Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $35.54

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

"With its evocative Dublin setting, lyrical prose, tough but sympathetic heroine, and a killer twist in the plot, Sarah Stewart Taylor's The Mountains Wild should top everyone's must-read lists this year!" (Deborah Crombie, New York Times best-selling author)

In a series debut for fans of Tana French and Kate Atkinson, set in Dublin and New York, homicide detective Maggie D'arcy finally tackles the case that changed the course of her life.

Twenty-three years ago, Maggie D'arcy's family received a call from the Dublin police. Her cousin Erin has been missing for several days. Maggie herself spent weeks in Ireland, trying to track Erin's movements, working beside the police. But it was to no avail: No trace of her was ever found.

The experience inspired Maggie to become a cop. Now, back on Long Island, more than 20 years have passed. Maggie is a detective and a divorced mother of a teenager. When the Gardaí call to say that Erin's scarf has been found and another young woman has gone missing, Maggie returns to Ireland, awakening all the complicated feelings from the first trip. The despair and frustration of not knowing what happened to Erin. Her attraction to Erin's coworker, now a professor, who never fully explained their relationship. And her determination to solve the case, once and for all.

A lyrical, deeply drawn portrait of a woman - and a country - over two decades - The Mountains Wild introduces a compelling new mystery series from a mesmerizing author.

A Macmillan Audio production from Minotaur Books

"Atmospheric and lyrical, The Mountains Wild is that rare thing - a riveting thriller with a beating heart. In this beautifully wrought portrait of love and family, secrets and lies, Sarah Stewart Taylor dives deep into character, all the while ratcheting up the suspense, page by gripping page, through to the stunning end." (Lisa Unger, New York Times best-selling author)

©2020 Sarah Stewart Taylor (P)2020 Macmillan Audio

What listeners say about The Mountains Wild

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love this so much

Ireland a place I adore. This takes me there. And what an interesting moving story. Love the characters and the scenery. Please write another set again in Ireland. Dublin.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 02-07-2020

Amazing!

I picked this book because it was by an Irish writer and had an Ireland theme. Little did I know how completely engrossed I would be right from the beginning. The narrator is the best that I have ever heard! I absolutely loved the book, the plot, the twists and turns, the story, the closure at the end etc. I’m on the hunt now for more books by Sarah Stuart Taylor. Highly recommend this book!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Yara N.
  • Yara N.
  • 20-07-2020

Excellent mystery, well worth your time!

The Mountain Wild is the debut novel by Sarah Stewart Taylor.

I decided to listen to this book because it was narrated by Marisa Calin, who I love and the few reviews it had were very good.

The story follows Long Island detective Maggie D'arcy who after 23 years finds herself once again investigating the disappearance of her cousin Erin, who disappeared in Dublin. The story is told using flashbacks, so we simultaneously read about the current investigation and the initial investigation into Erin's disappearance.

I don't want to give a lot away but I loved the way the investigation unfolded as well as the way we find out what happened to Erin. I read a good amount of mystery and I did not guess the ending, though the clues were there.

Throughout the book we get to know Maggie and we get to see her interaction with the Irish police detectives as well as an old flame (the one who got away). Aside from the mystery there's also some romance, but the romance never takes precedent over the mystery. It's a side story that is also tied to the main mystery so it doesn't feel superfluous.

The narration by Calin was excellent, as usual, though I was a little haired by her American accent which I was not expecting. She did a good job though.

Overall, I loved the story, the characters, and the writing as well of course the narration and I get wait for book no. 2!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nancy Jones
  • Nancy Jones
  • 15-07-2020

Keeps You Guessing

The plot has twists and turns. I’m good at figuring out mysteries but this one kept me guessing. I like that the scary parts were short lived and there was no real violence. I enjoyed this book a lot.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for J. v. Kirchbach
  • J. v. Kirchbach
  • 09-07-2020

Wonderful for crime/ police procedural addicts

Grief over the loss of a loved one never leaves a family as Sarah Stewart Taylor's razor-sharp launch of a new series deftly shows. "The Mountains Wild" uses the beautiful, lyrical background of Ireland to further explore its characters who share the Emerald Isle's remoteness, mystique and complicated past.

Erin Flaherty's disappearance 23 years ago in Dublin where she had moved from Long Island, NY has left her family in tatters. Her broken father hopes each day to find out what happened as does her cousin Maggie D'arcy, now a homicide detective.

When Erin first vanished, Maggie went to Ireland and spent weeks, talking to Erin's friends, scouring the countryside and giving insight to the police about her sometimes wild, often unpredictable cousin. At the time, police thought Erin might have been linked to the disappearance of another young woman or she might have just run off.

Now, decades later, Erin's scarf has been unearthed in the Wicklow woods in Ireland while police were looking for a missing schoolteacher. Maggie returns to Ireland. The Dublin police hope tofind the missing teacher and maybe resolve Erin's case. Maggie wants to be more involved than she can be as an American detective with no jurisdiction.

"The Mountains Wild" smoothly alternate between 2016 and 1993 showing Maggie’s character development and her unshakeable loyalty to her family and concern for her cousin, despite her often awkward relationship with Erin.

Maggie's initial investigation sharpened her career plans and sealed her future as a police detective. Since then, Maggie has proven her mettle in high-profile cases in Long Island, making the unsolved case of Erin even more glaring.

In addition to her intelligent characters, a badass female detective is always a plus, Taylor has sculpted "The Mountains Wild" as a valentine to Ireland, delving into its beauty, history and varied landscape - all of which lead to "a warm, homecoming sort of feeling."

We may not be able to travel to Ireland right now, but Taylor has brought the country to us. "The Mountains Wild" is a terrific series launch. I’ll be looking for the second book in the series.

The narration was fantastic, I loved the different accents and intonations, just wonderful !

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sarah
  • Sarah
  • 27-02-2021

Good story. Twists!

Good story but the narrator’s Long Island accent is spotty and distracts a lot from the listening experience.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for susie jane
  • susie jane
  • 12-01-2021

my review

Interesting story, good job by narrators. would recommend as a read or listen. good job all around.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kim M. Brownell
  • Kim M. Brownell
  • 06-10-2020

the mountains wild

great story. full of twists, turns. intirgue and world travel. very impressed with this story. looking forward to other stories by this author.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jonathan Berger
  • Jonathan Berger
  • 26-09-2020

Nicely done, good narration

A twisty, well-written, and enjoyable story. I'll look for more in this series.

The book is a tough challenge for a narrator, as it involves quite a lot of accents: Long Island accented American, Irish, French-accented Irish, English, and Eastern European, and maybe a few more I've forgotten. The narrator does a creditable job with all of them but the English, but thankfully there isn't much of that. Her Long Island accent is basically unaccented American English with just a few accented words, like woaddah for water and doaddah for daughter and loang for long, that sort of thing, which was a little weird at first but I got used to it. Five stars for the narration despite that slight quibble because she took the trouble to actually learn the tune to a traditional Irish song that's quoted in the text, and to do a respectable job of singing it. Most narrators don't bother, so good for her.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for carpsmarsh
  • carpsmarsh
  • 15-09-2020

Good One - Highly Recommended

Good contemporary story, especially if you have a bit of familiarity with Ireland and its history over the past century. It does have time jumps (1993-2016).

Very well-constructed mystery. Good writing. This one bears rereading.

Have to say that narrator Marisa Calin is terrific! The characters are well differentiated, males, females, old, young; and her Irish accents are particularly well-done.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Paula Rosenbloom
  • Paula Rosenbloom
  • 17-08-2020

Wonderful narration. Great story.

I enjoyed this very much and will look for more by this author and this narrator.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.