Get Your Free Audiobook

The Merciful Crow

Narrated by: Amy Landon
Length: 12 hrs and 57 mins
Categories: Young Adults, Ages 13 & Up

Non-member price: $51.67

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Debut author Margaret Owen crafts a powerful saga of vengeance, survival, and sacrifice - perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Kendare Blake - in The Merciful Crow. One way or another, we always feed the crows.  

A future chieftain   

Fie abides by one rule: Look after your own. Her Crow caste of undertakers and mercy-killers takes more abuse than coin, but when they’re called to collect royal dead, she’s hoping they’ll find the payout of a lifetime.  

A fugitive prince   

When Crown Prince Jasimir turns out to have faked his death, Fie’s ready to cut her losses - and perhaps his throat. But he offers a wager that she can’t refuse: Protect him from a ruthless queen, and he’ll protect the Crows when he reigns.   

A too-cunning bodyguard   

Hawk warrior Tavin has always put Jas’ life before his, magically assuming the prince’s appearance and shadowing his every step. But what happens when Tavin begins to want something to call his own?

©2019 Margaret Owen (P)2019 Macmillan Audio

More from the same

What members say

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Shannon
  • Shannon
  • 13-09-2019

Worth the read/listen

It did get really long in the middle of the book, I literally fell asleep for a few and didn’t even bother going back and don’t feel I missed anything

Definitely unique concept though that I wish was explained more , like how can people tell what caste someone is just by looking?

I also am not a fan of the immediate fall in love thing, but some people like that

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 31-08-2019

Unique but a little slow

Overall a pleasure, truly interesting premise and characters, but pretty slow moving. Well written and narrated.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 19-08-2019

Amazing

This book is amazing. If your a fan of Six of Crows and/or The throne of glass books. highly recommend. July 2020 can't come quick enough. how dare you make me look forward to an election year.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for BookLover
  • BookLover
  • 16-10-2019

Interesting

I am not exactly sure how to describe this book, very cast oriented. Unfortunately, the book did not go into the details of how you can tell the cast of people apart. Great story, well written, I had an issue with the main character a little, and the final showdown was a bit too convenient. I think having a full history/story of the gods and their blessing to the cast system would really benefit the "depth" of unjustice; the entire plot was kind of build around. Otherwise, it was a great listen. I was pleasantly surprised.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Stacey
  • Stacey
  • 13-09-2019

Great read, very engaging

I dont usually go for this type of book, but this one was great! i loved the characters, and the storey. I hope there is another soon!!