Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $27.79

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Like your mysteries as sweet as honey but with a real sting in the tail?

Summer 1921

Posie Parker thought she was about to enjoy a restful summer. But this is no ordinary summer holiday....

When famous explorer Alaric Boynton-Dale disappears, Posie uncovers many dark secrets: an aristocratic family torn apart by hatred, a bizarre murder at an English country house, and a cryptic clue left behind by Alaric which is sweet as honey, but deadlier than poison.

In an action-packed case where simply everyone has a motive for wanting Alaric dead, Posie's investigation starts off in the English Cotswolds, takes her through the glamorous South of France, on to the mysterious island of Ortigia in Italy, and then into the Tombs of the Pharaohs in Egypt.

But is she being followed by a cold-blooded killer? And where has Len, her almost-boyfriend, disappeared to?

This is a classic Golden Age of Crime murder mystery which will appeal to fans of Agatha Christie and Downton Abbey. The Tomb of the Honey Bee is the second book in the delightfully classic English Posie Parker Mystery Series, although the novel can be enjoyed as a standalone story in its own right.

If you love an action-packed historical cozy crime with a feisty protagonist, buy The Tomb of the Honey Bee now.

Other books by L.B. Hathaway:

Murder Offstage: A Posie Parker Mystery, Book 1

Murder at Maypole Manor: A Posie Parker Mystery, Book 3

The Vanishing of Dr Winter: A Posie Parker Mystery, Book 4

Murder of a Movie Star: A Posie Parker Mystery, Book 5

To be the first to hear about L.B. Hathaway's new releases. Sign up for the newsletter.

©2014 L.B. Hathaway (P)2019 L.B. Hathaway

What listeners say about The Tomb of the Honey Bee

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Better than the average

The plot moved along keeping me interested all the time. It was not all that predictable lots of surprises. I liked the speed and the lack of pointless women’s love gazing. Thank god there was less girl vs boy power. The honey story was interesting. Still easy to follow as an audio so not overly complex which I appreciate in an audiobook

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for E. Hamilton
  • E. Hamilton
  • 21-01-2020

Reminds me of Elizabeth Peters' Amelia Peabody

This is a seriously crafted mystery and a relatable heroine (Posie Parker) a 1920s detective. Each of the characters are very well drawn, the locales Posie travels to are equally dimensional. I love that Posie goes from England to Italy and Egypt and each leg of the journey is a complete gem. I enjoy the 1920s backdrop but the story is so solid it could be enjoyed in a variety of decade backgrounds. Great narration. This was a novel I wanted to get the most out of every page and I will buy more audiobooks from this series. I am reminded of the novels by Elizabeth Peters featuring Amelia Peabody for the story strength , the female heroine and cleverness of the mystery.

17 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lemuel G.
  • Lemuel G.
  • 29-03-2020

Maisy Dobbs Light, Daisy Dalrymple heavy

This series is the perfect midpoint between the depth of the Maisy Dobbs Series and the shallowness of the Daisy Dalrymple one. The stories are nice and juicy, and hard to figure out, and the main character is very grounded. The narrator does great American accents, which may be harder than I thought!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 05-05-2020

A Perfect Easy Listen

The first book in this series was good but as you get further in the better the books get! I can't wait for the rest of the books to come to audible!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for doug d dillon
  • doug d dillon
  • 17-04-2020

fun read

a great summer read, pick up her first three installments for a whiz bang time.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dickyt
  • Dickyt
  • 27-08-2020

if you like Agatha Christie .

it's a classic whodunit in the plastic model of Agatha Christie. It's a fun book adorable characters. the narrator she did a very good job. she brought the story to life.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Christie Manley
  • Christie Manley
  • 04-04-2020

Tomb of the Honey Bee

Decent cozy mystery but somehow too serious in tone for actual tale. I was comparing this author to Kerry Greenwood over and over in my mind and the former came out to a distinct disadvantage.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for bharblin
  • bharblin
  • 07-10-2020

Twisted Great Plot

Held me every step. It was worthy of the series! Maybe even the best in the series.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for soosiewoosie
  • soosiewoosie
  • 03-02-2020

Full of mistakes and anachronisms.

I thought this was going to be a fun listen, but there are so many mistakes about the period, and in the dialogue that it’s not worth listening to. What a disappointment.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs.
  • Mrs.
  • 22-06-2020

A good yarn spoilt by sloppy research

Who would have known that ex jet trainers were available in 1920? Or that Great Britain had already embraced decimal currency and that there were continental style cafes on Covent Garden at the time that it was a working wholesale fruit and vegetable market more known for the fact that the pubs were open at breakfast time. If you are writing a period pastiche do it properly instead of leaving your unfortunate readers to trip over your anachronism. Doesn't anyone edit these books?

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Debby Towers
  • Debby Towers
  • 19-06-2020

A light read but lots of errors

There are a number of things that irritate about this book not least the reference to King Tutankhamun in 1921 when he wasn't found until the end of 1922. Poor research. The strange phrase "sure as bread is bread" is not one I have ever heard in the English language and is very annoying. Just a couple of the bad things about this novel (and there are many) but I also have to say it is a very light read which doesn't contain any gore or bad language, which is nice in this day and age.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Miss A.
  • Miss A.
  • 30-05-2020

My sort of book

I like murder mysteries, without the gore and horror describe in most books. A good story one can work out, but not the why unnecessarily. Has charm, good assorted characters, a little romance adds humanity.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for taylor
  • taylor
  • 10-03-2020

Lots of good bits

But plenty of errors including train stations instead of railway stations. Irritating and could be a better done

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 22-07-2020

Such a good listen

Very much worth a listen. It was a nice cozy book. Can't wait to listen to the next installment.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.