Get Your Free Audiobook

The Mother's Mistake: An absolutely gripping psychological thriller

Narrated by: Tamsin Kennard
Length: 12 hrs and 22 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (11 ratings)

Non-member price: $34.76

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Everyone makes mistakes. But does everyone deserve to be forgiven?

She runs past the tinkling of children’s laughter that fills the park. Heart hammering, feet stinging, she reaches the riverbank, her breath catching in her throat. And then she sees...

Three years later.

Claire has everything she’s always wanted. A newborn baby. A doting husband by her side. A picturesque home in the countryside.

But behind closed doors, Claire’s life is falling apart. Her husband is barely ever home, she’s struggling to bond with her baby girl, and she swears that she is being watched in the remote, lonely cottage.

And when a threatening note is posted through her letterbox, saying she doesn’t deserve her daughter, it’s clear that someone knows about the terrible mistake that Claire made - someone won’t let her forget it. Three years ago, she would have known who to turn to. But now she no longer recognizes those closest to her or the person she’s become. Whom can she trust?

A chilling psychological thriller about a mother’s worst nightmare. Fans of K. L. Slater, Shalini Boland, and The Girl on the Train will love the twists, turns and gasp-worthy shocks of this stunning debut from Ruth Heald.

©2019 Ruth Heald (P)2019 Bookouture

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

ENJOYABLE

This was different to what i i unexpected took a while to get into. once into story really enjoyed this book and the narration .looking forward to more by this author .

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Couldn't wait for it to be over

I wanted to stop reading about 3/4 through
I was so tired of hearing about the paranoia I actually turned against her
I've never been so glad to get to the end of a book
Narration was decent.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Christina Elizabeth
  • Christina Elizabeth
  • 21-07-2019

Great book, but not dark enough for me...

I'll be honest - when I purchased this title, it was mostly because I saw the "not for the faint of heart" review, and it got my attention. (Turn me upside-down and call me twisted.)

It really is a great listen; the narrator is great, the storyline is interesting, and I actually wanted to finish it.

This review is more for those weirdos like me who are in search of a, "Wow. Ew.....no. NO. NOOO. I can't believe this author really went there. NO....okay, I'm in." type of book. This isn't that book.

Now, if you ARE one of those faint of hearts who like a thrill - get it. It's a great listen. (And nothing that you couldn't listen to in front of your grandma.)

9 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Joyce Lareau
  • Joyce Lareau
  • 19-07-2019

Hysterical Paranoia runs rampant

If you can stand to listen to complete hysterical paranoia for hours on end to FINALLY get to the end of this book, cheers to you. It was very aggravating to me after about 1 hour of listening to the main character. I was able to figure out who the villain was pretty easily. I do not recommend this book and am so glad I am done with it.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for J.
  • J.
  • 11-07-2019

Haven't Been So Shocked By A Book in Awhile

This was incredible--worth it to the end!! I didn't believe the person who said that in the review. But they're right; amazingly done... she pulled every last detail together.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Judy M. Bishop
  • Judy M. Bishop
  • 24-07-2019

The Mother’s Mistake

I have never written a review before on a book, but I was compelled to review this book by Ruth Heald. The performance was absolutely wonderful. The story had a twist to it that I was not expecting at all. I kept you on your toes the whole time, and the ending was amazing. I don’t know how Ruth was able to pull this story together, but she did a great job! I would highly recommend this book for people that like Psychological thrillers.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jenny
  • Jenny
  • 26-07-2019

Victim!

I really, really tried to finish this book but found myself so utterly frustrated with the repetition of poor decisions and obvious outcomes that I just couldn’t persist.
Narration was good.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cari Hayward
  • Cari Hayward
  • 14-08-2019

Overall Good

The story could have had more speed to it. And the author could have switched between characters announcing then in the beginning. The story was good!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for NEC
  • NEC
  • 09-08-2019

Interesting book

I did enjoy this book only it was a bit confusing from time to time. I really enjoyed it the further I got in to it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jamie L. Quinn
  • Jamie L. Quinn
  • 07-08-2019

A little long but GREAT!

Just when you think you’ve got it figured out too easily..... WRONG! Great twists even with the length in the long run!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for H. Norwood (#LOLmKids)
  • H. Norwood (#LOLmKids)
  • 04-08-2019

Kept me guessing right up to the end!!!

This was my first book by Ruth Heald but I can tell we're going to be great friends!!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Deb
  • Deb
  • 09-07-2019

Such a great book!

I wasn’t sure I would like this at first, but was pleasantly surprised. Even though I thought I’d had it all figured out (don’t we always??) the ending was brilliant! I recommend this to every psych thriller out there!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for I'm all ears
  • I'm all ears
  • 19-06-2019

Returned this one

Returned this one, it just seemed very similar to another I listened to! the usual, woman suffers from depression and flashbacks etc etc

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nicola Grounds
  • Nicola Grounds
  • 23-07-2019

Gripping, unpredictable and very enjoyable

I’m normally 3 steps ahead guessing the ‘who did it’ well before the clues come but this book really kept me wondering. Extremely well written

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for susan cruickshanks
  • susan cruickshanks
  • 25-11-2019

Terrible

First of all I do not ever review books as they a very.personal thing. But this story was a bitt rubbish. The narrator was dull, story the same. I’m glad I received my money back. Unfortunately I can’t receive the time wasted back

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ali
  • Ali
  • 18-07-2019

good story

I enjoyed this story but there were some parts which had a bit to much gross info

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 05-07-2019

Great book

Couldn't put it down kept me guessing till near the end. Will look for more by this author

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kelly Hanson
  • Kelly Hanson
  • 26-06-2019

Highly recommend!

I couldn’t stop listening to this book, it had me gripped from the start.
Stayed up till 4am to find out how it ended! A fantastic read!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Hazel
  • Hazel
  • 25-07-2019

Oh dear oh dear!!

I dont know how many times 'tears threatened to prick her eyes' l lost count after 7, this got so annoying as did her pronunciation of 'olivia-r' and 'Emma-r' why does everything ending with a vowel have an 'r' on the end !? The story could have been better if the narrator wasnt so twittery emotionally over the top with every sentence. I couldn't finish it. Just a mess really.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 24-09-2019

Best book I’ve listened to for ages!

Absolutely loved this book from beginning to end. I was glad of miserable weather so I could shut myself away and binge, I really didn’t want to talk to anyone or be interrupted.
The one and only criticism I have is , surely you can’t be an ex alcoholic or used to be an alcoholic ?
I shall definitely look out for more books by Ruth Heald

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for claire l.
  • claire l.
  • 23-09-2019

worth getting to the end

A disturbing story that brings to life the struggles of mental health issues. From the beginning you want to know what has happened. The jumping to a different time can be very hard to follow and although at end of the book you understand what has happened and the mystery of it becomes clear during it there was a time it was just hard to keep going. I'm glad I persevered I had got parts of the twists the book but the ending made much more worth while. I also appreciate author bringing up difficult topics of depression and giving them a voice especially post natal depression which can be ignored.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kate
  • Kate
  • 15-09-2019

great story

loved the story. very dark and definitely gripping attention till the very end.

definitely recommend.