Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $30.38

After 2 months, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

The gripping and action-packed new Roman army adventure in the Eagles of the Empire series by Sunday Times best-selling author Simon Scarrow. The perfect listen for fans of Conn Iggulden and Bernard Cornwell. 

Tribune Cato and Centurion Macro, hardened veterans of the Roman army, have faced the empire's enemies from Britannia to Parthia, from Hispania to Judea. Now once again they are on a mission that will imperil their lives and those of all who serve with them. Loyal to the last to their comrades in battle, fearless in the face of the most brutal or barbaric opponents, they are the finest men the emperor can call on in the service of Rome.

©2020 Simon Scarrow (P)2020 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

What listeners say about The Emperor's Exile

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    46
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    40
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    34
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

macro and cato's journey

loved it have I have the entire series so please Simon get cracking on the the follow-up I can't wait

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Reasonable book

A decent read but I didn’t enjoy it as much as some of his other books.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable but getting a little old...

Enjoyable listen with fantastic narration but I think this instalment was underwhelming and hamstrung by focusing on fewer characters. The author is scraping the barrel to find excuses for Cato to be put in danger as his rank should prevent him from leading small bands of men on dangerous missions and performing menial tasks that result in danger; these should be delegating to lower ranking officers. Luckily this complaint may be resolved in the next book :)

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • mac
  • 02-01-2021

Simon's perfection!

After reading all of this series all I can say is it's another example of Simon's perfection.
I will happily go through them all again.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A walk down a foreign path

(Spoilers) This book differs a lot from. Previous books.
The absence of Macro is sometimes too much, but the story continues nicely and Cato has enough presence in the book to really carry it along.
It feels a little shallow as opposed to previous books in the series but is a welcome return regardless..

Strap yourself in for the next instalment as I believe we will be reunited with macro once again.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Didn't disappoint!

I was expecting not to like this further episode of Cato and Macro. However I can't wait for another year to pass and continue the adventure!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for James Pestell
  • James Pestell
  • 12-06-2021

Another outstanding novel

I've been reading Simon Scarrow since I was thirteen and every one of his books has been an amazing adventure, this one was no different. I look forward to his next book and to see what has become of Macro.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Scott
  • Scott
  • 29-04-2021

One of my favorite book series.

This series featuring Cato and Macro (ok not that much of Macro) is like an old friend.
You pick up right were you last seen them. comfort and expectations a known quantity.
Story: The main arc of the story is Cato getting a dogs dinner for his loyalty but making the best of it. The real story is the relationships he builds and strengthens throughout the series. I love historical fiction/action series but they can become flat and repetitive. what makes this series stand out to me is the interpersonal depth. the losses and betrayals. The self doubt and hubris of characters. only a few series have matched or bettered it.
Narration: always a solid job with the only criticism is one character sounding too much like Macro after he has exited the story.
If you are reading this review you're most likely a fan of the series already.
If you are new to this series I highly suggest you start at book 1 not 15 or whatever this one is you won't regret it.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bobce
  • Bobce
  • 12-04-2021

Another fine read

I have read all the preceding books in this series. I have enjoyed them all and look forward to the next. Only 4 stars because no one is perfect. Nobody gets 5.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for RJ
  • RJ
  • 17-03-2021

Dated writing and overly melodramatic reading

I liked this series and listened to several earlier titles. Compared to some of the other historical novels I have listened to, this author no longer holds his own compared to Robert Fabbri or Chrisitian Cameron or others either in the writing or the narration.
A one word summary would be: Mediocre.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 15-03-2021

Compelling brilliant!

Once you start you just won't be able to finish. It draws and pulls you in, right from the very 1st chapter to the very last word. The narrator does a good job of further enhancing your imagination and capturing your attention... It's a most read

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mark P.
  • Mark P.
  • 29-01-2021

Seemed rushed...

I have been a long time listener, waiting for new books to be released; eagerly following the conquests and story. I am always excited to get a new chance to check in Macro and Cato. However, towards the end of this book, when closing the scene the abrupt and hastily brushed storyline was not acceptable. Of this had been in line with how the flow of the book was already progressing it wouldn’t have been noticeable, but being on an island one page and then back in Rome the next; just leaves the reader wanting for what had happened.

Disappointed.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Oladapo Otunla
  • Oladapo Otunla
  • 22-11-2020

Very engaging

It is a page turner and very enjoyable. Money well spent. I will recommend it.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for BigC
  • BigC
  • 20-11-2020

quality books

love these books only thing i dont like is the wait for the next one

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 15-11-2020

Bit disappointed

I have loved the Cato and Macro series actually listened to them 3 times but I felt short changed by this book. Very short and as though the author has lost a little interest and he had to get something ready for release in November.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Scott Twain
  • Scott Twain
  • 30-11-2020

Excellent read

Well I was wondering how it was going to work out without the dynamic duo. Enjoyed the characters and Cato on his own made for a great change.
Excellent narration as always and loved the story line. Must read

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for CT
  • CT
  • 28-11-2020

Always good

The saga evolves in an interesting new direction hopefully leading to more great books. I look forward to them as ever.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Steve H.
  • Steve H.
  • 26-11-2020

sadly an average book.

I love the Empire series and this book isn't bad however it seems like a stop gap until the next one is released. not a great deal happens.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cianda
  • Cianda
  • 20-11-2020

Good story line

Have read the whole series now, was dreading this as thought it might be a little tired but enjoyed it. Just the thing to enliven lockdown! Looking forward to the next one, missed Macro.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for john kitchen
  • john kitchen
  • 18-11-2020

Cato &Makro

Enjoyed the story but missed Makro :(
Hopefully he'll return in the next episode :)

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Daniel jonberger
  • Daniel jonberger
  • 16-11-2020

Disappointed

Since the first lockdown on March 2020 I have gone through the series on my walks and in the car. Now I have reached the end. And That, is Disappointing to say the least!
Jonathan Keeble's narrative has been masterful and you have learnt to live with Cato and Macro as audible friends.
The travel through history with explicit battles and humour, has been a joy.
Well written series and Mr Keeble is a perfect match to give these fantastic books a life of its own.
Thank you

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Angela macomer
  • Angela macomer
  • 16-11-2020

wonderful book

loved every aspect A great ending tone books,together again,bit short though Thank you ,whatever next

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for paul
  • paul
  • 13-11-2020

The moment we knew was coming has arrived

Loved the book, mid way through it certainly tugged at my heart strings and I didnt know how it would carry on. The addition of Appalonius as one of the major players was great and the end of the book has me eagerly awaiting the next one..... Im sure Boudicca will be playing a major part in the next time

1 person found this helpful

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.