Regular price: $31.21

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – love a book or swap it for free
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $16.45/month
OR
In Basket

Publisher's Summary

Now a New York Times top 10 best seller.

When you listen to this book, you will make many assumptions.

It's about a jealous wife, obsessed with her replacement.

It's about a younger woman set to marry the man she loves.

The first wife seems like a disaster; her replacement is the perfect woman.

You will assume you know the motives, the history, the anatomy of the relationships.

You will be wrong.

The Wife Between Us is the first collaboration between Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen; a gripping thriller with film rights sold to the creators of The Girl On the Train.

©2018 Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen (P)2018 Macmillan Digital Audio

Critic Reviews

"A fiendishly clever thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. This one will keep you guessing." (Anita Shreve, author of The Stars are Fire)
"A twisty, mind-bending novel about marriage and betrayal. A gripping plot and fascinating characters." (Lauren Weisberger, New York Times best-selling author of The Devil Wears Prada)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    129
  • 4 Stars
    77
  • 3 Stars
    28
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    134
  • 4 Stars
    64
  • 3 Stars
    28
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    127
  • 4 Stars
    60
  • 3 Stars
    33
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    5
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Suspenceful

Fantastic book. Couldn't stop reading it. Draws you in to a world of suspence. A world of webs

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

4 stars

a male voice would have been realistic and made the listening more emjoyable. good story

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Terrible book

You didn’t love this book--but did it have any redeeming qualities?

Extremely boring, pointless story line (if you'd call it a storyline).
The only 'redeeming quality' of this book was that it cured my insomnia.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great twist

This book was a little slow to start with but as it gained momentum I couldn’t put it down. The ending was not what I was excepting. Well worth a listen.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

interesting and a bit different

a little different to other similar books out there which is great.
Dont take any of the medical advice to your memory, incorrect burns treatment and dont scuba before you fly! entertaining but perhaps a little long and tried a bit hard at the end to have an extra twist that was unnecessary to me and made it less believable.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story

What a great story. Keeps you guessing what the next twist and turn will be. Thoroughly enjoyed it

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

10 out of 10

This book was amazing from start to finish - the characters and the set up has you hooked from the first page and credit to the authors for creating a story that keeps you guessing until the last page. Absolutely loved this book, highly recommended reading.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

didn't want to take off my headphones

I thought I'd be able to unravel the mystery when I read another review.
I was wrong.
well written. I had to make myself take off the headphones too stay in top if my work load.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars

bloody awful

Dull, humourless and an eyerollingly boring Days of our Lives soap opera. Do not purchase.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book!

I have a long commute so look forward to my time in the car listening to audible. This book was so great, with so many good little twists! I loved it.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Maria Teresa Arnaboldi
  • 19-02-2018

Shitty book

I listen it for 3 hours and I wanted to shoot myself. Its full of clishé
Dont waste your time on this shit.
This is a book for non readers.
If you a want to listen to a good book with a similar plot buy The girl on the train.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Paul
  • 23-09-2018

fantastic thriller

kept me hooked to the very end., loads of twists and turns...A must listen to book

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Narelle
  • 29-03-2018

Wow! Lots of twists

There are a few twists and turns but easy listening. I nearly missed out on the epilogue which was another twist. Loved it. My daughter recommended it. Thanks Zoe

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Janet biglari
  • 12-02-2018

Stunning Edge of The Seat Thriller

I absolutely loved this book and could not stop listening to it. There were so many twists none of which I anticipated and the final twist was a real surprise. This book was so well written the characters well defined and the dialogue sharp and interesting. I also enjoyed the narrator and felt she brought real life to the characters. I cannot wait for the next book from these authors.

24 of 27 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • the peters
  • 04-02-2018

Gripping

This had me hooked I loved it. My first ever audio novel, took getting used to but enjoyed it. It was intense, well written, well narrated.

27 of 31 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Rachel
  • 28-02-2018

Very Clever

This is the kind of book you just can’t stop listening to. Very gripping story from the start and then a great twist in the middle that sets the tone for the rest of the book. The twists don’t end there either! Really enjoyable!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Felicity
  • 27-02-2018

Fairly predictable

Very similar storyline to another book; ‘the last Mrs. Parish’, but not quite as good. I found it very predictable

11 of 13 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • LM
  • 03-10-2018

I do not recommend

What a boring book! I honestly don’t recommend it, all that back ground and there was no big ‘gone girl’ moment like described. Save yourself the time and money, don’t buy this!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Aimee Knight
  • 23-03-2018

Pretty boring!

What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

The narrator was ok, but the story lacked any real pull. I found it very boring, wouldn't recommend.

Has The Wife Between Us put you off other books in this genre?

no

11 of 14 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 22-02-2018

I expected a bit more

Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

No. Having read the reviews I expected a huge twist at the end. Yes there was a twist (but you have to wait until the epilogue). I was disappointed

Did Julia Whelan do a good job differentiating each of the characters? How?

No great difference between all male and female character voices

Did The Wife Between Us inspire you to do anything?

NO

Any additional comments?

It was an OK read but didn't have be gripped until the end as some of the write ups suggested it would

16 of 21 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • David G
  • 02-10-2018

OK. But could be shorter

I can't remember where I came across this audiobook. It is ok, but nothing more than that. I like reading or listening to the end of a story so I rarely stop. I found that this book went round and round in circles and often I wasn't sure who the current character was, which was infuriating. Overall would I recommend? Sorry, no I wouldn't.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Tiffany
  • 12-08-2018

Decent story, annoying narrator

This book is so similar to Girl on a Train, I wondered if there was a sniff of plagiarism. By the end there's more of a distinction between the two, but during the set up, I was shocked with the similarities. I enjoyed the story and got into it, although it was somewhat predictable at times. The female narrator made me cringe when she tried to do a man's voice however.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 29-07-2018

Terrible Book

hardly managed to finish this . absolutely awful. the characters are totally unrealistic. the only saving grace are the twists

1 of 1 people found this review helpful