Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $42.90

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Perfect for fans of Poldark and Bridgerton, this Regency romance evokes the captivating worlds and delightful dramas as treacherous to navigate as the rocky English shores. 

Cornwall, England, 1820

Raised on the sprawling and rugged Wyndcliff Estate near the dangerous coast of South Cornwall, Evelyn Bray lives with her grandfather, a once-wealthy man now reduced to the post of steward. Evelyn is still grieving her father’s death and her mother’s abandonment when a passing ship is dashed against the rocks.

Liam Twethewey is a 22 when he inherits Wyndcliff Estate from his great uncle. His optimistic plans to employ the estate’s tenants meets unexpected resistance, and rumors of smuggling and illegal activity challenge his newfound authority.

Brought together by troubling questions surrounding the shipwreck, Evelyn and Liam uncover even darker mysteries shrouding the estate. But as they untangle truth from deception, their loyalties separate them - and their budding love might not be strong enough to overcome the distance.

Praise for The Light at Wyndcliff:

“An expertly woven tale of secrets, danger, and heartfelt romance. A riveting and deeply emotional read.” (Mimi Matthews, USA Today best-selling author)

  • Sweet, full-length Regency romance
  • Third book in the Cornwall novels (The Governess of Penwythe HallThe Thief of Lanwyn Manor, and The Light at Wyndcliff), but can be listened to as a stand-alone story
  • Book length: 85,000 words
  • Includes discussion questions for book clubs
©2020 Sarah E. Ladd (P)2020 Thomas Nelson

Critic Reviews

“An expertly woven tale of secrets, danger, and heartfelt romance. A riveting and deeply emotional read.” (Mimi Matthews, USA Today best-selling author)  

What listeners say about The Light at Wyndcliff

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Raymond
  • Raymond
  • 27-02-2021

Wondrous Tale

I loved everything about this story. It makes the Cornish coastline, moors, and people so real. Our small, historic gold-mining town here in Northern California was settled by many Cornish miners. It helps bring their local history alive as well.
I loved the continuation of Liam and John’s story as well. I will remember THIS book forever.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Forevermooremom
  • Forevermooremom
  • 13-01-2021

Beautifully written and read!

I found this story to be both engaging as well as soothing. The narrator’s voice is so calming and yet she does all the voices of all the characters in such true-to-form way. I was eager to discover the reason behind the mysterious happenings around Wyndcliff and kept trying to listen as much as I possibly could to find out who was behind the smuggling. Beautiful!



Nvm deer

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amber
  • Amber
  • 28-12-2020

Great read!

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I was sucked in from page 1 and couldn’t put it down. The narrator also did a great job on each character.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Agatha Istanbul
  • Agatha Istanbul
  • 13-12-2020

SMUGGLING IN CORNWALL

This book seemed very drawn out. I think it could have been finished in a much shorter time, but the author wished to make the book longer. The narrator was fairly good - there were a couple of times when she made mistakes and talked as a different character for the one she was supposed to talk (for example, gruffly, as the voice of Evelyn's grandfather, for Evelyn herself - or when she used a high female voice for the man, Liam - and other mistakes) but mostly she was good. The story was a typical Cornish smuggling one, except for Evelyn's grandfather going to jail (spoiler) near the end of the book. He was a unrepentent, gruff, shouting, bad-tempered man, and it was very difficult to understand WHY Evelyn thought he was "kind"... but she did for some reason. She seemed a very out of touch character, who knew nothing of what her "friends" were doing in the Cornish cove near where she lived. She had no spunk at all and always did what she was told - even when she didn't agree with it and knew it was wrong!! I've read other historical romances where the woman lived within the confines of her time but was still intelligent and spunky. THOSE are the kind of books I like! I'm glad that the main male character, Liam, had his brother come to stay with him, as I don't think he could have handled the intrigue around him without help...

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.