Try free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $30.38

Buy Now for $30.38

Pay using coupon balance (if available) then card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

Inspired by the woman who founded Shakespeare and Company.

The captivating story of a trailblazing young woman who fought against incredible odds to bring one of the most important books of the 20th century to the world. For fans of The Paris Library, The Age of Light and The Paris Wife.

Paris, 1919.

Young, bookish Sylvia Beach knows there is no greater city in the world than Paris. But when she opens an English-language bookshop on the bohemian Left Bank, Sylvia can't yet know she is making history.

Many leading writers of the day, from Ernest Hemingway to Gertrude Stein, consider Shakespeare and Company a second home. Here some of the most profound literary friendships blossom - and none more so than between James Joyce and Sylvia herself.

When Joyce's controversial novel Ulysses is banned, Sylvia determines to publish it through Shakespeare and Company. But the success and notoriety of publishing the most infamous book of the century comes at deep personal cost as Sylvia risks ruin, reputation and her heart in the name of the life-changing power of books....

©2022 Kerri Maher (P)2022 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Critic Reviews

"A vivid evocation of the famous female-owned Parisian bookshop.... Kerri Maher writes a love letter to books, bookstores and booklovers everywhere." (Kate Quinn, author of The Alice Network)

"I was completely enthralled." (Natasha Lester, author of The Paris Secret)

"A compelling and fascinating look at the world-changing mavericks who bonded, bickered and triumphed in the realm of literature." (Nuala O'Connor)

What listeners say about The Paris Bookseller

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book.

I don't normally listen to this genre of books, found this most enjoyable. Gave so much information about what went during this period of time. Thought is good at the start and improve as it continued. Nrration also very good.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A wonderful era in Paris, and beautifully written

I love historical fiction and the author does a wonderful job.
The author's notes at the end answered a lot of my questions, very enjoyable overall.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

So interesting

I found this book to be captivating. It became more interesting as it went along and I really had no idea this was a book based on true life until the author's notes at the conclusion.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic

Truely remarkable story , exceptionally well written and superb reading. It’s a fascinating time in history and beautifully revealed. The characters are so real in the telling.

Best book for a long time.

Look forward to Ms Maher next book. Please don’t stop.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.