Get Your Free Audiobook

The Missing Wife

Narrated by: Aoife McMahon
Length: 12 hrs and 30 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (225 ratings)

Non-member price: $31.21

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Fans of Marian Keyes, Lisa Jewell and Santa Montefiore will love Sunday Times best-selling author Sheila O'Flanagan's The Missing Wife.

Have you ever wanted to disappear?

When Imogen Naughton vanishes, everyone who knows her is shocked. She has a perfect marriage. Her handsome husband treats her like a princess. She's always said how lucky she is. So why has she left? And how will she survive without Vince?

What goes on behind closed doors is often a surprise, and Imogen surprises herself by taking the leap she knows she must. But as she begins her journey to find the woman she once was, Imogen's past is right behind her....

Will it catch up with her? And will she be ready to face it if it does?

©2016 Sheila O'Flanagan (P)2016 Headline Digital

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    133
  • 4 Stars
    64
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    136
  • 4 Stars
    52
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    112
  • 4 Stars
    69
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Left wanting more Sheila O'Flanagan

This is the first Sheila O'Flanagan book I've read. I got so involved with this story my heart was racing at times. Had to keep listening well past bedtime in the last chapters - wouldn't be able to sleep otherwise. I'm now deciding on which Sheila O'Flanagan to listen to next.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

worthy every page

I ouldn't stop "reading". Each chapter brought closer to the characters. I felt like I was living in France too.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good but a bit long

Beginning good middle a bit long but the ending make you feel worth finishing it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great read

Well written and well for reformed. So engrossing it made me put off work to finish it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great light and hearted

Loved it!!! Easy listening - well read. My first Sheila O’Flanagan book, but I will be buying more.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Easy listen

Liked the narrator. Thought she did a brilliant job with so many characters - but couldn’t figure out if Dublin-based Shauna was supposed to be Welsh?!

The story meandered a bit. Some conversation seemed a bit pointless and I’ve never heard so many different ‘people‘ use the word ‘nevertheless’.

Liked the description of the various settings and brought back my own memories of time spent in small French villages and San Sebastián.

I’d describe this as an easy read holiday novel which I’ll probably forget by next week.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Read

Great story and was really hard to put down loved the France setting as well

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic! tension, adventure, romance...

loved this book. narration was perfect. loved the romance, the idea of freedom and living in France, the suspense... everything you want in a good summer read.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Shallow and a bit too wordy

What would have made The Missing Wife better?

A variety of readers for each character
Less words needed - too much trivial script tell a theme

What will your next listen be?

Probably something of Tim Wintons

Have you listened to any of Aoife McMahon’s other performances? How does this one compare?

No

Any additional comments?

Took a lot of hours to get to a pretty expected inevitable end !!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story and exceptional narration.

The story was great but what really made this book a great listen was the narration. Whether it was a French accent, Irish or Australian, the narrator was perfect. Highly Recommend this Audio Book

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Julie
  • Julie
  • 02-09-2016

Fantastic

This was an amazing story. Anyone who has been in a relationship like Imogen will be amazed by the accuracy of the dread and it was written so well, makes me think the author may have been or knows someone close who has experienced this. I couldn't put it down!!! Great, definitely the best Sheila oflanagan book I have read....

15 of 15 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jill Besterman
  • Jill Besterman
  • 05-07-2016

Sheila O'Flanagan, back to near her best

Any additional comments?

I did not enjoy the previous couple of books by this author but The Missing Wife is a big improvement on them. Trapped in an increasingly loveless marriage with a controlling husband Imogen fears that her only option is to disappear before he finally manages to reduce her confidence to zero and the only place that she thinks might be safe is the Basque area of France where she was happy as a child. We follow her as she tries to re-establish herself as an individual, managing to find work and a place to live whilst relishing the beauty of the area and the people she meets, some new and some old friends. Meanwhile we also get an insight into the mind of her husband, the unpleasant Vince, as he tries to find out where she is, fully intending to "punish" her for humiliating him in such a manner.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 11-07-2017

underwhelming

I was enjoying the listen but the longer it went on the less believable many of the characters became and I found all the details of Imogen's childhood back story tiresome. I was more interested in the story of Imogen and Vince and to this end I found the (eventual) climax to that story arc particularly unsatisfying. All in all I wanted it to be more interesting, more surprising and with more tension.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Gwyneth Smith
  • Gwyneth Smith
  • 22-08-2016

The manipulative husband

Would you consider the audio edition of The Missing Wife to be better than the print version?

No idea never read it but I always think of audio books as a play not a book, wonderful invention.

What other book might you compare The Missing Wife to, and why?

Blimey, A place to call home. Carol Mathews

Which character – as performed by Aoife McMahon – was your favourite?

Honor

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

I didn't but I could easily have done so

Any additional comments?

Veronica Henry, love her books and Aoife McMahon read beautifully.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cabevel
  • Cabevel
  • 15-08-2016

A Good Holiday Read

The narrator was very good and the story came to life. compelled throughout. A weak ending.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for sue
  • sue
  • 31-07-2016

fabulous book.


really enjoyed this book, I will definitely read another of her books. very good story wanted to keep reading top book.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Miss
  • Miss
  • 09-10-2016

Brilliant

Great story would definately recommend would buy from this author again truly excellent 5* to her

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for P M. Gregory
  • P M. Gregory
  • 06-10-2016

Excellent

Really enjoyable, kept guessing right to the end. I couldn't wait for the husband to get his comeuppance.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sarah
  • Sarah
  • 02-08-2017

Really not bad but.....

This was a good story and although I did find my mind occasionally wondering at points, I did enjoy it. I've listened to several books narrated by Aoife McMahon and usually can't fault her, but I found the way she constantly switched between French and Irish accents when voicing the same character distracting and also a little confusing when there were several people in a scene. I'd personally have preferred it if she'd chosen one for each person and stuck to it for the sake of flow.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ann D
  • Ann D
  • 12-07-2016

Wonderful, then spoiled by the final chapter!

Any additional comments?

I loved this book, wonderful characters, with a story that romped along. Unfortunately, it was badly let down in the final chapter. Everything was tied-up in a very twee way. All of the events at the end could happily have been there, but not so quickly and easily. Without risking a spoiler, the character of the husband, with the personality portrayed, would not have given-up so easily. What had been a compulsive read that I could hardly put down, became a disappointment. What a shame. The narration however, was excellent.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful