Get Your Free Audiobook

The Things We Cannot Say

Length: 13 hrs and 41 mins
4.8 out of 5 stars (286 ratings)

Non-member price: $34.95

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

A New York Times audiobook best-seller.

A searing audiobook of family secrets and the legacy of war by the best-selling Australian author of Before I Let You Go.

2019 Life changed beyond recognition for Alice when her son, Eddie, was born with autism spectrum disorder. She must do everything to support him, but at what cost to her family? When her cherished grandmother is hospitalised, a hidden box of mementos reveals a tattered photo of a young man, a tiny leather shoe and a letter. Her grandmother begs Alice to return to Poland to see what became of those she held dearest.

WWII Alina and Tomasz are childhood sweethearts. The night before he leaves for college, Tomasz proposes marriage. But when their village falls to the Nazis, Alina doesn't know if Tomasz is alive or dead.

2019 In Poland, separated from her family, Alice begins to uncover the story her grandmother is so desperate to tell and discovers a love that bloomed in the winter of 1942. As a painful family history comes to light, will the struggles of the past and present finally reach a heartbreaking resolution?

Inspired by the author's own family history, The Things We Cannot Say unearths a tragic love story and a family secret whose far-reaching effects will alter lives forever.

©2019 Kelly Rimmer (P)2019 Hachette Australia Audio

Critic Reviews

"Kelly Rimmer has raised the already-high bar with this unforgettable novel, The Things We Cannot Say. Alina and Tomasz's story is one of bravery, resilience, and the lengths we will go to for the ones we love. Fans of Jodi Picoult and Kristin Hannah now have a new go-to author." (Sally Hepworth, author of The Secrets of Midwives)

"The Things We Cannot Say is such an emotional and powerful read that I found it almost impossible to put down. I was riveted, and will be recommending this book to everyone I know." (Lisa Ireland, author of The Shape of Us)

What listeners say about The Things We Cannot Say

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    233
  • 4 Stars
    46
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    223
  • 4 Stars
    43
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    220
  • 4 Stars
    43
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow. What a story

Powerful story. Beautifully written and I loved how they used two different narrators to voice the characters.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow! What an amazing story!

So much love for this book! It was like unfolding a mystery from two points of view- just amazing! So many tears toward the end!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

so moving

Just loved this book, the story, the characters and their sacrifice. A great read. Thankyou

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Life and love

I found this book a little slow to start with, but once I got through the first four chapters it took on a life of its own. I loved it, simple as that. It was a little predictable but any book that makes me cry on multiple occasions is a good book! The narration was great too.I would recommend this book without hesitation.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Kelly Rimmer Shines!

One of the few books I recommend to everyone as a “must read”! I avoided this book for too long thinking it would be a tedious war history book but it’s an incredibly beautiful story that filled me with love and broke my heart all at the same time (while inadvertently giving me a whole new appreciation for the experience of living through war times). I travel for work so listen to approx 4-6 audiobooks a month and this is one of the few I’ll never forget! Kelly Rimmer’s amazing talent truly shines here.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Riveting

I ended listening to this book a blubbering mess. But such was the power of the story. Highly recommended

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

super listen

we forget what the older generation have gone through. makes our problems seem so small.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A must read

Loved, loved, loved this book. The story, the characters I didn’t want it to end but I also couldn’t turn it off because I wanted to hear the ending.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliantly thoughtfully written and presented via audiobook

This story takes you on a mindful experience that brings light to tragedies and losses of an era we all will never grasp the realities of. It also shows how the strength and resilience of a person can flourish when knowingly they are loved. So elegantly written, and presented via audiobook.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Totally engrossing and powerful

This is a powerful tale about the best of the human spirit in the worst of circumstances. It is a modern story, with a link to a painful paste. A must read