Get Your Free Audiobook

Listen with a free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $34.76

Buy Now for $34.76

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Editorial Reviews

Editors Select, September 2013 - Self-described amateur forager and mushroom hunter Langdon Cook goes into the woods as Thoreau once did – seeking knowledge, perhaps enlightenment – and comes out with a vast knowledge for the little known world of wild mushrooms and those who seek them. The mushroom is not the star of this book, merely a muse, with the focus on the hunters in at times pursuing an illegal trade. If you’ve ever wondered about the story behind your chanterelles, The Mushroom Hunter serves up a wild, fascinating ride, reading more like a suspense novel than a book about mushrooms, providing an eye-opening look into a world many don’t even realize exists. —Jessica, Audible Editor

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Michael Pollan’s The Omnivore’s Dilemma, Susan Orlean’s The Orchid Thief, and Mark Kurlansky’s Cod - a renowned culinary adventurer goes into the woods with the iconoclasts and outlaws who seek the world’s most coveted ingredient...and one of nature’s last truly wild foods: the uncultivated, uncontrollable mushroom.

Within the dark corners of America’s forests grow culinary treasures. Chefs pay top dollar to showcase these elusive and beguiling ingredients on their menus. Whether dressing up a filet mignon with smoky morels or shaving luxurious white truffles over pasta, the most elegant restaurants across the country now feature an abundance of wild mushrooms.

The mushroom hunters, by contrast, are a rough lot. They live in the wilderness and move with the seasons. Motivated by Gold Rush desires, they haul improbable quantities of fungi from the woods for cash. Langdon Cook embeds himself in this shadowy subculture, reporting from both rural fringes and big-city eateries with the flair of a novelist, uncovering along the way what might be the last gasp of frontier-style capitalism.

Meet Doug, an ex-logger and crabber - now an itinerant mushroom picker trying to pay his bills and stay out of trouble; and Jeremy, a former cook turned wild food entrepreneur, crisscrossing the continent to build a business amid cutthroat competition; their friend Matt, an up-and-coming chef whose kitchen alchemy is turning heads; and the woman who inspires them all.

Rich with the science and lore of edible fungi - from seductive chanterelles to exotic porcini - The Mushroom Hunters is equal parts gonzo travelogue and culinary history lesson, a rollicking, character-driven tour through a world that is by turns secretive, dangerous, and tragically American.

©2013 Langdon Cook (P)2013 Audible Inc.

Critic Reviews

"The thrill of the wild mushroom hunt is audible in Kevin Free's performance of this exposé… Listeners gain respect for the mushroom harvesters as Cook learns about their relationship with nature and the broad environs they traverse." ( AudioFile)

More from the same

What listeners say about The Mushroom Hunters

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for v. s.
  • v. s.
  • 11-09-2013

Intriguing and full of fun!

What did you love best about The Mushroom Hunters?

This book is full of mini adventures as the author meets all sorts of unusual people in search of mushrooms. Every stitch of the book is interesting and colorful. A wonderful read!

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ellen
  • Ellen
  • 04-02-2014

Just What the Mycologist Ordered!

What made the experience of listening to The Mushroom Hunters the most enjoyable?

I'd only recently taken up mushrooming. Meant to learn about mushrooms for years, and finally joined the Connecticut Valley Mycological Society. I'm a nature freak, always have been, but I didn't know much about fungus until I got involved with the club. The east coast is not the mushroom mecca that the west coast is, but you can still find almost all of the species covered in the book, if not in such astonishing abundance (less so with the droughts that are hurting us all where ever we are).

I've had a taste of the way your heart pounds when you find a flush of chanterelles or trumpets, sprinted under the canopy to pounce on a king bolete (as if it could run away). So to listen to the buzz of finding hundreds of them, oh my!

This was the right book at the right time for me.

What was one of the most memorable moments of The Mushroom Hunters?

When the author gets lost trying to navigate through the fallen trees on a burn site.

What about Kevin Free’s performance did you like?

He sounded like the kind of guy you'd go mushrooming with.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

It made me hungry for MUSHROOMS.

Any additional comments?

I actually listened to this while I was out in the woods looking for mushrooms. Found a nice big flush of Hydnum repandum with my earbuds in!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ray Stewart
  • Ray Stewart
  • 06-07-2016

Who Know There Were So Many Kinds

Read three chapters and became bored. May be of more interest to someone who loves mushroom.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for NPS
  • NPS
  • 02-06-2021

For the Forager

Great book on the passion for mushrooms that'll give you the hunting itch. Fun listen.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jonathan Cook
  • Jonathan Cook
  • 13-11-2020

Clunky narrative nonfiction

Once upon a time, narrative nonfiction was a clever new form of writing. This book exemplifies the dead end that narrative nonfiction has become. It is low and repetitive, revealing very little non-fiction content and with a narrative that doesn’t really go very far. Please, publishers, stop the narrative nonfiction bandwagon! I was hoping for a book with more substance. The author went here, the author went there, and what did he discover? Not very much.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for thomas haran
  • thomas haran
  • 01-09-2018

really cool stories!

learned a lot of really cool little things you may not pick up in educational books

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Laura
  • Laura
  • 11-05-2018

Amazing story and narrator!

Probably the best narrator I’ve listened to thus far, with a great story to tell by Langdon Cook. If you like food, foraging or just a good story about humans and their environment, this is a must read.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Tom
  • Kindle Tom
  • 23-05-2017

Professional and amateur mushroom hunters

Where does The Mushroom Hunters rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

Midway, I doubt I will seriously hunt mushrooms in the wild, but I am more likely to ask for and try more with meals.

What was one of the most memorable moments of The Mushroom Hunters?

The unquenchable demand for exotic mushrooms by NYC.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

I was surprised at the Sierra Clubs opposition to mushroom picking treating it the same as a shrub, tree or an animal.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mark Hayes
  • Mark Hayes
  • 14-02-2017

i used to hate mushrooms

I loved how the author immersed himself into the mushroom forging culture to make his storytelling truly authentic.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for CJ
  • CJ
  • 29-11-2016

lots of stories to keep you busy

loved every morsel. it took me several months to listen to it because of the variety of characters. well worth the mouth watering descriptions of the harvests.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for C Wales
  • C Wales
  • 29-12-2020

brilliant book

Captivated from the beginning. It's about a lot more than mushrooms. Learning about backwoods USA.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.