Get Your Free Audiobook

The Queen of Attolia

Narrated by: Steve West
Series: The Queen's Thief, Book 2
Length: 9 hrs and 33 mins
Categories: Young Adults, Ages 13 & Up
5 out of 5 stars (13 ratings)

Non-member price: $41.76

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Discover the world of the Queen's Thief

New York Times best-selling author Megan Whalen Turner's entrancing and award-winning Queen's Thief novels bring to life the world of the epics and feature one of the most charismatic and incorrigible characters of fiction, Eugenides the thief. Megan Whalen Turner's Queen's Thief novels are rich with political machinations and intrigue, battles lost and won, dangerous journeys, divine intervention, power, passion, revenge, and deception. Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Marie Lu, Patrick Rothfuss, and George R. R. Martin.

The brilliant thief Eugenides has visited the Queen of Attolia's palace one too many times, leaving small tokens and then departing unseen. When his final excursion does not go as planned, he is captured by the ruthless queen. The Queen's Thief novels have been praised by writers, critics, reviewers, and fans and have been honored with glowing reviews, "best of" citations, and numerous awards, including the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, a Newbery Honor, the Andre Norton Award shortlist, and the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award. Discover and rediscover the stand-alone companions, The Queen of Attolia, The King of Attolia, A Conspiracy of Kings, and Thick as Thieves, all epic novels set in the world of the Queen's Thief.

©2000 Megan Whalen Turner (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic Reviews

"Readers will be spellbound." ( Kirkus Reviews)
"Turner's storytelling is so sure that readers will want to go along with her - and discover whatever it is that Eugenides will do next." ( Publishers Weekly)
"[An] intense read...thoroughly involving and wholly satisfying on all fronts." ( The Horn Book)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Pepper
  • Pepper
  • 29-05-2017

Long live the queens!

The queens of Eddis and Attolia were both minor princesses not intended for the thrones of their countries. But their royal experiences are completely different. Eddis is stable, but Attolia's barons are chronically rebellious.

Queen Attolia has sworn that the next king will be her personal choice, no matter what her barons say. Two other countries are eager to exploit the barons' disloyalty, eager enough to bankroll rebellions. Determined to safeguard her throne, Attolia has acquired a reputation for ruthlessness.

For Queen Eddis, nothing is more dangerous than Attolia's instability. King Sunis wants to marry Eddis, but the queen and her nobles oppose the marriage as he is not a man to be trusted. Her refusal angers Sunis into seeking an excuse for war. With an unstable Attolia on her other border, Eddis could easily fall into a bloody two-front war.

Both countries need an ally, but allies are in short supply. Even if an ally Is available, the price of an alliance is a marriage in a world where the king outranks the queen.

Is there any way for either queen to ensure the freedom of her country without losing her own sovereignty?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for JONATHAN
  • JONATHAN
  • 23-05-2017

great narrator

Steve West does a great job portraying Eugenides' emotions. Glad this is finally on audio!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Heather
  • Heather
  • 19-06-2017

Perfectly crafted story, flawless performance

A gorgeous stand alone follow up to The Thief. The story is crafted with tight language and rich in subtext. You'll want to immediately re-read to figure out how Megan Whalen Turner did it!
Steve West's performance is perfect and enriched

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Timothy J. Kropp
  • Timothy J. Kropp
  • 14-09-2019

disappointed with audio as well as story

First the performance. Read as if every female line needed with "she said archly". No funny, light-hearted, or caring to be found even which explicitly in the text. :(

Second, the emotional turns the characters take seem so sudden and undeveloped as to be unbelievable and contrived. makes no sense so it's hard to buy in. Too bad, The Thief is one of my favorite books.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jordan
  • Jordan
  • 26-07-2019

Great Second Installment!

Amazing second book in the series, it prob could be read as a stand alone but you would get so many rich character insights and I think it would be a more enjoyable if you read The Thief first. I didn’t like it quite as much as The Thief only because there weren’t as many memorable characters like Paul, Sofos and the Maggi... the foreshadowing on the events happening off page was easier to guess vs the total suspense of the first book. Still a great read, just downloaded the third book in the series, I can’t put this author down!!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Matt
  • Matt
  • 15-03-2019

The political machinations and cons continue!

I debated listening to this after listening to the first one, but I'm really glad I did. The plot thickens and the schemes of Eugenides, Eddis, and Attoliah are at once complex and practical without being too obtuse to follow. Some have criticized the series for being boring it predictable, but I have found it to be meticulous and layered, quite an amazing accomplishment for a YA series, given the target audience. The brutalities and exigencies of ancient rule are set forth as almost a primer of the harsh necessities of political and national survival, while simultaneously contrasting the different characters of the regimes of Eddis and Attoliah and the strength embodied by their two queens. Maybe I'm simple, but the twists and turns and surprises work for me as well--I'm not listening to this looking for a John LeCarre novel but for entertainment and it is quite satisfying.

I have warmed up to the narrator, as well, whom I did not entirely enjoy in the first book, but he has found his voice and injected more personality into this book. I am looking forward to listening to the rest of the series.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Brooke Noland
  • Brooke Noland
  • 31-01-2019

Overall a good book

I remember reading these books as a young teen, and really liking them.
Now as an adult I have noticed a few things. The first two books are very slow and the action is very limited.
As far as the blossoming love between Eugenides and Attolia, it happens out of nowhere.
There was no building of the relationship, just out of nowhere Eugenides is confessing his love. I honestly thought I had skipped a chapter or two because it came out of nowhere.

All in all it is a good book, I don’t know if I would listen to it again.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Scott C. Kuyken
  • Scott C. Kuyken
  • 20-01-2019

Pretty entertain, but didn't buy the end

Most of the story was pretty entertaining. it wasn't life changing by any means but it did its job as a story. The end though. The love story, that came out of nowhere and didn't make any sense. It is also super creepy if you think about it. Kind of just spoiled the story for me.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for "kiranebula"
  • "kiranebula"
  • 08-11-2018

An all time favorite

The Queen of Attolia is and has been one of my favorite books of all time. I devoured it when I first picked it up (not realizing it was a sequel, and enjoying it immensely despite having not read “The Thief” at the time). I have in the years since then revisited the story many times—both in print, in the previous audio recording, and in this new audio edition. The story continues to amaze me—always making me feel a roller coaster of emotions at the characters plights, and awe at Turner’s craft. I feel I appreciate something new about it every time.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for maria
  • maria
  • 20-08-2018

Fantastic masterly crafted

Loved it, couldn't stop listening and already looking to get the next in the series!