Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $39.71

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Twelve-year-old Sunny St. James navigates heart surgery, reconnecting with her lost mother, first kisses, and emerging feelings for another girl in this stunning, heartfelt novel - perfect for fans of Ali Benjamin and Erin Entrada Kelly.

When Sunny St. James receives a new heart, she decides to set off on a "New Life Plan": one, do awesome amazing things she could never do before; two, find a new best friend; and three, kiss a boy for the first time.

Her "New Life Plan" seems to be racing forward, but when she meets her new best friend, Quinn, Sunny questions whether she really wants to kiss a boy at all. With the reemergence of her mother, Sunny begins a journey to becoming the new Sunny St. James.

This sweet, tender novel dares listeners to find the might in their own hearts.

©2019 Ashley Herring Blake (P)2019 Hachette Audio

Critic Reviews

"A heartwarming and engaging tale that treats Sunny's emerging sexual identity with care, authenticity, and age appropriateness." (School Library Journal)

"Blake captures all the exhilaration of a first crush without shying away from Ivy's confusion.... The sisters' relationship is one of the great rewards of this novel that includes a large and vivid cast of secondary characters, who give the story its sense of abundant texture." (The New York Times Book Review)

"The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James will make you ache for the twelve-year-old you once were, and anxious to share this book with every pre-teen you know. I may be Ashley Herring Blake's biggest fan!" (Shannon Hitchcock, author of One True Way and Ruby Lee & Me)

What listeners say about The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for kim turgeon
  • kim turgeon
  • 13-07-2020

Incredible book

This is an amazing book and almost made me cry. The characters were not boring and the plot was straight forward.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.