Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $34.76

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

When there's no way to win, cheat, and cheat big.

Deep within Heroes of Mythian, a game world where retirees exchange their physical bodies for an eternity of adventure, Howard learns a terrible secret: The game is glitched, and it’s killing its mightiest players forever. 

Desperate to save his friends and countless innocents, he hatches a plan to fix things. Doing so will require skill, determination, and help from a number of unlikely heroes along the way. Using his deep knowledge of game mechanics, he’ll start again as a level 0 necromancer and exploit his way to power.  

With luck, his game-breaking exploits will alert Mythian’s admins that something is wrong. With more luck, they’ll pull him aside and ask how and why he'd done it.  

With even more luck...well...in that unlikely event, the game’s creators - uncaring at best, and sadistic at worst - won’t delete him for exposing their mistakes. 

It’s a risk he’s willing to take, though some warn it may destroy all of Mythian in the process. 

Don't miss an epic LitRPG Adventure from number one best-selling author John L. Monk. Did we mention it's got plenty of laughs? It's perfect for fans of Dakota Krout, James Osiris Baldwin, and Ryan Rimmel.

©2021 Aethon Books (P)2020 Aethon Audio

What listeners say about Underpowered Howard

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jeremy
  • Jeremy
  • 02-02-2021

Don’t miss out on this Book!

It is very well written in a unique universe, the author blends humor and action effortlessly and the Narrator delivers a fantastic performance. Once I started this book the didn’t stop it till it was done leaving me wanting for more.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Go-go
  • Go-go
  • 05-02-2021

Great book

I love this book!! I from page 1 to the last word of the book, I loved it. Monk is a wonderfully captivating Author and his books never disappoint me. I hope you are immortal so you can write outstanding books forever.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jaroslaw
  • Jaroslaw
  • 04-02-2021

Witty and entertaining!

Funny and interesting with a great narration. A little abrupt ending but with a good conclusion.
Recommended!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Willis Burns
  • Willis Burns
  • 02-02-2021

Underpowered, perhaps...

but that’s all. It’s fantastic. Well written, funny, entertain, and a killer performance. I’ll read more from Monk and listen to more from Hellegers without a doubt. I did this back to back with Battlegrounds Online by Troy Osgood, which was also narrated by Neil. So much Neil and not NEILly enough.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MB
  • MB
  • 28-02-2021

A great adventure!

The fourth book in The Mythian world was a fantastic ride. Equally as good as the Chronicle of Ethan books.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Unethical Energy
  • Unethical Energy
  • 12-02-2021

you'll go on an adventure

i was presently surprised with this book their was no huge cliff hangers i cant say much without ruining the book but please give it a shot it

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Askcimmander
  • Askcimmander
  • 12-02-2021

Love the books

Keep going I wanna hear the rest of the story in all the different universe. More about Ethan and Rita and the fun to come. In love with these books. Make this a live action TV series I wanna play underpowered Howard. Love these books!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Christian
  • Christian
  • 10-02-2021

Seem like a well written oneshot

This read almost like heist novel in a way, set in a LITRPG fan world. The Main character is trying to get attention of the dev/admins. It's well written, i wouldn't say it overly anything, but it tell the story well and the characters are understandable. The way it is the story could at the end be left were it is, honest pretty complete.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kerrie T
  • Kerrie T
  • 01-03-2021

Simply worth the money

Incredibly enjoyable. I went into the series in the wrong order on purpose, starting with this one. Its been 3 days since I finished it and I've already read the whole series of mythian. Its interesting to see how he breaks the game of mythian while still having conflict. It extentuates the flaws of the developers in a way that shows that they were high af when they made it. This series as a whole is far too enjoyable to be as unpopular as it is! Just read it!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for A. R. Holloway
  • A. R. Holloway
  • 28-02-2021

Excellent!

The author and the narrator do a great job at . . . well everything involved in this one shot story that brings us back to the same world as the Chronicles of Eithan!

3 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ernestas
  • Ernestas
  • 10-02-2021

Sweet

Ohh I did not thinking the ending would be something like this can't wait for a next one!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jonathan
  • Jonathan
  • 08-02-2021

Fun and satisfying

I recieved a review copy of this book. It is well narrated and a lot of fun. It starts with the main character already having a long history in the game world, restarting his character to try and find a way out. His adventure takes him in odd directions at times and the challenge is derived from what he is attempting to do rather than from the game itself. The actual action is therefore much less than you might expect, with a greater focus on overcoming challenges to achieve the ultimate goal.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.