Get Your Free Audiobook

The Lending Library

A Novel
Narrated by: Cris Dukehart
Length: 8 hrs and 13 mins
3.0 out of 5 stars (1 rating)

Non-member price: $35.10

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Jane Green and Loretta Nyhan, a heartwarming debut novel about a daydreamer who gives her town, and herself, an amazing gift: a lending library in her sunroom.

When the Chatsworth library closes indefinitely, Dodie Fairisle loses her sanctuary. How is a small-town art teacher supposed to cope without the never-ending life advice and enjoyment that books give her? Well, when she’s as resourceful and generous as Dodie, she turns her sunroom into her very own little lending library.

At first just a hobby, this lit lovers’ haven opens up her world in incredible ways. She knows books are powerful, and soon enough they help her forge friendships between her zany neighbors - and attract an exciting new romance.

But when the chance to adopt an orphaned child brings Dodie’s secret dream of motherhood within reach, everything else suddenly seems less important. Finding herself at a crossroads, Dodie must figure out what it means to live a full, happy life. If only there were a book that could tell her what to do....

©2020 Aliza Fogelson (P)2019 Brilliance Publishing, Inc., all rights reserved.

Critic Reviews

“Cris Dukehart delivers a thoughtful and lively narration of this feel good story.... Dukehart’s performance captures a range of characters, familiar emotions, and, most importantly, the playful sense of discovery in Dodie’s personal growth and unconditional love.” (AudioFile Magazine)

“Fogelson’s debut is a beautiful heartwarming novel that weaves together a wide range of emotions. Book lovers will revel in Dodie’s journey of loss, abandonment, motherhood, and love. Jane Green fans won’t be able to put down this page-turner.” (Booklist, starred review)

“Fogelson pairs a passionate bibliophile with a handsome construction worker and achieves maximum charm in her quirky and sweet debut.... This should be catnip for book clubs.” (Publishers Weekly

What listeners say about The Lending Library

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rosa
  • Rosa
  • 08-07-2020

White world fantasy read by a machine

This sounds like it was both written and read by machines, white machines; formulaic, staccato, empty.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amber Gin
  • Amber Gin
  • 08-07-2020

Vapid

I'm so sorry to say that I couldn't bear to finish this book. The characters are vapid and boring. For example, early in the story one calls another (both artists in art school) quirky for having shoes in colors other than black or brown and bringing home-baked goods to gatherings. Anyone who knows an artist knows that red shoes and muffins wouldn't even register on the creativity and quirkiness scale. The descriptions are amateurish and self-indulgent. I never grew fond of any of the characters and there are too many good books out there waiting for me, so I bailed - something I rarely do. I really wanted to like it. I really did. On the other hand, the narration was well done.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Fuzzy Urchin
  • Fuzzy Urchin
  • 12-10-2020

Loathe some characters

I’m not sure why I even finished this book. I suppose I was hoping the characters would redeem themselves. How is Kendra even a friend? She gets angry that Dodie is going through traumas and isn’t “there” to talk about her new boyfriend? She lays on the guilt that D’s library was closed for a couple of days? People “rely” on her FREE work? The story proffers the idea that a single woman “isn’t ready” for children, and that the volunteer work D is doing is more important? That because she’s never had a child before, she could t be ready? And Shep is a loser, too. A liar and a manipulator. I’m so disheartened after finishing this book. The author should be ashamed that she put this forward as some sort of “forward thinking adult way of seeing things” piece. If the environment of this book accepts outright abusive relationships as normal and healthy and it’s dangerous.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Regina Bray
  • Regina Bray
  • 13-08-2020

fun read

I loved this book. I loved the allusion to so many stories, some I have read and some not. I loved the characters and their development.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Muggle Mom
  • Muggle Mom
  • 01-08-2020

Don’t check this out

Yeah, it’s pretty boring and very bland. Could not make it past chapter 2 with the white wash characters. Kept thinking of ‘Matilda’ meets a bad 1980’s sitcom.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dorothy
  • Dorothy
  • 27-07-2020

What happened?

This was just an ok book. With the way it skipped around, it was hard to keep up with the story lines. I don't mind a few skips ahead, but it was too many for this book. I felt like I was missing half the story.