Try free for 2 months

  • Unlost

  • A Journey of Self-Discovery and the Healing Power of the Wild Outdoors
  • By: Gail Muller
  • Narrated by: Gail Muller
  • Length: 10 hrs and 4 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (29 ratings)

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
AUD $16.45/mo after 2 months. Renews automatically. Cancel anytime.
Unlost cover art

Unlost

By: Gail Muller
Narrated by: Gail Muller
Try for $0.00

AUD $16.45/mo after 2 months. Renews automatically. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $26.99

Buy Now for $26.99

Pay using voucher balance (if applicable) then card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

"Gail writes with humour, heart and passion." (Giovanna Fletcher, Sunday Times number one best-selling author)

Includes exclusive audio commentary from Gail straight from her trail experience

Gail Muller was told she’d be in a wheelchair by the age of 40. At 41, she set out to hike one of the world’s toughest treks: the Appalachian Trail - a 2,200-mile journey that would help her reclaim her life and heal her mind and body. An inspiring, moving, and uplifting memoir for fans of Cheryl Strayed’s Wild and Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love

As Gail took her first steps through the wilderness of the USA, she had no idea what lay ahead of her, but she knew she felt burnout from city life, lost and broken - ready to heal a mind and body that she had battled with for so long. 

From the resilience-building mountain climbs, painful injuries, and harsh reality of braving the raw elements, to the unexpected friendships forged with other hikers and the kindness of strangers offering food and shelter - with every step, Gail started to let go of a past dominated by chronic pain and reconnected with herself in a way she’d never been able to before. 

A love letter to the healing power of the wild outdoors and an incredible testament to the strength of the human spirit, Gail’s story is for anyone who has ever felt stuck in a rut, lost, or scared. She shows us that even in our darkest times, it’s possible to find our inner grit, face our fears, and feel hopeful.

©2021 Gail Muller (P)2021 Thread, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

More from the same

Author

Narrator

What listeners say about Unlost

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

An inspiring story on the backdrop of the AT - a great listen. Wishing I was hiking!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So inspiring

This book speaks of my own chronic spinal issues as if I wrote it from my own experience. It has made me feel less alone and more hopeful. It was a perfect adventure and I adored every minute of it!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely delightful

Loved this, narration and writing was brilliant.
So pleased author narrated.
Honesty, humour and just great storytelling

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous!!

I couldn't stop listening to this fantastic book. Gail's beautiful writing, woven with her humour, openness, and the range of electic characters she meets along the way, kept me completely engaged until the very end. Her narration is great, and I enjoyed the addition of some audio she recorded whilst on the trail. I highly recommend this book!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Inspiring

I loved this book! So much so that I listened once and then for a second time straight after because I didn’t want it to end. I became lost in the story and inspired to start my own journey to find my way home to myself.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Laughing and Crying

so good, very well put together fantastic story really painted the scene relatable in many ways, thank you its been great 👍

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Such a strange way to tell a story

The author has quite a nice voice, but for some reason she sounds like shes uncomfortable telling her own story.
I couldnt get engaged in her journey, even though it probably was quite amazing.
Maybe pick a different narrator next time?

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Adventure & Inspiration

I loved it. The author /narrator has a wonderful voice and sense of humour. She writes beautifully without pretension. Gail tells the story of her enormous achievement and the challenges along the way with a sense of wisdom, humility and awe. You feel safe in her company I'm left inspired and with the sense of a story well told. 10 stars

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

Great narration, very entertaining and funny. Loved the extra little snippets of audio from the trail. Definitely recommend, will likely listen again! Have inspired me to get out on a multi day hike very soon :)

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

HONESTLY HILARIOUS

This book is so funny, I laughed out loud SO MANY TIMES. I hope she attempts the triple crown and write books about it all!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.