Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $37.47

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Nicci French, the best-selling author of What to do When Someone Dies and Losing You, returns with the second book in the gripping new series that began with top-ten best seller Blue Monday. Fans of Peter James’ Roy Grace series and Peter Robinson’s DCI Banks series will love the central character, psychotherapist Frieda Klein, who is consulted on a grisly and seemingly unsolvable crime.

For Frieda the days get longer, the cases darker…. She thought she was done with the police. But once more DCI Karlsson is knocking at her door. A man’s decomposed body has been found in the flat of Michelle Doyce, a woman trapped in a world of strange mental disorder. The police don’t know who it is, how he got there, or what happened - and Michelle can’t tell them. But Karlsson hopes Frieda can get access to the truths buried beneath her confusion. Painstakingly, Frieda uncovers a possible identity for the corpse: Robert Poole, a jack of all trades and master conman. But the deeper Frieda and Karlsson dig into Poole’s past, the more of his victims they encounter - and the more motives they find for murder.

Meanwhile, violent ghosts from Frieda’s own past are returning to threaten her. Unable to discover quite who is telling the truth and who is lying, they know they are getting closer to a killer. But whoever murdered Poole is determined to stay free - and anyone that gets too close will meet the same fate.

A gritty heroine, a gruesome crime, and a terrifying hunt for a psychotic killer, Tuesday’s Gone is not to be missed by fans of psychological thrillers.

Nicci French is the pseudonym for Nicci Gerrard and Sean French. The couple live in Suffolk and have written 12 other best-selling novels, including Beneath the Skin and Blue Monday, the first thrilling instalment in the Frieda Klein series.

©2012 Nicci French (P)2012 Penguin Books Ltd

What listeners say about Tuesday's Gone

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    56
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    56
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    46
  • 4 Stars
    33
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Mystery

Love ready Nicci French she draws you into her world. Can't wait to read her next book

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping!

I consider a good book to be one that grips the emotions and brings characters to life. This book made me sad, angry, frustrated,amused, surprised, delighted, fearful and relieved. It is very well written and the characters are terrific. A great read!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another great episode in this story.

I enjoyed this second book in the Frieda Klein series. I was fully involved the whole way through. I'm looking forward to the next installment.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Growing on me.

This series is growing on me. I found the first book a little slow initially, and it perked up when Joseph entered as a character. This second book was much better. The characters have developed well and are now familiar and engaging. The plot was well developed and the ending begs for the next installment- what happens next?!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Clever twists and turns

I love Nicci French books & this didn't disappoint even though Frieda Klein series is very different from some of the other novels. Great narrating too with all the different voices.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Eva
  • Eva
  • 01-12-2012

so well perfomed, makes up for a complicated story

What did you love best about Tuesday's Gone?

I just love the way Nicci French describes the characters

What was the most interesting aspect of this story? The least interesting?

The relationship between the inspector and Frieda Klein

Have you listened to any of Beth Chalmers’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

I read Blue Monday and found her performance as brilliant as in Tuesday's gone.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

I just couldn't stop listening

Any additional comments?

Such a meticulous description of live in London

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anet
  • Anet
  • 08-10-2012

Riveting

If you could sum up Tuesday's Gone in three words, what would they be?

Riveting, engaging, empathic

What does Beth Chalmers bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

She captures each character's personality perfectly. I could listen to her for hours! Her accents are also very convincing.

If you were to make a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

But he's still out there

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anne
  • Anne
  • 23-08-2012

* More Brilliance! *

Make sure you listen to Blue Monday before listening to this. That had me looking for more and I found Tuesday's Gone.

I felt that some of this one was a little unrealistic in that Frieda Klein does a little too much of the police work. But that's the only negative to this story. Again, you're drawn into the story until the end. It has it's twists like Blue Monday. Characters with their distinct personalities.

Beth Chalmers is an excellent narrator. She gives great expression, and the characters are differentiated very well. Nice smooth listening.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jill
  • Jill
  • 15-08-2012

Grisly but enjoyable

A well-read book that is up to the standard that you expect from this duo. I presume the series format of the books has been chosen to allow them to develop characters more deeply than is possible in a one-off. I made the mistake of listening to this without having first read 'Blue Monday' (searched for it as an audio book, but it doesn't seem to be available - a bit odd!). With some series this doesn't matter too much, but you really do need to read these in correct order, or far too much is given away to make the earlier book enjoyable if you read it later. That aside, I enjoyed the story and the reading, and look forward to Wednesday!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Melanie Preston Lewis
  • Melanie Preston Lewis
  • 02-05-2019

Super

How I love Dr Frieda Klein. In fact she is my idol. Her knowledge is limitless, her energy boundless and best of all, she doesn't suffer fools. How I wish I had her bravery and forthright eloquence, her brain and her beauty. DCI Karlsson is such a perfect partner for her deductive powers and I pray to all my gods that we may yet see a glimmer of romance between the two of them. Olivia and Chloe, as the family who try to keep Frieda in touch with the real world, are fabulous. Beth Chalmers has such a task, narrating so many female characters and for me, her performance as Chloe is particularly striking. She sounds like she's wandered off the set of 'Made in Chelsea'! Perfection! In fact every single voice is exquisite and Ms Chalmers really does Frieda, and the rest of the cast, proud with her narration. This particular story is exceptionally quirky and very tangled, and just when you think you've worked it out, Nicci French manage to throw you a curve ball. This is such a quality series, the writing, the characters, the dialogue and the narration; I cannot believe we haven't yet seen Frieda on the small screen. A highly recommended book and a highly upon high recommended series. In a world where Kim Kardashian is an icon, be Frieda Klein!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Eileen
  • Eileen
  • 29-04-2018

re read

just listened to again after first buying it and enjoyed it as much as the first time

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for jacks247
  • jacks247
  • 02-09-2012

Painful and boring

The worst book I've downloaded, slow and far fetched... Have you ever heard of a mental Heath specialist who gets a call and goes immediately to help a stranger evn though he didn't want to? No, me either.... I'm giving up, just can't finish it. This is a first... I adore my books and usually choose wisely

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for TRICIA BRACEGIRDLE
  • TRICIA BRACEGIRDLE
  • 13-08-2012

When's Wednesday coming?

Loved it - great twist - followed on well from first book without too much going over stuff.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Billy
  • Billy
  • 08-11-2020

Exciting

Getting into danger seems to be a trait of Freda Klein and the storyline are gripping. The running story of the twins Alan Decker/Dean Reeve is fascinating. I enjoyed the different voices put on by the storyteller. Smooth and clear voice changes. Well done.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 02-11-2020

Great read

This a brilliant book in the series can't wait for the next one in the series

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sandy
  • Sandy
  • 27-02-2020

Another excellent book.

Very good follow on from previous book. Plenty of twists and turns keeps you guessing. Can not wait to start the next one.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Helly
  • Helly
  • 18-10-2019

Great story, great narration

A brilliant story with suspense and action. But also full of thoughtfulness, looking behind the faces that the characters show the world to who they really are and why they do what they do. Great narration from Beth Chalmers who conveys mood and character with her voice

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ila
  • ila
  • 31-08-2019

took ages to get in to this one but SO WORTH IT!!!

It takes a while to get in to the characters, I've read book 1 which grabbed me straight away. this time, i had to persevere and I'm so glad i did, once i was in- i was completely emmersed! such a complex weave of personalities, psychology and behaviour :-)

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.