Regular price: $20.28

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – love a book or swap it for free
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $16.45/month
OR
In Basket

Publisher's Summary

You won't want to miss this mesmerising debut from a fresh new voice in psychological suspense.

Perfect for fans of B. A. Paris, Shari Lapena and Liane Moriarty.

How far would you go to make all your dreams come true?

Amber Patterson is tired of being a nobody: an invisible woman who melts into the background. She deserves more. She deserves a life of wealth, luxury and leisure.

Daphne Parrish is the golden girl of Bishops Harbor, Connecticut. With her model looks, her picture-perfect mansion and her millionaire husband, Jackson, she has everything Amber wants.

Amber's envy could eat her alive - if she didn't have a plan. Before long, she has become Daphne's closest friend and is catching the eye of Jackson. But a skeleton from her past could destroy everything, and if discovered, Amber's well-laid plan may end in disaster....

©2017 Lynne Constantine and Valerie (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic Reviews

" The Last Mrs Parrish is an addictive and twisty debut." (Karin Slaughter)
"Wonderfully plausible, hypnotically compelling, and deliciously chilling and creepy - some of the best psychological suspense you'll read this year." (Lee Child)
"A wonderfully clever story, filled with suspense and a shocking twist, that kept me turning the pages." (Jane Green, best-selling author of Summer Secrets)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    5
Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Written by a 12 year old?

What disappointed you about The Last Mrs Parrish?

The story started out slow and childish. It bored me to death but someone had recommended the book to me so I kept at it. Then the "twist" happened, it got a fraction better for a little while then was back to slow and boring. All the "drama" that happened in the book was so petty and ridiculous. It was painful to listen to this book all the way to the end. I want to say that maybe it would captivate younger ears but I read the Twilight books, which were meant for a younger age audience and I loved those. This, unfortunately, cannot possibly entertain any age reader. I'm sorry to the person that recommended this to me but in this case, sooo not for me.

Has The Last Mrs Parrish put you off other books in this genre?

No. It was just this one. I like the genre.

Would you be willing to try another one of Suzanne Elise Freeman and Meghan Wolf ’s performances?

I was hoping that reading this book myself may have helped me enjoy the book a bit more, the voices were very plain and they didn't seem to have much experience. However, I think that having to read this horrible book may have bored them enough to not put a lot of effort in. I am not one to go around writing horrible reviews on things so I will say that given the horribly awful quality of the book I cannot blame the women's performances in this case.

You didn’t love this book--but did it have any redeeming qualities?

I guess the story had a good plot. Possibly a different author could've written a better book around the story-line.

Any additional comments?

I would NOT recommend.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Long winded

Story line was ok but the constant repetition was annoying .Ending was quite good though .

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

thought it was going nowhere, then BANG!

just when I thought the story wasn't going anywhere and it was getting stagnant I was slapped in the face. a great read

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Awesome!!

Loved this book, could not put it down!! Well written and loved the twists and turns!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic!

Couldn’t stop listening to it. A really fantastic story, suspenseful. Highly recommend! The voice at times was a little slow for me, but maybe that’s because I was eager to hear what was about to happen.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So good!!

This book is amazing. So many twists and turns. Great read or listen. The ending is the best

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

literally the worst

seriously, so bad and ridiculous but an easy trashy listen. the characters suck and the dialogue is hilariously bad

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Ok to miss this one

Very long-winded and predictable - liked the second part and narrator but the first was awful, was crabby she came back for the last part! Dialogue of the characters was poor.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 13-04-2018

Couldn’t stop listening!

The story was a little slow in the beginning.
I was intrigued though. I did find it a little predictable. There were no real surprises in my opinion. But it was still a fun easy read that I enjoyed.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • AnnieJuly
  • 05-01-2018

Predictable and corny...but very enjoyable :)

Okay, first let's be blunt about what this book is - this is corny, predictable and nothing more than an off the peg "psychological thriller". The long arm of coincidence and entirely incredible turns of events are employed with abandon. The old dual narrator device, with its inevitability that "everything you thought you knew is not what it seems" is getting as stale as last year's scones. But then this did not claim to be a great work of literary fiction. I bought it for a long car journey where all I wanted was to be kept entertained, not challenged intellectually, and this completely delivered. I killed 6 of the 12 hours on the return journey alone, and soon listened to the rest at home. It is actually quite well-written in terms of the prose, with a nice line in vinegary human observations. Many of these types of books are not only hackneyed but direly written - not this. So, this is a really entertaining audio version of pool reading. It does what it says on the tin and you probably will not get bored! I thought it was really well narrated also, which goes a long way. Worse ways to spend a free credit.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Marj
  • 09-06-2018

Best book for a long time !

I don't usually write reviews but this was a definite winner, couldn't put it down....brilliant story and very well read ....bravo !

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Donna Holmes
  • 09-03-2018

great!

a really good book! split down into 3 parts, each part told so very well.
part 1 Amber, young, forceful, determined, going after what she wants without a care to anyone around. you get a real sense of desire from her. she wants Jackson and will stop at nothing to get him.
part 2 Daphne, the wife, the real story, the sense of betrayal, the abuse, the life with Jackson.
part 3. summation. the coming together of all elements. this is such a good psychological thriller. an awful story of abuse, of mistrust and betrayal. yet it's told so.well, sympathetically and caring. the ending whilst not unexpected was different enough to be exciting.

overall I loved this book. the audio was very well done. the narrator's voices were definitely a contribution to the telling of the story.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 20-01-2018

Fantistic

Good if not better than Gone Girl.
My favourite book in ages i loved it

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 23-01-2018

Just terrible!

Firstly the narrators were monotonous and bland throughout. The story line was OK and had potential BUT I don’t think there was a single believable conversation in the whole book. So superficial! And the ending! It just went on and on forever and was far too sickly sweet to be believable. Awful! Please don’t waste your time.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Book Addict
  • 01-04-2018

I do NOT recommend this book

It was predictable, slow, and just plain disturbing on a number of levels. And not in a good way. I finished it, hoping for something redeeming and a surprise twist to make it worthwhile... which never happened. I don’t like leaving a bad review, but I really did not like this one.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • mrs lisa f mowle
  • 29-10-2018

a fabulous listen

thought the first half was a little slow but the second half more than made up for it. Fabulous.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Karen Anderson
  • 26-10-2018

excellent story

love love loved this book. fantastic story with a great twist. I couldn't put it down.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Max Air
  • 16-08-2018

Unpleasant to listen to!

I couldn't begone to get into this book as I found the narrators voice an unpleasant, almost monotonous drawl.
It just goes to show that no matter how good the written text might be, chosen the right narrator is critical.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • CKW
  • 14-08-2018

not expected

I wasn't sure if I was going to like it when I started listening, but the twists in the story kept it interesting!