Get Your Free Audiobook

Listen with a free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $25.82

Buy Now for $25.82

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

It begins with a nursery rhyme. Nineteen minutes later you die....

The sixth gripping thriller in Lars Kepler’s best-selling series featuring Joona Linna. Perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo.

There’s a face at the window.
A stranger wearing a mask stands in the shadow of a garden. He’s watching his first victim through the window. He will kill him slowly, make it last - play him a nursery rhyme - make him pay.

A killer in your house.
There’s only one person the police can turn to - ex-Detective Joona Linna - but he’s serving time in a high-security prison. So they offer him a chance to secure his freedom: help Superintendent Saga Bauer track down the vicious killer known as the Rabbit Hunter before he strikes again.

Only one man can stop him.
Soon another three victims have been murdered, and Stockholm is in the grip of terror. Joona Linna must catch a disturbed predator whose trail of destruction leads back to one horrific night of violence - with consequences more terrifying than anyone could have imagined....

©2018 Lars Kepler (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic Reviews

"You want to be disturbed, you want to be distressed? This is one for you. Chilling and enthralling from the outset." (Paul Finch, Sunday Times best-selling author of Shadows)

What listeners say about The Hunter

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another great book by Lars Kepler!!!

Love love love Joona Linna books!!! This one does not disappoint. I didn’t like the narrator as much as some others but it was still very enjoyable.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Fridbjorn B. Moller
  • Fridbjorn B. Moller
  • 21-08-2018

holly shit!!

what an excelent book. Á good thriller, lots of excitment speed. like I before Holly shit.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Gareth McMahon
  • Gareth McMahon
  • 25-08-2021

Terrible voice characterization

The voices given to the main characters, in particular Joona Lina, are quite at odds with the characters as written. They sound slightly lame and stupid.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 21-07-2021

Hard work

Very gory. Overlong and unnecessarily complicated. No attractive characters. An ordeal to listen to. I shall avoid the author in future

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MARIE
  • MARIE
  • 07-07-2021

brilliant

captivating to the end. Will now need to catch up o all of lars keeler books

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Denise L
  • Denise L
  • 28-06-2021

Good listen

Enjoyable thriller if a little predictable. There weren’t too many unexpected surprises but the story was “different” enough to retain interest. I will certainly read another in this series

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Andrea Edan
  • Andrea Edan
  • 28-06-2021

If you like gory, this is for you

This is one of the few books that I chose not to listen to the last 2 hours. I had "suffered" through 14 of the nearly 17 hours hours, many of which were lengthy descriptions of extremely gory details and worst of all, acts of animal cruelty. The story is pretty unbelievable anyway and some of the characters difficult to follow as their connection to the storyline was somewhat tenuous to say the least. Unnecessarily long and too gory for a comfortable listen, my message to self is to avoid this author in future. Saul Rechlin did do his best though.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 26-06-2021

Not my cup of tea

Sorry, but I stuck with this book to the bitter end out of pure stubbornness. So glad it’s finished.
You may have more fun !!! I hope so. Good luck.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Indre
  • Indre
  • 15-04-2020

great

Lars Kepler are my favourite crime fiction writers, their books always sucks you in and you cannot stop flipping trough pages wanting to know what happens next

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Graham Keene
  • Graham Keene
  • 05-01-2020

The Hunter

I’ve not listened to this series before. I love Saul
Reichlin’s narration in other works and thought I’d try this one. He didn’t disappoint, his narration and the story line were well matched. Brilliant!! I’m off to try another Kepler book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for darren2911
  • darren2911
  • 02-10-2019

a masterpiece as usual

Lars Keplar strikes again with an outstanding book. The epilogue just leaves you yearning for the next one!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs Fiona M Johnston
  • Mrs Fiona M Johnston
  • 09-05-2019

Superb thriller

I loved this book. It is my first by Lara Kepler and I will be going back to the beginning. I can see this being a. Movie

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.