Try free for 2 months

  • The Hope That Kills

  • DI Fenchurch East London Crime Thrillers, Book 1
  • By: Ed James
  • Narrated by: Angus King
  • Length: 9 hrs and 48 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (11 ratings)

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
AUD $16.45/mo after 2 months. Renews automatically. Cancel anytime.
The Hope That Kills cover art

The Hope That Kills

By: Ed James
Narrated by: Angus King
Try for $0.00

AUD $16.45/mo after 2 months. Renews automatically. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $26.99

Buy Now for $26.99

Pay using voucher balance (if applicable) then card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

Meet Simon Fenchurch, detective inspector working the Met’s East London beat. Honest and funny but damaged, he’s working a case that could give him answers to his deepest trauma....

The body of a young woman is found on the streets of East London, in the shadow of the City’s gleaming towers. No ID on her, just hard-earned cash. But there is no doubting the ferocity of the attack.

DI Simon Fenchurch takes charge, but as his team tries to identify her and piece together her murder, they’re faced with cruel indifference at every turn—nobody cares about yet another dead sex worker.

To Fenchurch, however, the victim could just as easily be Chloe, his daughter, abducted from outside his home and still missing 10 years on, whose memory still haunts his days and nights, his burning obsession having killed his marriage.

When a second body is found, Fenchurch must peel back the grimy layers shrouding the London sex trade, confronting his own traumatic past while racing to undo a scheme larger, more complex and more evil than anything he could possibly have imagined.

For fans of Ian Rankin, Mark Billingham, Alex Smith, and JD Kirk, The Hope That Kills is the novel that introduced listeners to troubled Detective Simon Fenchurch.

©2017, 2020 Scott Cullen Ltd (P)2023 Grey Dog Audio

What listeners say about The Hope That Kills

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.