Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $48.75

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

From the imagination of actor Lou Diamond Phillips (La Bamba, Stargate Universe, Prodigal Son) comes an epic and unforgettable science-fantasy tale.

Two worlds at war will bring them together...or tear them apart.

Everson didn't want to be a soldier. His parents forced him to serve, as all good Indiran men should. The only problem? His first battle against their mortal enemies goes horribly wrong, and he winds up stranded on the enemy planet.

Now, Everson has to survive in this strange new land where everyone is out to get him. Not to mention the planet Mano is covered in unforgiving desert. And he's the target of traitors who want to use him in a dastardly plot to overthrow their mad king, Xander the Firm, by having him retrieve a piece of mysterious and powerful ancient technology known as the Tinderbox.

But everything changes during a chance encounter with the king's daughter, Allegra. Despite her station, she's in as grave of danger from her own people as Everson is. And though their peoples have been at odds for centuries, an unlikely spark forms between them.

As their worlds come crashing down around them, their forbidden love might be the only chance to end this war forever. Or it might just be the doom of everyone....

Imagine the intrigue of Game of Thrones mixed with the star-crossed romance of Romeo and Juliet - but in space! Inspired by Hans Christian Andersen's famous fairy tale of the same name, Soldier of Indira is perfect for fans of Outlander, Dune, Aurora Rising, and Stardust.

Includes a special note from the author.

©2020 Aethon Books (P)2020 Podium Audio

What listeners say about The Tinderbox: Soldier of Indira

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Fractured Fairy Tale

The author has taken Hans Christian Anderson's short story "The Tinderbox" and reset it in a futuristic science fiction world, where the Dogs are not canine but acronyms for a greater technology and the "Which" was a seer, rather than the usual type.. I am accustomed to reading science fiction that has more basis in science than this book, which is much more fairy tale than science. How can a planet be split in two and yet the two halves be restored to habitability? Nevertheless I found the book entertaining and enjoyable.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Willis Burns
  • Willis Burns
  • 20-10-2020

Who would have thought?

I never would have guessed that Richie Valen could write. We all know R.C. Bray and Julia Whelan can perform anything, but Lou Diamond Phillips gave them something gorgeous to work with. I would absolutely read another one of these in a heartbeat. More please?

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 21-10-2020

LDP

Beyond impressed with this debut. I’ve heard Lou Diamond has written screen plays, but I had no idea he’d do so well with long form fiction. Well done! Get this book if you are even considering it.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for geoelliot
  • geoelliot
  • 26-10-2020

Another World has opened up in my imagination

Original and Fresh in many ways. Although I couldn’t imagine a poor product when it was compiled by so much talent. The best narrators in the earBook biz / an over-achiever in the entertainment field....how could this fail. You’ll need to get through some of the story’s pacing issues and far-too-fairy-tale events. But that isn’t necessarily a negative. I thoroughly enjoyed this book experience.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kathy
  • Kathy
  • 22-10-2020

What a gem

Wonderful storytelling An absolute delight. Great for all ages. Can’t wait for the book from LDP

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Craig Callahan
  • Craig Callahan
  • 24-11-2020

Phillips misses the mark

What could have been an entertaining book slips into a progressive agenda laden work. Phillips could have described the characters so that the readers would be familiar with who they are. But to over and over and over again to focus on the color of their skin was an unfortunate distraction. As with most of those who’s self righteous attempts to bridge social gaps only to create a larger abyss, Phillips work reviles his own bias.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Brutis
  • Brutis
  • 09-11-2020

The When is Where of The Why to See How the Which

If you read this you will know why the when is where of the why to see how the which. Its a child's fantasy book. If that was in audibles description I wouldn't have wasted my time and have to send it back.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kim Tankersley
  • Kim Tankersley
  • 06-11-2020

mesmerizing

I read a wide variety of books, so if a book can't capture my attention in the first five pages I give up on it. This story had me right from the start. The details and descriptive words in virtually every sentence are what held me and kept me wanting to hear more. I truly look forward to the next installment by Mr. Phillips.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Greg Trunk
  • Greg Trunk
  • 05-11-2020

Loved it!

LDP creates an amazing new world! After listening all I can really say is: More please!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lonnie-The GreatNorthernTroll-Moore
  • Lonnie-The GreatNorthernTroll-Moore
  • 27-10-2020

This is like a gift unfolding!

Don't you totally love starting a new book? You've already taken an educated guess... you'll probably like it, but you're never sure until you've actually started it! And when you're right, It's like a surprise, a gift unfolding... I had read/heard that the story was a fairy tale that takes place in space and automatically assumed that it was a retelling of some old story that had been dusted off and given a new grand backdrop of stars and sky, (because currently, retellings seem to be all the rage among fantasy authors.) But! No! To my surprise and delight I discovered a new, completely original piece of literary fiction! A story that can stand up to the test of time, and be rated right up there with the classics! This is a classic story of star crossed lovers, and the need to set their worlds aright! A story of an age old prophecy... with space ships and guns, castles and swords, superstition and secrets... You might wonder why Lou Diamond Phillips isn't narrating his marvelous tale, but in an interview, he pointed out that the book needed more voices, and RC Bray and Julia Whelan were simply fantastic choices for the narration. They ran with Lou's wonderful tale, all the way to the finish line! This is the first time I've listened and simultaneously read the Kindle version, just because! And I didn't want to miss the great illustrations included in the book! 5 Gold Stars all Around!!! ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 2 Thumbs Up... WAY UP! 👍👍 You get the idea! 😊

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for marc
  • marc
  • 25-10-2020

Just use RC Bray

I tried but I could not listen to the other narrator. RC Bray is amazing. They should have just used him.

1 person found this helpful

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.