Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $30.38

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

India, 1798. Beatrice Sinclair, a grieving young widow facing financial destitution, has travelled from Hampshire to Hyderabad to visit her brother, an employee of the British East India Company. There, she is astonished to discover that he has married a beautiful Indian girl and lives with his wife's extended family in a dilapidated palace, the Jahanara Mahal - famed for the theft of a fabled diamond many years ago. 

As an outsider in an unfamiliar world, Bee faces many challenges - not least of all building a new and meaningful life after the heartbreak she has endured. Meanwhile the French and British forces become locked in a battle over India's riches, and matters are complicated further by the presence of the dashing Harry Wyndam: a maverick ex-soldier and suspected spy. 

With rebellion in the air, Bee must decide where her loyalties lie....

From the multiaward-winning author of The Apothecary's Daughter, The Palace of Lost Dreams is a gorgeously evocative novel set in 18th-century India, perfect for fans of Dinah Jefferies and Jenny Ashcroft.

©2018 Charlotte Betts (P)2018 Little, Brown Book Group

Critic Reviews

"Romantic, engaging and hugely satisfying." (Katie Fforde on The Apothecary's Daughter)

What listeners say about The Palace of Lost Dreams

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tommy
  • Tommy
  • 12-02-2021

Charlotte Betts never disappoints

Once again she tells an amazing story that makes me feel as if I am right there beside the character. A beautiful and touching story. Narrator did a wonderful job. Highly recommend this one!!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Daisy
  • Daisy
  • 18-03-2020

Captivating, atmospheric.

I’ve always longed to visit India. I loved the characters and the story. I felt I had walked the passageways of the Palace. And handled the fabrics.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for SuzieC
  • SuzieC
  • 27-08-2018

Terribly slow exceeding tedious

Such a slow book, boring to the extreme, hours and hours to unravel a very tedious story that could have been told in an hour. Predictable from the start and not worth the purchase, it actually stressed me out listening to it I’d drive to work for a couple of hours and nothing had happened by the time I got there. Would not recommend don’t waste your time/money

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.