Try free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $41.78

Buy Now for $41.78

Pay using coupon balance (if available) then card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

Murder, monsters…and a disreputable Victorian lady’s maid.

A killer stalks the grimy streets of Whitechapel — but Scotland Yard seems determined to turn a blind eye. With one look at her best friend's corpse, Liz Sharp already knows the truth: the killer is a werewolf.

No one important will hold a werewolf accountable — after all, the monsters rule Europe. Certainly, no one will believe a werewolf victim like Liz: the very scars that make her determined to investigate Sal’s death also condemn her as the sort of female who’d sell her blood for easy money.

As it happens, Liz’s best hope for justice might well lie with her emotionally repressed employer, Princess May. Though the princess has connections with werewolf royalty, there’s no one else Liz can turn to. Certainly, she can’t risk trusting the irritatingly personable Inspector Short, who dogs her steps from the slums of Whitechapel to the palaces of St James.

But as corpses mount up, Liz discovers that no one is precisely who she thought: not Sal, not herself, and certainly not the werewolf.

Luckily, she has a few tricks hidden in the pockets of her trusty bloomers….

The first novel of Miss Sharp’s Monsters is a witty historical fantasy adventure, perfect for fans of The Parasol Protectorate or Pride and Prejudice and Zombies! It includes A Study in Sirens, a bonus story from the series.

©2021 Suzannah Rowntree (P)2021 Podium Audio

What listeners say about The Werewolf of Whitechapel

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Joshua M. Loyd
  • Joshua M. Loyd
  • 12-03-2022

Fantastic story and reading!

My kids and I thoroughly enjoyed this book- first in written form and then to listen to on a road trip. The voice performance was phenomenal and added to the story in a wonderful way. We also enjoyed the author’s message and bonus short story at the end. I have also purchased the next book in the series and look forward to listening to it too!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kris Rudin
  • Kris Rudin
  • 27-06-2022

A fine adventure!

The author has created an interesting alternate Europe, and a very interesting main character. The story had me staying up late to keep listening, and managed to surprise me many times. Most enjoyable!

One clarification from the blurb: it says that fans of Gail Carriger would enjoy this book, and while I am a fan of hers and I did enjoy the book, comparing this book to hers is not accurate. Yes, they are both set in an alternate Europe where vampires and werewolves coexist, but Carriger’s work is full of humor and witty banter, so that’s what I expected going into this book. But there is no humor here. The story is quite serious, and there are several moments of violence and danger (though the descriptions aren’t too graphic). It was a gripping story, with none of the levity of Carriger’s work. This is not to say that Rowntree’s book is bad - not at all! It just wasn’t quite what I expected, given the blurb. But as I said, I was drawn in quite quickly, and found the book to be very enjoyable!

A note on the narration: it was quite good! Many different accents were required, and she handled them all superbly.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Roobarb
  • Roobarb
  • 28-06-2022

Very enjoyable

This book was great fun, I really enjoyed it. I'm off to find book 2 now

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.