Get Your Free Audiobook

  • The Weight of a Thousand Feathers

  • By: Brian Conaghan
  • Narrated by: Drew Dillon
  • Length: 7 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Listen with a free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $22.78

Buy Now for $22.78

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

A powerful, funny and moving novel from the author of When Mr Dog Bites and The Bombs That Brought Us Together. Perfect for fans of John Boyne, Patrick Ness and Malorie Blackman. 

Bobby Seed has questions. What's another word for 'thesaurus'? How can I tell Bel I want her as my girl friend, not my girlfriend? How much pain is Mum in today? Has she taken her pills? And sometimes, secretly, Why us? 

Bobby's little brother, Danny, has questions, too. Will Bobby let him have Rice Krispies for dinner? And can he stay up late on the computer? And why won't Mum's stupid illness just go away? But it's Mum's question for Bobby that could turn everything on its head. It's the Big One. The Unthinkable One. 

If Bobby agrees, he won't just be soothing her pain. He'll be helping to end it. Would he? Could he?

©2017 Bloomsbury (P)2018 Audible, Ltd

What listeners say about The Weight of a Thousand Feathers

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sigrin
  • Sigrin
  • 16-08-2019

The weight of caring


This is a beautifully written piece about being a young carer and living with that weight on your shoulders 24/7

It is written with empathy and understanding. It’s not an easy book, but certainly one which you will touch your heart and soul.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for cazik
  • cazik
  • 26-06-2018

amazing story of a young carer

although listed as a young adults book, it is very relatable for anyone who has been a carer. great book!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for G Verbrugge
  • G Verbrugge
  • 09-07-2019

Exceptional listen

Most moving listen I’ve ever heard. Well narrated and so sensitively done. Have tissues ready,

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.