Get Your Free Audiobook

Listen with a free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $38.13

Buy Now for $38.13

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

"Tiger Queen is a gorgeous, lush YA fiction.... Highly recommend for anyone looking for a beautifully crafted stand-alone book." (YA and Kids Book Central)

Two doors.

Two choices.

Life or death.

Kateri, an arrogant warrior princess, has to fight in the arena against her suitors to win her right to rule, and she is desperate to prove to her father that she is strong enough to take over his throne and rule the kingdom. But when she finds out her final opponent, she knows she cannot win. Kateri flees to the desert to train under the enemy she hates the most and the only one who might be able to give her a shot at winning. But what Kateri discovers in the desert twists her world - and her heart - upside-down. There in the sand, away from the comforts of the palace, Kateri’s perception of her father is challenged, and she discovers the truth about his treatment of her people. When she returns to the kingdom, the fate of the one she loves lies behind two doors in the arena - one door leads to happiness, and the other door releases the tiger.

Secrets, suitors, thieves, and a fierce princess await listeners in this YA fantasy re-telling.

Tiger Queen:

  • Is a fantasy re-telling of Frank Stockton’s famous short story, “The Lady, or the Tiger?”
  • Features a slow-burn romance wrapped in fast-paced adventure
  • Is set in a fantastical world wrought by fascism, classism, and climate crisis
©2019 Annie Sullivan (P)2019 Blink

Critic Reviews

"Sullivan (A Touch of Gold, 2018) retells Frank R. Stockton's short story 'The Lady, or the Tiger?,' expanding it into an exciting adventure that transports readers to a mythical kingdom filled with creatures and customs that will capture the interest of fantasy enthusiasts. Action, adventure, and a bit of romance blend well into a distinctive and exciting read." (Booklist)

"TIGER QUEEN is an engrossing retelling of the short story, 'the Lady, or The Tiger?' that really takes it above and beyond and hellip; Tiger Queen is a gorgeous, lush YA fiction that will hold a lot of appeal for fans of The Remnant Chronicles, The Girl of Fire and Thorns, and The Winner's Curse. Highly recommend for anyone look for a beautifully crafted stand-alone book." (YA and Kids Book Central)

More from the same

What listeners say about Tiger Queen

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.