Get Your Free Audiobook

The Return

Narrated by: Jonathan Keeble
Length: 8 hrs and 26 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (2 ratings)

Non-member price: $25.82

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

He came home a hero. 

But death isn't finished with him yet....

145 BC - Calabria, ancient Rome. 

After years of spilling blood for Rome, Gaius Furius Paullus has returned home to spend his remaining days working quietly on the family farm.

But it seems death has stalked Paullus from the battlefield. Just days after his arrival, bodies start appearing - murdered and mutilated. And as the deaths stack up and panic spreads, the war hero becomes the prime suspect. After all, Paullus has killed countless enemies on the battlefield - could he have brought his habit home with him?

With the psychological effects of combat clouding every thought, Paullus must use all his soldier's instincts to hunt the real killer. Because if they are not brought to justice soon, he may become the next victim.

The Return is the breathless, epic new thriller from one of the world's best historical novelists - for fans of Simon Scarrow, Conn Iggulden, Ben Kane and Bernard Cornwell.

©2020 Harry Sidebottom (P)2020 W. F. Howes Ltd

What listeners say about The Return

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Well written and read

A very good fictional Roman story. There was a lot of detail in painting a picture of what Italy was like a few thousand years ago. The author made you feel like you were there. The story line worked well.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Michael
  • Michael
  • 04-07-2020

Easy listen, really enjoyable

A really enjoyable listen that I was unable to put down, next one please. Thanks

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for The Curator
  • The Curator
  • 13-06-2020

Decent

Nice to read a Roman story that isn’t all about battles. It was well-read and written but I felt it tied up a but quickly at the end and the PTSD element was dealt with in a slightly pat way.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for John Markie
  • John Markie
  • 23-08-2020

enjoyed it

different for me I normally like a good thriller but I liked the look of this and it wasn't bad I thought the narrator done well the story was good and in the end I was happy to have listened would I rush out for the next one no I wouldn't but this wouldn't put me off I just fancied a change from police work and inside courtrooms this fitted the bill and I enjoyed it