Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $27.79

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

I’m Lucy, and I have a secret
I have a beautiful home that I’m desperate to escape.
But that’s not my secret.
I tell my friends I’ve never wanted children when I always have.
But that’s not my secret.
My husband is a celebrated surgeon who tries to control me.
But that’s not my secret.

Adele knows.
Once upon a time, I knew everything about her and she knew everything about me.
Best friends forever.
But now our secret is beginning to surface.
I can trust her more than anyone. We made a pact.
And she’s never do anything to hurt me. Would she?

This absolutely gripping psychological thriller will have you forgetting everything until the last shocking twist. Fans of Behind Closed Doors, Friend Request, and The Girl on the Train will be hooked.

©2019 Alison James (P)2019 Bookouture

What listeners say about The School Friend

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MAISHA D. TAGOILELAGI
  • MAISHA D. TAGOILELAGI
  • 22-04-2020

So so

This book was not a psychological thriller. It’s keeps your interest but the storyline is not the best. The narrator Jan Cramer is the best.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tanya H
  • Tanya H
  • 16-07-2019

Narrator wimpish voice irritating

I would give a higher rating but the main narrator’s cry baby voice throughout story was awful. Also there were too many situations in the storyline where main character was made to look absolutely helpless and stupid which is insulting to womanhood.

2 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for M.certified
  • M.certified
  • 28-08-2019

Worth a read

This book was great. It had stories within stories and I love the fact that it didn’t drag and got to the point.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nicks
  • Nicks
  • 10-08-2019

definitely worth the credit

I dont usually like this narrator (always sounds like she is bored) but she does a great job this time, together with a great story in The School Friend!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Treehugger
  • Treehugger
  • 30-10-2019

Interesting enjoyable story

The story seems a bit of a slow starter, but the first few chapters lay the groundwork for much later events. For most of the book, posh Lucy's childhood friendship with the rough Adele seems almost irrelevant. But as the story slowly unfolds, all the loose ends begin to tie up. The long drawn out twists of the plot become blindingly obvious to the reader quite a while before they are revealed, and reveal Lucy to be agonisingly dense and trusting of all the wrong people. Her loving, privileged childhood seems to have set her up as a target for bullying, violence and manipulation. Despite having an abusive husband and then a dangerous stalker, she obtusely doesn't go to the police for help until she has implicated herself in some trouble in her efforts to escape. However, despite all these flaws, the story still manages to be interesting, with engaging, very believable characters from wildly different backgrounds, making for an enjoyable read. The narrator is excellent, managing a variety of different accents, emotions and voices with ease, like a professional actress immersing herself into the emotions of each character. One minute a panicky, frightened and breathy young lady, the next a rough male voice heavy with sarcasm and threat. Her consummate reading contributes immensely to the enjoyment of the story.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for taurusgb
  • taurusgb
  • 28-08-2019

Predictable storyline & lackadaisical narration

I won't return as I did listen to it all, but I felt completely underwhelmed and have no interest in trying anything else by this author

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 27-03-2021

Not great, but not terrible either.

I didn't hate it, but it wasn't what I expected either. If you are expecting it to be a story about the mysterious event in their past, you will be disappointed. They act as a way to establish background and well, that's pretty much it. The narrator was good, but the way the main character was portrayed was infuriatingly whiney.
It is worth a listen if you like very slow burning books.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for mary morrissey
  • mary morrissey
  • 31-07-2020

Sadly

This book was gripping right upto the last 50 minutes or so
I was so disappointed with the ending I fact I fast forward through the last 30 minutes because it was so daft
Not what I had come to expect from the author

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.