Get Your Free Audiobook

The Toymakers

Narrated by: Ruby Bentall
Length: 14 hrs and 4 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (10 ratings)
Non-member price: $37.46
After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Random House presents the audiobook edition of The Toymakers by Robert Dinsdale, read by Ruby Bentall.

Do you remember when you believed in magic?

It is 1917, and while war wages across Europe, in the heart of London, there is a place of hope and enchantment.

The Emporium sells toys that capture the imagination of children and adults alike: patchwork dogs that seem alive, toy boxes that are bigger on the inside, soldiers that can fight battles of their own. Into this family business comes young Cathy Wray, running away from a shameful past. The Emporium takes her in, makes her one of its own.

But Cathy is about to discover that the Emporium has secrets of its own....

A dark, enchanting, spectacularly imaginative novel perfect for fans of Jessie Burton's The Miniaturist and Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus.

©2018 Robert Dinsdale (P)2018 Random House Audiobooks

More from the same

Author

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Magical

What a fabulous book suitable for adult and child alike I was a bit sad when I reached the end of the story but was it the end?? No I don’t think so.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • David lindfield
  • 26-02-2018

disappointing

I was so excited to read this book. the narration was fine and the storyline. But I found it an unenjoyable listen. it was very vague in areas and often unclear. such promise of enchantment but sadly lacking

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 14-02-2018

if you like the night Circus your love this book

this book is an intriguing story and keeps you guessing what's round the corner with magic and mystery well worth a listen

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • wendy Lawrence
  • 01-04-2018

Absolutely fantastic!

I haven’t enjoyed a book as much as this for years. I know I’ll read it over and over again. THANKYOU so much for such wonderful imagination.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Colin Chisholm
  • 02-02-2019

wonderful - full of wonders.

Disappear into this magical world of toys, tinkerers and vagabonds. You will not be disappointed

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Andy Parsons
  • 29-01-2019

Not magical for me

I found this book annoyingly ambiguous. The magical elements just could not have coexistence with the real elements. That is the trick and delight of the genre.
Could the toys not have been put to real.military use. Would the shop really just be treated as a curiosity.
I was also not really engaged by any of the characters.
I liked the ending and the reading was generally OK but there are edits which been left in when the reader has a second go at some phrases. Tut Tut.
I had hoped for Rivers of London in a toy shop but it didn't have the wit in any sense.
I see a lot of people liked it but not me.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • A. Cooper
  • 27-01-2019

The Toymakers

I struggled to finish this book. Nicely written language and sentence structure but banal storyline. Good one to snooze to but this meant I had to 'rewind' several chapters to pick up the storyline. There were hints of religious overtones with the two warring brothers (God and Lucifer?) but these were not followed through. I'm not sure what the book was trying to achieve. Sorry.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Lena
  • 16-01-2019

Simply magical!

This book is beautifully written. I can't wait for First Frost... The performance is perfect - Ruby Bentall just added to the magic!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 11-01-2019

good overall.

the story could have been at least a couple of chapters shorter. it waffles in the middle and seemed to lose it's way bout if you persevere the ending is worth it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Julie Sutton
  • 29-12-2018

Brilliant

World's within world's. Descriptions and feelings, written with such depth and detail. Excellent plot with great insight.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 21-12-2018

Brilliant!

A really different and unique story, a joy to listen to from beginning to end.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful