Get Your Free Audiobook

The Ragged Edge of Night

Narrated by: Nick Sandys, Olivia Hawker
Length: 11 hrs and 40 mins
Categories: Fiction, Historical
4.5 out of 5 stars (21 ratings)

Non-member price: $34.82

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of All the Light We Cannot See, Beneath a Scarlet Sky, and The Nightingale comes an emotionally gripping, beautifully written historical novel about extraordinary hope, redemption, and one man’s search for light during the darkest times of World War II.

Germany, 1942. Franciscan friar Anton Starzmann is stripped of his place in the world when his school is seized by the Nazis. He relocates to a small German hamlet to wed Elisabeth Herter, a widow who seeks a marriage - in name only - to a man who can help raise her three children. Anton seeks something too - atonement for failing to protect his young students from the wrath of the Nazis. But neither he nor Elisabeth expects their lives to be shaken once again by the inescapable rumble of war.

As Anton struggles to adapt to the roles of husband and father, he learns of the Red Orchestra, an underground network of resisters plotting to assassinate Hitler. Despite Elisabeth’s reservations, Anton joins this army of shadows. But when the SS discovers his schemes, Anton will embark on a final act of defiance that may cost him his life - even if it means saying goodbye to the family he has come to love more than he ever believed possible.

©2018 Libbie Hawker (P)2018 Brilliance Publishing, Inc., all rights reserved.

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

AMAZING

This was an amazing book! If you are considering this book definitely get it! It was amazing.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Book review.

I was very keen to listen to this book. It being faction made it all the more interesting for me. I did enjoy it, however found it to be a bit too religious for me. The story was good, although a bit too much prayer for me. I would recommend though.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing story just strange choice of accent

Loved the story and the performance was great just a little confused by the strong regional English accent rather than a German English?

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

Beautifully written and narrated, showing the courage and faith of those who suffered during war.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for M. King
  • M. King
  • 04-10-2018

The Ragged Edge of Night must be made into a movie

This book based on true story, is by turns, tense, uplifting, heart wrenching, inspiring and cautionary. I will leave it to others to give a "synopsis" of the story. I think this book should be on the reading list of every high school English class, anyone who desires to be a good parent under trying circumstances, and anyone who thinks that love can only come in a great burst of passion. This story challenges us to think how we, who have never been through a war, would cope with fear and deprivation day after day with no end in view. Would we be able to find joy and a measure of contentment in the unexpected ways the people in this story do? I won't reveal how they cope and show their courage because I want you to read the book. If you choose to listen to this book you will be drawn into the story. The excellent narrator makes each person so real want to reach out, embrace them, and say "well done" at the end of the story.

120 of 125 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for LHWonkette
  • LHWonkette
  • 25-01-2019

Outstanding writing & important story

I was drawn in by the beautiful words and the outstanding performance but as the story revealed itself I was overwhelmed with its importance.The novel is based on the real-life experiences of the author's husband's family in Germany during the 1930s and 40s; the details completely won me over. A man who was a friar in the 1920s-30s Germany leaves that role when something terrible happens to his students. He seeks to atone for not being able to help them by saving others, and answers a personal ad placed by a widow who needs help making a home for her three children. The tender story of their relationship grows as the horrors of the Nazi regime reach their tiny town. It's hard not to notice similarities to what is happening in our world today; I was reinspired to make my own life count. The author's epilogue was an added gift. A+ - simply outstanding.

28 of 29 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 07-11-2018

Truths

So many truths and so poetically told. I really liked the soulful, heartfelt and beautiful way the Author brings us to such a historical dark peroid. Even her authors note is deep truth of a sad history & reminds us of what still exists to this day.

53 of 56 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 14-02-2019

civil disobedience against the third Reich

I loved this tale, based on a true story of a very brave man and his very brave family, who stood up against Hitler, hatred and evil in their quiet every person kind of way. told in a beautifully lyrical style, it was a refreshingly uplifting story in these dark times. it gave me hope for the future, and courage to continue to fight the good fight.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cynthia
  • Cynthia
  • 18-01-2019

An outstanding & deeply moving Truth for the Ages

I am grateful for having listened to this magnificent true story of resistance to “evil” in controversial times. This tale of one deeply Spiritual Man and one Woman of Kindness is more than inspirational.
Mr. Sands’ performance was unbelievable in its perfection. This is the 1st time I’ve encountered his reading and I was blown away! I will look for more of his historical fiction.
I do not give 5⭐️ lightly. Olivia Hawker is due 10 x 5 ✨🌟⭐️

15 of 16 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Robin Hyatt
  • Robin Hyatt
  • 03-03-2019

loved it!

When I first started reading the book, I thought to myself, 'Not another Nazi book, but once I got finished the first chapter, the narrator and story had me hooked.
It was written and read. And, then, to find out that it was loosely based on real people made the book feel even more human.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Timothy
  • Timothy
  • 25-11-2018

Weeping may endure for the night but Joy comes

Great book made even better when finding out that book is based on author's in-laws. Appreciate how the author wrote from Anton's head and heart. Narrator did a great job as well. Beyond the ragged edge of night, Light bleeds into this world. Didn't appreciate the closing author's note on the Trump-Hitler comparison, HOWEVER this is still a free country and still free speech even when I don't agree with it. The book/story is still amazing and well worth the 5-star review.

53 of 60 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Martha J. Smith
  • Martha J. Smith
  • 14-11-2018

Great story, writing just ok

The book was ok, but over-written, over-wrought, self-absorbed, tedious at times. Very little action as compared to a lot of thoughts, emotions and feelings. Characters were just not real. I've read a lot of historical fictions and particularly WWII novels. This does not compare to the Book Thief, the Nightingale, All the Light We Cannot See, and others. Just too boring. And as for the performance, when did Germans start speaking with Irish and Cockney accents?

31 of 35 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for JJ
  • JJ
  • 29-03-2019

Oh my

I so wanted to like this book, as the descriptions about music were so lovely, and Hawker can spin a lovely phrase . . . but, oh my, it is terrible. Incredibly the narrator uses English (Cockney?) accents for the German children. The story drags and drags without any reward at the end. Skip eleven hours of torture and simply listen to the author retell the true story at the end of the audio. Yes, the people truly were heroic, The story is quite "pure" with high moral standards in abundance, but this book certainly reaches too high and does not do capture the intrigue of the times. I can't understand the high ratings this novel received.

84 of 97 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sandra Turin
  • Sandra Turin
  • 18-11-2018

Beautiful story beautifully written.

Some reviewers have giving this book a low rating because the authors heartfelt words on why she wrote the book did not sit well with their political views. This is a shame because that lowered the rating of a very well-written book that even these people do not dispute Everyone in America is free to heed the warnings of history or ignore them. That doesn’t take away from the beauty of this book.

28 of 32 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for David B.
  • David B.
  • 20-09-2019

I love stories based on true happenings

a little slow to get going but it's well worth the wait I really enjoyed this book.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 21-04-2019

Moving story, poor narration

A wonderful story of a quietly brave man, the fact that it is true makes all the more poignant.
Unfortunately I found the narration very irritating. The book is set in wartime Germany yet all the character voices , including Anton , have colloquial English accents. Why was this book not read by a German person? The voices of the children are particularly irritating. This spoils the listening of a lovely well written book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer 2019
  • Kindle Customer 2019
  • 19-02-2019

A good read based on historical facts

i enjoyed this book and learned much about the German resistance which I knew little about.