Try free for 2 months

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
AUD $16.45/mo after 2 months. Renews automatically. Cancel anytime.
The Lodge cover art

The Lodge

By: Sue Watson
Narrated by: Tamsin Kennard,Alison Campbell
Try for $0.00

AUD $16.45/mo after 2 months. Renews automatically. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $26.99

Buy Now for $26.99

Pay using voucher balance (if applicable) then card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

"Please...someone...help us. We’re at The Lodge, the snow is everywhere. We’re trapped. There was an argument last night...things got out of hand. Someone went missing in the middle of the night. We think they might be dead...."

Two days ago, the Wilson family checked into the imposing, glass-fronted Lodge, surrounded by snow and perched perilously on the edge of a cliff looking out to a gray sea. Not everyone was looking forward to the family get-together. But mother-in-law Angela insisted the winter trip would help heal their rifts....

Danni: the new wife who feels like an imposter. She doesn’t trust anyone—even her husband. But is she trustworthy herself?

Fiona: the ex-wife who feels that all eyes are on her. She’s here for the sake of her children, but she fails to hide her seething jealousy toward her ex-husband’s new family....

Angela: the mother-in-law who can’t help but interfere. She planned the family holiday to get everyone together, but does she really want to keep the peace?

Scott: the husband torn between his ex-wife and his new wife. He says he wants to do right by his family, but he’s been telling lies to them all. Now his darkest secret is about to be revealed.

After a night of arguments, morning breaks with a single scream. Not everyone came to The Lodge play to happy families. Someone came to get revenge....

A completely gripping, utterly twisted thriller that will leave your jaw on the floor. Perfect for fans of The Housemaid, The Perfect Marriage, and The Girl on the Train.

©2023 Sue Watson (P)2023 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Lodge

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

It's OK

This book had great potential with an interesting premise. I mean who doesn't love a good "trapped inside a holiday house in the middle of a snow storm" thriller?
The story starts off strong, with the narrative being told from alternating view points of the 2 main protagonists. Unfortunately from midpoint to the end, the story drags on and on and gets repetitive.
Another issue was the lack of likeable characters, which made it difficult to care what happens. I didn't enjoy the female representation.
While I remained interested enough to keep going, I found the story became quite farsical towards the end. It felt like the author was trying to add twists at the last minute but unfortunately failed to deliver and thrill or a believable plot twist.
The narrators were great although one of them sounded bored towards the end (I do not blame her!)

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Better than expected

Twists and turns that kept me hooked, with unlikable characters but the drama makes up for it

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.