Get Your Free Audiobook

Listen with a free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $19.47

Buy Now for $19.47

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

An epic, escapist novel that will transport you away to an extraordinary time in history. Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Victoria Hislop.

Rome, 1950s. One fateful night, Hal Jacobs meets Stella, a beautiful society darling from New York. To Hal, flailing in the postwar darkness, she's a point of light. They're from different worlds but both trying and failing to carve out new lives.

Stella vanishes all too quickly, until a curious invitation from an Italian Contessa reels her back into Hal's world. They join the Contessa's collection of luminaries on a yacht headed for the Cannes Film Festival. The scene onboard is a fiction - scars from the war can be hidden yet not healed. Everyone is hiding a dark history, but Stella's secrets run the deepest.

Compelled by her fragile beauty, Hal is determined to bring back the girl she once was, the girl who's been confined to history.

The Invitation is an epic love story that will transport you from the glamour of the Italian Riviera to the darkness of war-torn Spain and to a golden - if rather haunted - time.

©2016 Lucy Foley (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic Reviews

"I loved The Invitation...I could dive into this book and be amongst the glittering characters in the Italian sun. A beautifully complex and vivid story, full of repressed longing and secrets. An absolutely enchanting tale." (Lucinda Riley)
"So powerfully evoked...with dark, sensuous undercurrents that lingered on in my mind, long after I'd reluctantly left Stella and Hal behind." (Kate Riordan)
"Full of mystery and long-reaching shadows of the past...richly drawn and compelling." (Rosanna Ley)
"An utterly seductive story depicting forbidden love and loss in 1950s Italy. The perfect beach read this summer." (Louise O'Neill)
"I loved every page - it's vividly written and utterly absorbing." (Iona Gray)
"Glamorous and romantic and bittersweet all at once...a fabulous story." (Beatriz Williams, New York Times best-selling author of A Hundred Summers)
"It's a beautiful, compulsive and glamorous read - perfect for long summer days." (Lucy Clarke, author of the Richard & Judy best seller The Sea Sisters)
"The combination of the glittering, glamorous setting and the magnetic characters mesmerized me. This book is luminous." (Elin Hilderbrand, New York Times best-selling author of Here's to Us)
"A compelling love story that takes us far beyond the alluring Italian coast to a darker place, where secrets hide just below the water's surface.... A great read." (Brunonia Barry, New York Times best-selling author of The Lace Reader)
"Fabulously engrossing." ( Woman & Home)

What listeners say about The Invitation

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Shallow and clumsy

This book left me frustrated and a bit bewildered. It felt like the whole thing moved so slowly as to be glacial. There were elements that could have brought more depth and interest, such as surviving a war, but these harder topics were not fully fleshed out. What was the point of the parallel journal story? It was handled clumsily and seemed so unnecessary. It all felt like a preamble to the real drama that would begin at its ending. Disappointing.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rosemary
  • Rosemary
  • 20-08-2016

Stunning book

Lucy Foley writes exquisitely, the narration is perfect, and the stories totally intriguing. I loved every second of The Invitation, and would rate it as my favourite book for the last couple of years.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 14-08-2017

One of my favourites!

I really enjoyed this book. Excellent historical story made even better by the amazing narrator.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for monty
  • monty
  • 10-10-2017

At last.....

A really good intelligent well written story...highly recommended and a cut above the norm

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Agnieszka Bania
  • Agnieszka Bania
  • 11-10-2016

An enchanting story beautifully read

This is one of those rare stories that really gets to you - it's got a wonderful atmosphere about it, debth of characters and is narrated in such a way that the narrator becomes the soul of the book. Ever wondered how you would be in the face of the war, loss, hunger? and how do regrets and what ifs shape your future?
Any Lucinda Riley fans will love this book and if you like "The Invitation"- then you will absolutely love every single one of Lucinda's unforgettable novels.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kath
  • Kath
  • 09-10-2017

Worth sticking with.

long and a struggle to stick with at times but, well worth it. Very well narrated.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Abbey
  • Abbey
  • 25-09-2017

Enjoyable story<br />

Bought the book by mistake, but pleased I did! Good story and well narrated. Plenty of storylines to keep you interested. Would recommend.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cagriff
  • Cagriff
  • 04-08-2021

All over the shop

The narrator was very good. The story line was all over the place....so I found it quite difficult listening and picking up where I left off because the story line was always going back to the past with the introduction of new characters...I just found it difficult to follow. The main female was a bit too damsel in distress. I wouldn’t recommend this book but I have enjoyed some of her other books.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Elizabeth McCully
  • Elizabeth McCully
  • 15-05-2021

Once again, Lucy Foley captivates me!

The Invitation is a captivating story, filled with many diverse and complicated characters yielding a dialogue of mystery and intrigue, playing out amongst the characters who represent people who have everything that money can buy and some who have nothing but talent and honesty. Emma Gregory’s reading with her beautiful accents also makes the story proceed like hot syrup over pancakes! You don’t want to stop reading and it’s with sadness ( and joy) when you reach the climax of this beautiful tale. Highly recommended.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mel Chambers
  • Mel Chambers
  • 07-05-2021

Great story!

A beautiful background of Italy & France compliments the characters. Very vivid, great pace, intriguing, thoughtful, excellent. Wish there were more Lucy Foley books.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for NellMcMH
  • NellMcMH
  • 15-09-2020

Feeling cheated...

by a book so well read but with an ending that seemed crow-barred in ar the last minute. ...and then what had seemed like quite an interesting cast, in retrospect were mostly clichés ...

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.