Get Your Free Audiobook

The Things We Cannot Say

Length: 13 hrs and 41 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (50 ratings)

Non-member price: $34.95

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

A searing audiobook of family secrets and the legacy of war by the top 10 best-selling Australian author of Before I Let You Go.

2019 Life changed beyond recognition for Alice when her son, Eddie, was born with autism spectrum disorder. She must do everything to support him, but at what cost to her family? When her cherished grandmother is hospitalised, a hidden box of mementos reveals a tattered photo of a young man, a tiny leather shoe and a letter. Her grandmother begs Alice to return to Poland to see what became of those she held dearest.

WWII Alina and Tomasz are childhood sweethearts. The night before he leaves for college, Tomasz proposes marriage. But when their village falls to the Nazis, Alina doesn't know if Tomasz is alive or dead.

2019 In Poland, separated from her family, Alice begins to uncover the story her grandmother is so desperate to tell and discovers a love that bloomed in the winter of 1942. As a painful family history comes to light, will the struggles of the past and present finally reach a heartbreaking resolution?

Inspired by the author's own family history, The Things We Cannot Say unearths a tragic love story and a family secret whose far-reaching effects will alter lives forever.

©2019 Kelly Rimmer (P)2019 Hachette Australia Audio

Critic Reviews

"Kelly Rimmer has raised the already-high bar with this unforgettable novel, The Things We Cannot Say. Alina and Tomasz's story is one of bravery, resilience, and the lengths we will go to for the ones we love. Fans of Jodi Picoult and Kristin Hannah now have a new go-to author." (Sally Hepworth, author of The Secrets of Midwives)

"The Things We Cannot Say is such an emotional and powerful read that I found it almost impossible to put down. I was riveted, and will be recommending this book to everyone I know." (Lisa Ireland, author of The Shape of Us)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    38
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    34
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A sad and yet positive read

Each split narrative voice mutually enhances the other and adds layers to the story. I was totally absorbed as the narrative in the present began to align with the past. A moving read.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An incredible journey of Life

Wow what an incredible journey of life through the eyes of a Polish family living near Auschwitz. I've often wondered about survivor's stories. The narrator's were brilliant. A must read

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Simply stunning!

I loved this book from start to finish. The contrast between busy modern life and the basic stuggle for survival diring WW2 was seamless in its delivery. The narators were both wonderful! i would highly recommend this book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic book

This was the most fantastic book I have listened to in a long time. I would sit in the car because when I arrived at my destination wanting to hear what happened next.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This one is special

I loved this book. Such a special beautiful story and the narration was excellent. Bought me to tears several times