Get Your Free Audiobook

The Wife Between Us

Narrated by: Julia Whelan
Length: 11 hrs and 13 mins
4 out of 5 stars (326 ratings)

Non-member price: $31.21

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Now a New York Times top 10 best seller.

When you listen to this book, you will make many assumptions.

It's about a jealous wife, obsessed with her replacement.

It's about a younger woman set to marry the man she loves.

The first wife seems like a disaster; her replacement is the perfect woman.

You will assume you know the motives, the history, the anatomy of the relationships.

You will be wrong.

The Wife Between Us is the first collaboration between Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen; a gripping thriller with film rights sold to the creators of The Girl On the Train.

©2018 Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen (P)2018 Macmillan Digital Audio

Critic Reviews

"A fiendishly clever thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. This one will keep you guessing." (Anita Shreve, author of The Stars are Fire)
"A twisty, mind-bending novel about marriage and betrayal. A gripping plot and fascinating characters." (Lauren Weisberger, New York Times best-selling author of The Devil Wears Prada)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    167
  • 4 Stars
    99
  • 3 Stars
    35
  • 2 Stars
    18
  • 1 Stars
    7

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    172
  • 4 Stars
    82
  • 3 Stars
    39
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    5

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    162
  • 4 Stars
    77
  • 3 Stars
    40
  • 2 Stars
    19
  • 1 Stars
    9
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

4 stars

a male voice would have been realistic and made the listening more emjoyable. good story

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Suspenceful

Fantastic book. Couldn't stop reading it. Draws you in to a world of suspence. A world of webs

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great story

really good story, worth listening too. Excellent narration as well, would buy another from this author.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Terrible book

You didn’t love this book--but did it have any redeeming qualities?

Extremely boring, pointless story line (if you'd call it a storyline).
The only 'redeeming quality' of this book was that it cured my insomnia.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great read.

This is the 2nd time ive either read or listened to the audio. You know that feeling you get halfway through when you know you know what is going to happen? But it must have been a long time ago because i was transfixed all over again and couldn't put it down.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

is that all??

I don't see what the big deal is about this book. plot twists sucked!! narration was fine but was left feeling very disappointed.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Twist after twist

Super engaging, well written, gripping. A few decent twists but kind of went a bit wild by adding like 5 extra twists at the end. Felt a bit far-fetched and soapy as a result, but I enjoyed it regardless.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Escaping a Contolimg Marriage

Complex plot which twists and turns as it explores the emotional constraints of marriage. Interesting point of view as the wife attempts to extricate herself from a suffocating relationship.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

I enjoyed the twist

Without ruining the book, I enjoyed that I was able to question myself about part one once part two began, as I thought I’d heard two separate lifetimes. I also thoroughly enjoyed the twist at the end of the book! However, I could not stand the male voice the narrator put on. It was horrible, but if you can get past the voice it’s a great story!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

AMAZING, AMAZING, AMAZING!

I've never reviewed a book before ive finished it before but I'm at the end of part 2 and my goodness what a book. just when you think it might be dragging out or slowing down... bam! another twist which used all those detailed bits that were trekking along! I'm loving it!!

Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Maria Teresa Arnaboldi
  • 19-02-2018

Shitty book

I listen it for 3 hours and I wanted to shoot myself. Its full of clishé
Dont waste your time on this shit.
This is a book for non readers.
If you a want to listen to a good book with a similar plot buy The girl on the train.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Bev
  • 02-06-2019

Don’t Read the review read the book

So I read the reviews and ended up trying to predict what the other readers were taking about. The story is brilliant so don’t worry . Don’t bother with the reviews; they give away all the good stuff. Don’t spoil it for yourself.
it’s worth the read!!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Phoebe S.
  • 27-03-2019

Loved it!!

I LOVED this book! There were so many twists and turns and I never saw a single one coming. I thought I knew where the story was going but around every corner was another surprise! The narrators were a fantastic fit. Great story, I would definitely read other books by this author. Highly recommend!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Paul
  • 23-09-2018

fantastic thriller

kept me hooked to the very end., loads of twists and turns...A must listen to book

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Narelle
  • 29-03-2018

Wow! Lots of twists

There are a few twists and turns but easy listening. I nearly missed out on the epilogue which was another twist. Loved it. My daughter recommended it. Thanks Zoe

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Janet biglari
  • 12-02-2018

Stunning Edge of The Seat Thriller

I absolutely loved this book and could not stop listening to it. There were so many twists none of which I anticipated and the final twist was a real surprise. This book was so well written the characters well defined and the dialogue sharp and interesting. I also enjoyed the narrator and felt she brought real life to the characters. I cannot wait for the next book from these authors.

28 of 31 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • the peters
  • 04-02-2018

Gripping

This had me hooked I loved it. My first ever audio novel, took getting used to but enjoyed it. It was intense, well written, well narrated.

31 of 35 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Rachel
  • 28-02-2018

Very Clever

This is the kind of book you just can’t stop listening to. Very gripping story from the start and then a great twist in the middle that sets the tone for the rest of the book. The twists don’t end there either! Really enjoyable!

8 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • LM
  • 03-10-2018

I do not recommend

What a boring book! I honestly don’t recommend it, all that back ground and there was no big ‘gone girl’ moment like described. Save yourself the time and money, don’t buy this!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Felicity
  • 27-02-2018

Fairly predictable

Very similar storyline to another book; ‘the last Mrs. Parish’, but not quite as good. I found it very predictable

11 of 13 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Aimee Knight
  • 23-03-2018

Pretty boring!

What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

The narrator was ok, but the story lacked any real pull. I found it very boring, wouldn't recommend.

Has The Wife Between Us put you off other books in this genre?

no

11 of 14 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 22-02-2018

I expected a bit more

Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

No. Having read the reviews I expected a huge twist at the end. Yes there was a twist (but you have to wait until the epilogue). I was disappointed

Did Julia Whelan do a good job differentiating each of the characters? How?

No great difference between all male and female character voices

Did The Wife Between Us inspire you to do anything?

NO

Any additional comments?

It was an OK read but didn't have be gripped until the end as some of the write ups suggested it would

16 of 21 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • David G
  • 02-10-2018

OK. But could be shorter

I can't remember where I came across this audiobook. It is ok, but nothing more than that. I like reading or listening to the end of a story so I rarely stop. I found that this book went round and round in circles and often I wasn't sure who the current character was, which was infuriating. Overall would I recommend? Sorry, no I wouldn't.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Tiffany
  • 12-08-2018

Decent story, annoying narrator

This book is so similar to Girl on a Train, I wondered if there was a sniff of plagiarism. By the end there's more of a distinction between the two, but during the set up, I was shocked with the similarities. I enjoyed the story and got into it, although it was somewhat predictable at times. The female narrator made me cringe when she tried to do a man's voice however.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 29-07-2018

Terrible Book

hardly managed to finish this . absolutely awful. the characters are totally unrealistic. the only saving grace are the twists

1 of 1 people found this review helpful