Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $19.75

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Tragedy brought them together. The truth will tear them apart.         

It’s supposed to be Laura’s dream holiday: a trip to France with a group of friends to see their favourite band play live. But the holiday quickly turns to disaster, and Laura is left haunted by terrifying images from the worst night of her life.

When Laura finds an online support group for victims like her, she’s not convinced it will help. But then Sandrine replies to her message, and she seems to understand what Laura’s going through, in a way that no one else can.

Soon, Laura and Sandrine are sharing their deepest thoughts and feelings with each other. But one of them has a terrible secret - she isn’t who she says she is. And once the twisted truth is revealed, there’s no going back....

©2020 Diane Jeffrey (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic Reviews

"Fans of The Dilemma and Three Hours will love this." (John Marrs, best-selling author of The One)

What listeners say about The Silent Friend

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Patricia Evans
  • Patricia Evans
  • 14-04-2021

Long-winded

This is a book which could have benefited from some judicious editing - far too many detailed descriptions of visits to cafes, shopping etc and the author using three sentences to describe something where one would do. Also, the narrator read in such a flat tone that it was very hard to feel any empathy with the two main characters and her French pronounciation was poor at times. Also, it would have lifted the story if she had made an effort to give the French characters a voice with a French accent: very disconcerting when Sandrine and Romaine and others are all speaking with an Irish lilt. I stuck with it because with the need to be at home most of the time, thanks to Covid, it passed the time but I can really only give it three stars.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.