons)

If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

If you have to, make an anime. A "normal" film can't do this justice.

Any additional comments?

And waiting for the next installment...

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tatiana / @TCLinrow
  • Tatiana / @TCLinrow
  • 25-05-2021

A great series so far!

Warlock was at it again, with good old Watson at his side keeping him (mostly) alive. I really liked getting to learn more about the making of Warlock Holmes, and his back story was superbly crafted for his character.
This is a truly excellent series so far!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Harley quinn
  • Harley quinn
  • 20-10-2019

Better than the original.

I have read the hound of the Baskerville's many times but this was better. Warlock Holmes is a wonderful character, complicated, compassionate and funny. All the characters are excellent, clever versions of their originals, as are the stories and the narrator is perfect.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 01-04-2018

Awful

very poor pastiche terrible narrator starts trying for a Canadian accent rapidly falls into a poor Scots one part way through a line. kept hoping it would improve sadly no. if it was meant to be funny it missed by a mile.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 17-02-2018

Terrible

I tried to get through it but had to give up when Holmes snorted a walking cane from his nose. If you’re a fan of Sherlock Holmes is certainly one to avoid and ,even if you’re not, and simply a fan of fantasy fiction it’s still one to avoid. The poor narration simply added to it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Michael
  • Michael
  • 26-04-2021

Lackluster, convoluted, occasionally Humorous.

Fans of Holmes and Watson will disparage what has happened to the characters: in this author's interpretation Holmes is a whiny fool and Watson a bumbling ass who is somehow better at deduction. Cases are contrived, magic is gimmicky, but worst of all the "plot/mystery" survives only by the virtue of nearly every character being blind as a bat or as dumb as rocks. The narrator is the only real upside to this title having provided a lively, varied and articulate reading. I humbly, but strongly advise seeking listening pleasure elsewhere.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Wendy O'Neill
  • Wendy O'Neill
  • 14-01-2021

Lost interest halfway through

It started off quite interesting. There were several shorter stories/ mysteries at the beginning that I really enjoyed. However for the last 3 quarters of the book it was just the one story, "The Hellhound of the Baskervilles" and I found myself not caring, losing interest, drifting off. It dragged on far too long compared to the stories at the beginning.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.