Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $19.75

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

The war changed everything for Lily Verner.

As the Nazis storm Europe, Lily becomes an apprentice at her family’s silk-weaving factory. When they start to weave parachute silk there is no margin for error: one tiny fault could result in certain death for Allied soldiers.

The war also brings Stefan to Lily: a German Jewish refugee who works on the looms. As their love grows, there are suspicions someone is tampering with the silk.

Can their love survive the hardships of war? And will the Verner’s silk stand the ultimate test?

The Last Telegram is an evocative and engaging novel for fans of The Postmistress and Pam Jenoff.

©2020 Liz Trenow (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic Reviews

"A novel about the human spirit - Liz Trenow paints with able prose a picture of the prejudices that bind us and the love that sets us free.... Splendid." (Pam Jenoff, author of The Kommandant’s Girl)

"This absorbing novel delves into the secrets of wartime silk production and makes them totally fascinating...tremendously atmospheric and convincing in its details, with characters that touch the heart. A book to savour." (Kate Furnivall, author of The Russian Concubine)

"An assured debut with a page-turning conclusion." (Daily Express)

What listeners say about The Last Telegram

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.