Get Your Free Audiobook

Listen with a free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $30.38

Buy Now for $30.38

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

Ragnarok was the End of Worlds. 

Asgard fell centuries ago, and the old gods have been defeated. Some are dead while others have been consigned to eternal torment in the netherworld - among them the legendary trickster, Loki. A god who betrayed every side and still lost everything, who has lain forgotten as time passed and the world of humans moved on to new beliefs, new idols and new deities....

But now mankind dreams of the Norse Gods once again, the river Dream is but a stone's throw from their dark prison and Loki is the first to escape into a new reality. 

The first, but not the only one to. Other darker things have escaped with him, who seek to destroy everything that he covets. If he is to reclaim what has been lost, Loki will need allies, a plan and plenty of tricks....

©2017 Frogspawn Limited (P)2018 Orion Publishing Group Limited

What listeners say about The Testament of Loki

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sarah
  • Sarah
  • 11-06-2018

Teenage Dreams are so Loki

I loved Gospel of Loki but this is a slightly different book. It’s more like her rune marks/runelight series it concerns the lives of teenagers. This may put off people who enjoyed Gospel for its retelling of the Myths alone but I don’t think it should!

It is a well written tale, with sharp descriptors and my favourite flawed narrator at the helm.

There’s also a telling of being a teenage girl that rings far truer than any young adult novel I’ve read.

Perfect for fans of Terry Pratchett’s Tiffany Aching series and TP/NG’s Good Omens.


PS does anyone know if we’re going to get a third runemarks book?

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Aaah
  • Aaah
  • 09-07-2021

A better Loki. Missing content warnings.

I nearly didn't get this book because I absolutely detested Loki in the Runemarks series. I am quite fond of the Eddas, and Harris' version of Loki just didn't ring anywhere near true. I find this version of Loki a lot more palatable, but this isn't the reason why I enjoyed this book. I don't think this is a great book about Loki, but it is a very good book about being a teenager dealing with a whole host of issues - controlling parents, fatphobia, homophobia, eating disorders, and self-harm. If you are affected by these issues, you might want to tread carefully as the book springs them upon you in rather vivid terms and without bothering with any kind of prior warning. Personally, I am old enough that I appreciate reading a good character who shares my past problems, but for people who are still dealing with these issues this book could cause a relapse. It's a real shame that so many writers prioritise their need to shock and awe the readers who can least sympathise with their characters over the need to protect those who really understand the issues at hand.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Edward Jennings
  • Edward Jennings
  • 29-06-2021

Okay but not as good as the first one

I suppose extending sagas and mythology beyond the boundaries if a setbif tales that have persisted for over a thousand years was always going to be a push.

The first series is more or less the Edda told from Loki's perspective. This one has no real mythology to draw upon and runs pretty much on inertia.

Still, I listened to the whole thing and the narration is excellent.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for K
  • K
  • 23-06-2021

Somehow less believable then the myth.

I very much enjoyed the last book of Loki. However this book is a lot more teen audience focused. The story is about a modern teen possessed by Loki. Loki has a lot to teach this shy teen about letting go and being herself, but the teen can teach Loki about being human and the power of friendship, high jinks ensues. See what I mean about it being very teen? Most of the jokes are fish out of water or 'dad (Loki) doesn't understand TicTock' kind of things. I didn't like the handling of some of the subject matter (self-harm&mental health) which seem too serious for the surface layer handling they got. The writing style felt more a script for a TV show than a book - maybe that's just how modern books are written (one eye on the TV rights), it reminded me of The Da'Vinci Code. Didn't add anything to the myth or my understanding of teenage girls - in fact I might have got a bit dumber from listening to it.
Can't say I enjoyed it, but I'm not it's target audience.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for No name
  • No name
  • 12-12-2020

Shame

I don't think I'm the target audience for the sequel but I liked first one!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 03-11-2019

Loki is the star

Joanne Harris has managed to find the perfect anti hero in the character of Loki. This is the second of her books I've read in which the trickster god plays the narrator and, though there may be faults with the story (I would have liked Harris to have explored the possibilities of Loki in human form a bit more) I find myself enjoying Loki's wit and quips. I did wonder how this book sits in Harris's Runemarks world as the story feels a bit similar at times to an earlier book (the action centres around a hill, the oracle is the bad guy, a young girl is key to the story. Perhaps I shall go back and re-read the first book to see if they do in fact relate.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mr. S. W. Smith
  • Mr. S. W. Smith
  • 10-01-2019

good twisty story

I really liked this book in the end. wasn't what I was expecting after her first one. soon for into it though.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.