Get Your Free Audiobook

The Walworth Beauty

Narrated by: Jenny Coverak
Length: 12 hrs and 10 mins
Categories: Fiction, Historical
2 out of 5 stars (1 rating)

Non-member price: $28.46

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

From the Booker-shortlisted author comes a sensuous, evocative novel exploring the lives of women in Victorian London, for fans of Sarah Waters, Emma Donoghue and Kate Atkinson.

2011: When Madeleine loses her job as a lecturer, she decides to leave her riverside flat in cobbled Stew Lane, where history never feels far away, and move to Apricot Place. Yet here too, in this quiet Walworth cul-de-sac, she senses the past encroaching: a shifting in the atmosphere, a current of unseen life.

1851: and Joseph Benson has been employed by Henry Mayhew to help research his articles on the working classes. A family man with mouths to feed, Joseph is tasked with coaxing testimony from prostitutes. Roaming the Southwark streets, he is tempted by brothels' promises of pleasure - and as he struggles with his assignment, he seeks answers in Apricot Place, where the enigmatic Mrs Dulcimer runs a boarding house.

As these entwined stories unfold, alive with the sensations of London past and present, the two eras brush against each other - a breath at Madeleine's neck, a voice in her head - the murmurs of ghosts echoing through time. Rendered in immediate, intoxicating prose, The Walworth Beauty is a haunting tale of desire and exploitation, isolation and loss, and the faltering search for human connection; this is Michele Roberts at her masterful best.

©2017 Michèle Roberts (P)2017 Audible, Ltd

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Interesting idea barely explored

The narration was superb but the characters were superficially drawn. I heard the author interviewed and the ideas behind the book sounded fascinating. Those ideas remained unformed and I couldn't relate to any of the characters and/or to their activities. What were they doing? Very disappointing.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Earthymama
  • Earthymama
  • 25-06-2017

Wonderful story

I love Michele Roberts' work.
I highly recommend this novel

I haven't given the reading 5* because my audible copy was muffled
The performance was great, I think it was something to do with the recording

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MS REBECCA WARREN
  • MS REBECCA WARREN
  • 13-07-2018

I Did Try To listen To The Whole Book

To be honest I was not gripped or impressed. I did not particularly like the narration and maybe that put me off. I was hoping to be enthralled and I just got very bored with the story. Disjointed (I can usually do disjointed very happily) not quite up to the mark, a could do better.