Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $31.78

After 2 months, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

How can you write other people's stories, when you won't admit the truth of your own? An absorbing, moving, ruefully tender, witty, and wise novel of marriage, motherhood, and the paths we navigate through both, for fans of Ann Patchett and Anne Tyler.

"I loved The Truth About Her. It's an intelligent, compelling, nuanced tale of guilt, culpability, pride, shame and atonement. But most of all, it's a love letter to daughters, from the mothers who raise them. An astoundingly good debut." (Annabel Crabb)

Journalist and single mother Suzy Hamilton gets a phone call one summer morning, and finds out that the subject of one of her investigative exposes, 25-year-old wellness blogger Tracey Doran, has killed herself overnight. Suzy is horrified by this news but copes in the only way she knows how - through work, mothering, and carrying on with her ill-advised, tandem affairs.

The consequences of her actions catch up with Suzy over the course of a sticky Sydney summer. She starts receiving anonymous vindictive letters and is pursued by Tracey's mother wanting her, as a kind of rough justice, to tell Tracey's story, but this time, the right way. 

A tender, absorbing, intelligent and moving exploration of guilt, shame, female anger, and, in particular, mothering, with all its trouble and treasure, The Truth About Her is mostly though a story about the nature of stories - who owns them, who gets to tell them, and why we need them. An entirely striking, stylish and contemporary novel, from a talented new writer.

PRAISE FOR THE TRUTH ABOUT HER

"Heartfelt, funny and will resonate with many readers. This tender, witty and beautifully written novel is for fans of Georgia Blain, Charlotte Wood and Ann Patchett." (Books+Publishing)

"An intimate world filled with characters I could have lived with a great deal longer... rewarding, enjoyable and utterly addictive addictive." (Readings)

"A stunning novel, sharply observed, beautifully written, enthralling." (Julia Baird)

©2021 Jacqueline Maley (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers

More from the same

Narrator

What listeners say about The Truth About Her

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    4
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A beautifully written book with an engaging plot.

I really enjoyed this story. I identified with the protagonist very much and the plot lines (of which there are a few) were very contemporary, believable and pertinent. There were many beautiful descriptions of people places and feelings and they were not cliched at all.
The narrator had a beautiful voice, though it seemed too young for the worldliness of the protagonist. I did not like it when she adopted the voice of other characters, especially the mother Beverly and most male characters. I don’t think it’s necessary to do that. Most readers can surely figure out that for themselves. I thought the voice of the mother Beverly was particularly contrived and unjustified. In all the reviews I’ve read, most rave about this as being a tribute to mothers and daughters, but the Mother/ grandmother in this book is given no redeeming features. I was glad to read in the acknowledgements that the author herself had a great relationship with her real mum. Otherwise I imagine the author’s mum would be devastated.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Triggering

I am probably biased as a victim of a cheating spouse, an experience that destroyed me. I cannot fathom what a miserable, soulless person you would have to be to do that to both a stranger and someone you consider a friend after experiencing it yourself. So... no connection to the main character or any of the men. Jan was the only one I could feel anything for.
Add in nothing ever happened other than Suzy facing the fair consequences of her own actions and the fact the narrator was trying way too hard and mispronouncing words and I just couldn't get into it.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Slow & uneventful

Kept waiting for it to get better, to get to the good bit. But this never happened.
So slow, I want all that time back

Narration wasn’t quite right. The voice sounds much too young to be that if the main characters. Off putting.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

The truth about nothing

I gave this book a good shot and listened until 1/4 of the way through. The narrator is really bad and the story is going nowhere Had to return this for a credit which I gave only done once in 4 years

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

couldn't finish

was so incredibly boring, felt no connection to any character, the narrator was grating and hard to listen to. felt like reading a moderately interesting (to be generous) middle ages woman's diary. The narrators voice often doesn't fit the description of how it says the person is speaking which is frustrating. Took a long time to get use to the unnecessary long pauses too.

Edit: I finished. Hoping for some big reveal or some redeeming quality, nothing. Wildly disappointing, not sure where the good reviews are coming from. Took me 20X longer than usual just to get through it.

SPOILER ALERT -
TLDL of book, journalist writes article that exposes influencer - influencer kills self - influences dad angry and crazy - I influences mum becomes friend - journalist writes biography of influencer (honestly seems irrelevant) journalist has sex a lot, has weird infatuation with young barista that feels empty. Journalist has old gay uncle, lives in his house, might lose the house when he dies, dies, doesn't lose house. Journalist also has young daughter, dad not around, insinuation of a big incident breaking them up, revealed at end he cheated, very underwhelming, story over.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent book

I love this book. It’s an excellent story, and the protagonist is so true to life. I also love the depiction of Maddy, the main characters daughter. Do yourself a favour and read this one. The narration is also excellent.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable but narration let’s the book down

Was a enjoyable listen - it wasn’t gripping but it was entertaining.

The narrator really let the side down unfortunately, distracting and grating. Her inflections were out of place and annoying. Little “huh’s” of amusement on too many statements wore thin, overused and out of place. Male characters voices - were not acceptable, other character voices were unrecognisable and inconsistent.

I wish whoever chooses narrators had better insight to what can ruin a good story.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.