Regular price: $31.21

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – love a book or swap it for free
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $16.45/month
OR
In Basket

Publisher's Summary

Now a New York Times top 10 best seller.

When you listen to this book, you will make many assumptions.

It's about a jealous wife, obsessed with her replacement.

It's about a younger woman set to marry the man she loves.

The first wife seems like a disaster; her replacement is the perfect woman.

You will assume you know the motives, the history, the anatomy of the relationships.

You will be wrong.

The Wife Between Us is the first collaboration between Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen; a gripping thriller with film rights sold to the creators of The Girl On the Train.

©2018 Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen (P)2018 Macmillan Digital Audio

Critic Reviews

"A fiendishly clever thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. This one will keep you guessing." (Anita Shreve, author of The Stars are Fire)
"A twisty, mind-bending novel about marriage and betrayal. A gripping plot and fascinating characters." (Lauren Weisberger, New York Times best-selling author of The Devil Wears Prada)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    103
  • 4 Stars
    58
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    105
  • 4 Stars
    51
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    100
  • 4 Stars
    44
  • 3 Stars
    27
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    5
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Suspenceful

Fantastic book. Couldn't stop reading it. Draws you in to a world of suspence. A world of webs

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

4 stars

a male voice would have been realistic and made the listening more emjoyable. good story

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Terrible book

You didn’t love this book--but did it have any redeeming qualities?

Extremely boring, pointless story line (if you'd call it a storyline).
The only 'redeeming quality' of this book was that it cured my insomnia.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

didn't want to take off my headphones

I thought I'd be able to unravel the mystery when I read another review.
I was wrong.
well written. I had to make myself take off the headphones too stay in top if my work load.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars

bloody awful

Dull, humourless and an eyerollingly boring Days of our Lives soap opera. Do not purchase.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book!

I have a long commute so look forward to my time in the car listening to audible. This book was so great, with so many good little twists! I loved it.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great book, would recommend

It was an engaging book and a good storyline about a woman overcoming gaslighting and emotional/physical abuse and how every action has a ripple effect. the narrator was great. I guess the reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because at times I thought the story was extremely unbelievable and I could never really grasp what era this was being held in. otherwise a good book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

Kept me interested the whole way thru. Didn't guess the final piece of the plot either.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

It was ok.

The twist in the middle was good, and I kept waiting for something good, it kept me guessing, but that “something good” never came along. Towards the end was bit dragging.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Likeable characters. Good story.

A few twists and turns and likeable characters make this read worthwhile. Read it in a couple of days.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Maria Teresa Arnaboldi
  • 19-02-2018

Shitty book

I listen it for 3 hours and I wanted to shoot myself. Its full of clishé
Dont waste your time on this shit.
This is a book for non readers.
If you a want to listen to a good book with a similar plot buy The girl on the train.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Narelle
  • 29-03-2018

Wow! Lots of twists

There are a few twists and turns but easy listening. I nearly missed out on the epilogue which was another twist. Loved it. My daughter recommended it. Thanks Zoe

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Janet biglari
  • 12-02-2018

Stunning Edge of The Seat Thriller

I absolutely loved this book and could not stop listening to it. There were so many twists none of which I anticipated and the final twist was a real surprise. This book was so well written the characters well defined and the dialogue sharp and interesting. I also enjoyed the narrator and felt she brought real life to the characters. I cannot wait for the next book from these authors.

23 of 26 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • the peters
  • 04-02-2018

Gripping

This had me hooked I loved it. My first ever audio novel, took getting used to but enjoyed it. It was intense, well written, well narrated.

26 of 30 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Rachel
  • 28-02-2018

Very Clever

This is the kind of book you just can’t stop listening to. Very gripping story from the start and then a great twist in the middle that sets the tone for the rest of the book. The twists don’t end there either! Really enjoyable!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Felicity
  • 27-02-2018

Fairly predictable

Very similar storyline to another book; ‘the last Mrs. Parish’, but not quite as good. I found it very predictable

10 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 22-02-2018

I expected a bit more

Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

No. Having read the reviews I expected a huge twist at the end. Yes there was a twist (but you have to wait until the epilogue). I was disappointed

Did Julia Whelan do a good job differentiating each of the characters? How?

No great difference between all male and female character voices

Did The Wife Between Us inspire you to do anything?

NO

Any additional comments?

It was an OK read but didn't have be gripped until the end as some of the write ups suggested it would

16 of 20 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Aimee Knight
  • 23-03-2018

Pretty boring!

What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

The narrator was ok, but the story lacked any real pull. I found it very boring, wouldn't recommend.

Has The Wife Between Us put you off other books in this genre?

no

10 of 13 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • tricia casson
  • 05-07-2018

a little confusing initially <br />

it took a little while for me to grasp the trend between time and place and who......but once I got that..it all came together really well..... a good yarn

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • FELICITY GAINARD
  • 05-07-2018

Okay

First half of this book I found really boring and couldn’t workout the storyline and gave up for a while , then decided to try again and the second half was brilliant and it all came together.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • moira
  • 04-07-2018

Very slow start

A very slow start. In fact the voice drawls But increased speed to 1.25 and then began to really enjoy the book. I wasn’t keen on narrator, however the plot was excellent

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Ann D
  • 24-06-2018

Excellent!

Excellent book. Compelling, unusual tale. Well drawn characters. It gripped me throughout. Interesting, intelligent twists.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful