Try free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $21.86

Buy Now for $21.86

Pay using coupon balance (if available) then card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

The brilliant new audiobook from the best-selling author of A Year at the Star and Sixpence. Perfect for fans of Cathy Bramley. This audio edition is read for you by Karen Cass, reader for Jill Mansell, Carole Matthews and Maggie O'Farrell.

The picture house by the sea is the Palace at Polwhipple - a lovely art deco cinema nestled in front of azure Cornish seas. But it is long past its heyday now, and its only saving grace is Ferrelli's, the family run ice-cream concession in the foyer, which is widely known as the best ice cream for miles.

So when Ferdie, the owner of Ferelli's, breaks his leg, his granddaughter Gina drops everything to come and help out. But when she arrives she is dismayed by the state of the cinema, which she remembers fondly from summer holidays when she was little, and she is determined to give it the makeover it deserves. Along with local renovation expert Ben, she sets about reviving the Palace to its former glory.

But the cinema needs more than a lick of paint. Its very future is under threat from a developer with greed in his eyes. Can Gina save the place before it is too late?

Disclaimer: originally published in four parts as eBooks - Brief Encounter, Singing in the Rain, Dirty Dancing and Some Like it Hot.

©2017 Holly Hepburn (P)2017 Simon & Schuster Audio UK

What listeners say about The Picture House by the Sea

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jan
  • Jan
  • 01-08-2019

The Picture House by the Sea

One of the best books I have read. I always buy Milly Johnson and Jill Mansell books and this one is their style. When I saw this I took a chance and loved it. It is set in Cornwall and is written in such a way you feel part of the place. I admit I am a bit of a cover freak and the cover is very appealing and what drew me to the book. Highly recommended.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sandy Seese
  • Sandy Seese
  • 03-12-2018

Loved the storyline and the narration great read !

the narration made you feel like you were in the city. Light hearted happy read

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Beth
  • Beth
  • 25-02-2021

Lovely story, but far too long winded.

I really enjoyed the story in general, but it really dragged in the middle. I nearly gave up. I just kept getting angry at the main character for being so wishy washy and acting like a woman incapable of being honest with herself and the people around her. The performance was perfection.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Pamela Savill
  • Pamela Savill
  • 15-01-2019

Delightful

I thoroughly enjoyed this story. It was gentle yet full of action and had me hooked from the start. The story line was not too involved and the characters came to life immediately.
The story teller kept the atmosphere alive and was not too dramatic with the different dialects used. I loved it and cannot wait for more stories from this author.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Miss
  • Miss
  • 26-07-2018

Brilliant Book

Love this Author her books are light hearted with lovely story lines would definitely read

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sharon Atkinson
  • Sharon Atkinson
  • 10-01-2018

love at the movies

I absolutely loved it. I wanted to scream, cry and every other emotion under the sun. it was just the perfect, feel good read.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anna Fern
  • Anna Fern
  • 05-04-2018

Ok

Ok but a bit boring and predictable! Great performance! Just sorry not more meat to story!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bev
  • Bev
  • 24-10-2017

A great listen

A great book to dip in and out of, or to listen to in one go. Not too soppy or everyone leaping in and out of bed, just great characters, that you care about. Looking forward to the next one.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Trevelyan
  • Trevelyan
  • 12-05-2019

Too long

This story would have been charming, enjoyable and a good night-time listen had it been half the length. Half way through it became so tedious that I skipped to the last few chapters and found I had missed very little. It was a short story that was drawn out unnecessarily and hence lost some of it's quality. As always with Karen Cass, excellent narration.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for amber
  • amber
  • 04-12-2017

fabulous loved it

it was fabulous story from start to finish ..narrator brilliant. .will definitely listen to more of her books

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ginny
  • Ginny
  • 11-06-2022

Highly recommend

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The characters were well written and once you get over the slow start, it is fine. Also the ending is highly satisfactory.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Vee
  • Vee
  • 14-03-2022

Lovely easy listen

A lovely story that makes you want to live in Polwhipple. Easy to listen to and would make a great holiday read.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 25-02-2022

Perfect romance!

I loved this book and was sad when it ended. All the characters are wonderfully described.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.