Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $31.21

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Short-listed for the Financial Times Business Book of the Year 

Random House presents the audiobook edition of The Spider Network by David Enrich, read by Mike Chamberlain. 

The Spider Network is the almost unbelievable and darkly entertaining inside account of the Libor scandal - one of the biggest, farthest reaching financial scams since the global financial crisis - written by the only journalist with access to Tom Hayes before he was sentenced to 14 years in prison. Full of exclusive details, and with ramifications that stretch right across the British establishment, this is a gripping, real-life story of outlandish characters and reckless greed in the City of London. 

By turns a rollicking account of the scandal and also a provocative examination of a financial system that was crooked throughout, The Spider Network is a perfect listen for fans of The Wolf of Wall Street and The Big Short

©2017 David Enrich (P)2017 Random House Audiobooks

Critic Reviews

"Will snare you in its web of deceit. A brilliant investigative exposé." (Harlan Coben, best-selling thriller author)

"Reads like a fast-paced John le Carré thriller, and never lets up." (New York Times book review)

What listeners say about The Spider Network

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    33
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    30
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

This guys voice! Urgh.

Seems like a really interesting story but I couldn't deal with this guy's voice. It sounds like a simpsons character. Lesson learned - listen to samples to see if you can deal with listening to someone for 15+ hours.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

It is compelling

Some information is technical in nature, but the writer does a good job of explaining the terms. Wow, the money thrown away by these people - it's beyond belief. The people involved are portrayed really well in this book and I am quite intrigued by the story.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Yet another tale of a scapegoat

This book will make you feel sorry for the supposed mastermind of Libor-rigging, not because he wasn't a crook (although whether he realised it is debatable), but because he was made the scapegoat to protect top executives at some of the world's most powerful banks.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for P.D.TZEREFOS
  • P.D.TZEREFOS
  • 06-10-2019

intriguing story good narrator

if you are into financial crime stories you'll like this book. the narrator is excellent and the story flows. recommend

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dubai_Paul
  • Dubai_Paul
  • 02-05-2017

dreary novel in a romantic style

What would have made The Spider Network better?

The FACTS get on with it! The flowery novel love story details are not required. I dont care!

What was most disappointing about David Enrich’s story?

Gave up on chapter 7. Dragging out the dreary details of peripheral tittle tattle is best left to pulp fiction

How did the narrator detract from the book?

One could tell he was also bored reading it

What character would you cut from The Spider Network?

Dont know

Any additional comments?

I am primarily a non fiction reader. If I read a finance book on a scam I want to know about the scam the technical details, what was done, what made them undone. I dont care what wine was drunk at a bar. I dont care about girlfriends I dont care about difficult childhoods.
I think other readers will be impressed I endured to chapter 7. I have no idea how the scam was done I cannot go on.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for mr lindsay r williams
  • mr lindsay r williams
  • 16-05-2017

Almost comical wooden delivery by the narrator

Almost comical wooden delivery by the narrator really spoiled it for me I'm afraid to say

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 11-05-2019

Interesting - but dry at points

The start and end of the book are a fascinating look at the LIBOR scandal and those involved. Keep in mind though that there are long, dry periods which are a struggle to get through. It is worth doing so but a few chapters in the middle really tested if I wanted to finish it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Fred
  • Fred
  • 16-09-2020

Phenomenal book

Couldn't stop listening to this remarkable story. Beautifully told with a dry sense of humour. A must read.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jack
  • Jack
  • 08-08-2020

Hard to get through

Narrator and text are incredibly American. Very hard to listen to. Story is interesting

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rick Da-Ruler
  • Rick Da-Ruler
  • 11-01-2020

loved it

this was a really good book interesting to see how events folded I wish it didn't finish

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for john anderson
  • john anderson
  • 19-04-2019

interesting

good book. good story, well read. I would recommend this book if you want to learn all about this bizarre true story

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Capricorn Capital
  • Capricorn Capital
  • 15-11-2018

expected more

was expecting more intricacy to the scheme. a nice story but not much depth to it

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 05-07-2017

Difficult to conclude

I thoroughly enjoyed the story, and could almost feel the very vulnerable, even child like aspect of Hayes character coming from the words. As someone who has experience of dealing with Asperger's in daily life, I could relate and empathise with Hayes situation and have experienced similar events where people I know who suffer with Asperger's have been led down the proverbial garden path into trouble, to the benefit of others. His interpersonal relationships appeared touching and even comical. I did find myself in a quandary whilst reading as my allegiance to the protagonist swung back and forth like a barometer at times, which I think separates this title from others and again really captures the fickleness of human behaviour and emotions.

The narration wasn't too great, it was a little robotic.

Otherwise thumbs up!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 21-03-2019

Who thought Mike Chamberlain for narrator?

This is definitely the kind of audiobook I could really get lost in and enjoy. After 40 mins of gritting my teeth, I simply just could not stop trying to figure out how Mike Chamberlain managed to generate a nasally drone from the depths of his throat?

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.