Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $27.79

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

She’ll do anything for you....

My name is Alex, and my world has been shattered.
My husband has left me.
My children won’t speak to me.
My friend Carrie is the only person I have.
She’s the only one I can trust to keep all my secrets.
She’d never do anything to let me down.
Would she? 

This dark, gripping psychological thriller will have you holding your breath until the very last minute. Fans of Behind Closed Doors, Sometimes I Lie, and The Girl on the Train will be captivated.

©2018 Barbara Copperthwaite (P)2018 Bookouture

What listeners say about The Perfect Friend

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

I got a bit confused at the end around who was who... could gave done with two narrators I think..
Loved it.. can’t wait to read more.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent read!

Thoroughly enjoyed this psychological thriller, it had me thinking the whole way through that I knew what was going to happen at certain points, but I was wrong. The way the story kept twisting and turning it kept me really engaged and eager to listen to more. A really interesting, sad, dark, deceptive story with moments of happiness. A really good read that I don’t hesitate in giving five stars to.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

Twists after twists followed by twists... great read, lots of plots and reasons for keeping secrets and telling lies.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Abigail Grasso
  • Abigail Grasso
  • 12-07-2018

I loved it!

This was great! Totally kept me guessing the whole way through and was a unique, compelling psychological thriller.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for PollyAnna2
  • PollyAnna2
  • 10-07-2018

A little slow in parts

Though the book moved along slowly in some areas, it was really good. The narration was great, and kept a good pace, keeping me interested.
I really enjoyed it!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Melissa
  • Melissa
  • 25-08-2018

Confusing

Characters seemed to be the same person. Very confusing plot and extra characters not part of the story but thrown in at the end.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Author Leila Kirkconnell
  • Author Leila Kirkconnell
  • 14-07-2018

Another winner!

Fasten your emotional seat belt. A riveting story from start to finish. I can hardly wait for the next book by this author.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for sandra clark
  • sandra clark
  • 11-07-2018

dragged on couldnt finished it

10 chapters and I was done alot happened but not what should have to keep me invested in story. Sorry for bad review I really had hoped for better.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for CBA_13
  • CBA_13
  • 22-08-2018

The story that would never end.

I feel like this book had potential. There were some good parts and interesting ideas, but it went on and on, unnecessarily.

Between that and the fact that I had pretty much figured out who the “bad guy” was made the many twists needless and exhausting.


3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for horslovr
  • horslovr
  • 07-08-2018

A psychological thriller?

This story was just ok; I found myself not really caring about the story and its characters. I did not find it to be “riveting”.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 07-11-2018

Boring

it's not a horrible book - but it definitely ain't great. the ending makes me want to shrug my shoulders and throw my device across the room. An unrealistic finish and a horrible zenith.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for J.Hamp
  • J.Hamp
  • 21-12-2020

So nice I've listened twice

I really enjoyed the book. It was exactly what I think of when I think of a psychological thriller.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Richmond, VA
  • Richmond, VA
  • 28-09-2018

Kind of disappointed with the ending

This was a good story; however, I found the ending to be a little disappointing. It had this buildup toward the end and then it just seemed to fade away. I was expecting something bigger and it was kind of a let down. Other than that, I enjoyed it and thought the narration was good.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for lesleypizzey
  • lesleypizzey
  • 02-07-2019

A great concept

What a superb book great plot very believable characters, I couldn't turn this off i was hooked from the begining.
I am going to listen to another book by Barbara Copperthwaite

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Trevor Nelson
  • Trevor Nelson
  • 18-12-2018

Not the gripping thriller advertised

Predictable, Unlikeable characters. Overhyped. Not rubbish but better books to spend your credits on. If you need a book and can’t decide, this book is ok, but nothing better

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Karen Colpitts
  • Karen Colpitts
  • 07-11-2018

Bit Predictable

unfortunately guessed the whole premise of book from the beginning. stuck with it though. There was a few " gasp out loud' moments. Narrator was good.. but from the beginning I found "Carrie' INCREDIBLY irritating. Well with worth a listen.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for FELICITY GAINARD
  • FELICITY GAINARD
  • 02-11-2018

Strange

Strange story , kept listening but found it bizarre and unsure what I thought about this .

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MissSharonF
  • MissSharonF
  • 18-08-2018

Loved this book

Lots of twists and turns and you find yourself changing opinions but the ending I just did not guess at all ! Loved it ❤️ great narration too!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for SandraL
  • SandraL
  • 28-04-2021

Satisfying Psychological thriller

The twists just keep on coming in this psychological thriller which is the story of two friends who meet at a support group. Carrie is battling cancer, and Alex has anorexia ad her husband has left her and he children don't speak to her.

This is a story full of secrets and lies and as I listened I didn't know what to believe. There seemed to be a new twist round every corner (some of which I predicted, some not) and I couldn't stop listening. My feelings about Alex and Carrie constantly changed throughout the book, but they were both interesting characters.

The narration by Katie Villa was great.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Marion G.
  • Marion G.
  • 29-03-2021

Wow - what a ride

Started this last night and finished it this morning. What a story! Honestly thought I had it all figured out in the first quarter, realized I got it wrong during the second, really thought I had it sussed in the third yet finished up completely wrong!!! One hell of a novel from a new author for me and now I have to explore another of her fabulous books. If you don't have your thinking head on then wait a while - and even if you have, I doubt you will fare better than me. I loved it (but need a wee rest before tackling anything else). However, have just purchased Her Last Secret so goes to show that I enjoy being challenged.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Julie
  • Julie
  • 17-03-2019

I liked it but got confused the more I heard.

I did finish the whole book but started getting confused which woman was talking. Bit disappointed with the end too.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for A P CROSDIL
  • A P CROSDIL
  • 24-10-2018

Gripping from start to finish

Really enjoyed this book. With a twist at the end . I would totally recommend

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for pinksamantha
  • pinksamantha
  • 05-09-2018

A Gripping Book.

This story just got more and more gripping as the story unfolded. The two main characters just keep unfolding, at times you’re not sure what past belongs to who.
I couldn’t listen to it fast enough. I ignored everyone!
This is a superb story.

3 people found this helpful

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.