Get Your Free Audiobook

The Sisters of the Winter Wood

Narrated by: Ana Clements
Length: 10 hrs and 46 mins
3.7 out of 5 stars (3 ratings)

Non-member price: $30.38

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Captivating and boldly imaginative, Rena Rossner's debut invites you to enter a magical world of secrets, family ties and fairy tales weaving through history. Perfect for fans of The Bear and the Nightingale, Uprooted and The Night Circus.  

Every family has a secret...and every secret tells a story. 

In a remote village surrounded by forests on the border of Moldova and Ukraine, sisters Liba and Laya have been raised on the honeyed scent of their Mami's babka and the low rumble of their Tati's prayers. But when a troupe of mysterious men arrives, Laya falls under their spell - despite their mother's warning to be wary of strangers. And this is not the only danger lurking in the woods.

As dark forces close in on their small village, Liba and Laya discover a family secret passed down through generations. Faced with a magical heritage they never knew existed, the sisters realise the old fairy tales are true...and could save them all.

Captivating and boldly imaginative, Rena Rossner's debut invites you to enter a magical world of secrets, family ties and fairy tales weaving through history. Perfect for fans of The Bear and the Nightingale, Uprooted and The Night Circus.

©2018 Rena Rossner (P)2018 Hachette Audio UK

Critic Reviews

"'Luscious and hypnotic...A gripping, powerful story of family, sisterhood. I gulped it down!" (Madeline Miller, author of Song of Achilles and Circe)

"An incredible achievement - a rich literary fairytale... The kind of book that Neil Gaiman and Naomi Novik might have cooked up together." (Robert Dinsdale, author of The Toymakers) 

"A luminous debut by an exciting new talent." (Ilana C. Myer)

What listeners say about The Sisters of the Winter Wood

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

A Slog

I really had to push myself to continue. The lack luster story, pared with the uncreative voice acting, left me dissappointed. Points for accurate pronunciations, and murder-mystery-fairy-tale angle, but it fell short of its potential. I adore the author though, will seek her better audiobooks

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Christina
  • Christina
  • 19-10-2018

A good story...

I had high expectations for this book as I had seen it on many reading lists the past month. However I was never excited to turn the book back on again. The story just didn't grab me the way I thought it would - it felt watered down and a bit bland. The great mystery of the murders and disappearances were a solid mystery for so long it felt frustrating and boring? And one big pet peeve was how words kept getting repeated three times over and over. I know this is because the character was drugged and out of it but it got so repetitive it made me cringe. Not a terrible book, good narrator - just have read better.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anne
  • Anne
  • 22-11-2018

Web or wonders

A completely unexpected story about all kind of love well read and enjoyed very muchz

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Crafty87
  • Crafty87
  • 26-05-2019

A weak story- would be suitable for teens

Sadly this has been my least favourite audible so far. The sister characters were weak, a-lot of whining and moaning. Quite predictable, better for a younger audience

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for blueridinghood
  • blueridinghood
  • 27-07-2019

Stupid, unimaginative and flawed

Ugh just I couldn't even bare to finish it, it was so stupid. I was literally shouting at the radio with every new action, give it a miss.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Soodle
  • Soodle
  • 26-08-2020

Not what I hoped

The story had potential but wasn't one thing or another, neither history or fantasy. The worst bit was that for many Hebrew/Jewish words it seemed that the correct pronunciation had been cut in after the narration had been done which spoiled the flow. I stuck with it but was disappointed.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Beth Phillips
  • Beth Phillips
  • 28-04-2020

Couldn't finish it

Weird and uncomfortable listening. Plot wasnt terrible, but too much gratuitous descriptions of supposed children and whiney narration.