Get Your Free Audiobook

The Lost Letters

Narrated by: Tara Ward
Length: 10 hrs and 36 mins
3.5 out of 5 stars (2 ratings)
Non-member price: $34.76
After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

A gripping book club novel about forbidden love, friendship, and family secrets in a time of war. Perfect for fans of The Letter by Kathryn Hughes, The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks, and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society.

What if keeping your loved ones safe meant never seeing them again? 

Canada, present day

When Martha’s beloved father dies, he leaves her two things: a mysterious stash of letters to an English woman named "Catkins" and directions to a beach hut in the English seaside town of Wells-Next-the-Sea. Martha is at a painful crossroads in her own life and seizes this chance for a trip to England - to discover more about her family’s past and the identity of her father’s secret correspondent.

Norfolk, 1940

Sylvia’s husband, Howard, has gone off to war, and she is struggling to raise her two children alone. Her only solace is her beach hut in Wells and her friendship with Connie, a woman she meets on the beach. The two women form a bond that will last a lifetime, and Sylvia tells Connie something that no one else knows: about a secret lover...and a child.

But the tragedy of war brings heartbreaking choices. And a promise made between the two women will echo down the years and could change everything for Martha....

©2018 Sarah Mitchell (P)2018 Bookouture

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • LJStevie
  • 19-03-2019

Intriguing story.

This book held my attention and offered an intriguing twist. It was at times hard to follow as the author’s style was to shift a character or event suddenly as if the reader had been part of the trail and then later fill in the details of how or when it happened. I found myself having to re-listen to parts to know if I’d just not been paying attention or if it was the author’s writing style. The narration was superb and added a great deal to the enjoyment of the story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • uffdasuzanne
  • 12-02-2019

So enjoyable

Having not lived at this time in history, it was interesting to get a feel for the things people had to deal with then. I am glad, however, that I did not have to deal with those same things.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Maggieannie
  • 07-11-2018

Excellent

I loved this book. It was full of twists and turns. I know Wells, I imagined myself there with them. This is surely what a good book is all about

1 of 1 people found this review helpful