Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $34.95

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

One extraordinary year will change them all....

Sorrento, Victoria, 1999. Fred's family is a mess. Her mother died when she was six and she's been raised by her Pop and adoptive father, Luca, ever since. But now Pop's had to go away, and Luca's girlfriend Anika and her son have moved in. More and more it feels like a land-grab for family, and Fred is the one being left off the map. 

Even as things feel like they're spinning out of control for Fred, a crisis from the other side of the world comes crashing in. When a group of Kosovar-Albanian refugees are brought to a government 'safe haven' not far from Sorrento, their fate becomes intertwined with the lives of Fred and her family in ways that no one could have expected. 

A middle-grade coming-of-age story inspired by true events about the bonds of family, the weight of grief and the power of compassion for fans of The Bone Sparrow, Wolf Hollow and The Thing About Jellyfish.

©2020 Danielle Binks (P)2020 Hachette Australia Pty Ltd

Critic Reviews

"A gorgeous book [...] it's timeless and beautiful and it deserves to be read by people of all ages." (Melina Marchetta)

"A brilliant gem that will make you see the world - and your place in it - in a new way." (Emily Gale)

"This timely and beautiful story reveals the invisible lines of kindness and empathy that connect us all." (Sally Rippin)

What listeners say about The Year the Maps Changed

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

🌟AMAZING🌟

The Book Was Too Good To Be True, I Was So Sad To Finish The Book

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Full of wisdom and goodness, you will find yourself blinking back tears...

Although listed as teen fiction, as an adult I found this book most beautifully written, and I was extremely moved by it. Set where I live, and seen through the eyes of a child it covered a lot of ground, from families dealing with death,and grief, through to the issue of the Kosovar refugees and the many different human reactions to it - this book was subtlety and magnificently done. I would highly recommend it to everyone!

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.