Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $63.38

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

The Ultimate James Joyce Collection comprises his works Ulysses, A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, and Dubliners, a collection of 15 short stories first published in 1914. 

In Dubliners, 15 pictures of Irish middle-class life in and around Dublin in the early 20th century reveal the soul of the nation when the country was in search of a national identity and purpose. 

An oblique self-portrait of the young James Joyce, A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man was Joyce’s first novel. It depicts the awakening of Stephen Dedalus, who questions the Catholic and Irish conventions under which he has grown up. It is considered a masterpiece of modernist literature, 

Ulysses was published in 1922. Loosely based on the hero of Homer's epic poem the Odyssey, it chronicles a day in the life of Leopold Bloom and his friends, Buck Mulligan, Stephen Dedalus, Molly Bloom, and others. Joyce uses stream-of-consciousness, earthy humor, puns, parodies, and allusions, while the narrative reflects various different styles of English literature.

Public Domain (P)2020 Museum Audiobooks

What listeners say about The Ultimate James Joyce Collection: Ulysses, A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, and Dubliners

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.