Try free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $34.76

Buy Now for $34.76

Pay using coupon balance (if available) then card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

The Tower House. Down a secluded path, hidden by overgrown vines, the crumbling villa echoes with memories. Of the family who laughed and sang there, until the Nazis tore them from their home. And of the next woman to walk its empty rooms, whose courage in the face of evil could alter the course of history....

Germany 1940. As secretary to the leader of the SS, Magda spends her days sending party invitations to high-ranking Nazis, and her evenings distributing pamphlets for the resistance. But Magda is leading a dangerous double life, smuggling secrets out of the office. It’s a deadly game, and eventual exposure is a certainty, but Magda is driven by a need to keep the man she secretly loves safe as he fights against the Nazis....

Forty years later. Nina’s heart pounds as she steps into an uncertain future carrying a forged passport, a few bank notes, and a scribbled address for The Tower House taken from an intricate drawing she found hidden in her grandmother’s wardrobe. Separated from her family and betrayed by her country, Nina’s last hope is to trace her family’s history in the ruins of the past her grandmother ran from. But, when she finally finds the abandoned house, she opens the door to a forgotten story, and to secrets which will change everything: past, present, and future....

A poignant and gripping novel about bravery, loss, and redemption during the Second World War. A must-listen for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, We Were the Lucky Ones, and The Alice Network.

©2021 Catherine Hokin (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Secretary

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Hated the constant flashbacks/time jumping!

I am not familiar with the Cold War history so I couldn't follow that very well... found that all very confusing.
I don't like books that jump from one era to the next and back again either.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Donna Spafford
  • Donna Spafford
  • 19-06-2021

So disappointed

I love WWII fiction and had high hopes for this book but I can’t get past how stupid the main character, Nina, is. If you love this genre, then this book is worth reading but be prepared to painfully sit through unfathomably ignorant actions. This could have easily been a 5 star story if told through a main character who wasn’t so ridiculous. I would except these actions from a ten year old but not someone coming into adulthood. I rarely write reviews because I hate criticizing someone’s work but this was so painful that I had to stop the book with a little over an hour left because I couldn’t handle rolling my eyes again.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 12-11-2021

Confusing

I found the book very hard to follow, very confusing. Chapters referring to the 1980’s seems all over the place and i don’t see any connection with the war years. Very disappointed. The narrating is very fast too.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jan Smith
  • Jan Smith
  • 16-10-2021

Great read

love the story and narration was great as well. the story kept me on the edge of my seat.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lancslass
  • Lancslass
  • 13-06-2021

Wonderful story

I love Catherine Hokin’s work; I have enjoyed each and every one. I hope she delivers more soon. Beautifully narrated.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.