Get Your Free Audiobook

The Greek Escape

Narrated by: Jo Woodcock
Length: 13 hrs and 49 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (11 ratings)

Non-member price: $33.43

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

A scorching summer novel set on a lush Greek island, The Greek Escape by best-selling author Karen Swan is the perfect getaway for fans of Victoria Hislop and Santa Montefiore.

Before every new beginning, there must be an ending....

Running from heartbreak, Chloe Marston leaves her old life in London for a fresh start in New York. Working at a luxury concierge company, she makes other people’s lives run perfectly, even if her own has ground to a halt. But a terrible accident forces her to step into a new role, up close and personal with the company’s most esteemed and powerful clients. Charismatic Joe Lincoln is one of them, and his every wish is her command, so when he asks her to find him a secluded holiday home in the Greek Islands, she sets about sourcing the perfect retreat.

But when Tom, her ex, unexpectedly shows up in Manhattan and the stability of her new life is thrown off balance again, she jumps at the chance to help Joe inspect the holiday house; escaping to Greece will give her the time and space to decide where her future truly lies. Tom is the man she has loved for so long, but he has hurt her before - can she give him another chance? And as she draws closer to Joe, does she even want to? As magnetic as he is mysterious, there’s an undeniable chemistry between them that she can’t resist.

But whatever her heart is telling her, she’s in over her head - another client’s wife has mysteriously disappeared, and seriously allegations about Joe threaten more than just her happiness. Who can she trust? And will Chloe uncover the truth in time?

©2018 Karen Swan (P)2018 Macmillan Digital Audio

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jan
  • Jan
  • 13-08-2018

The Greek Escape

I thought this book from the cover would be different to what it is. I have spent a lot of time in the Greek Islands and love reading anything about them usually. I just bought this book and only read the first couple of chapters haven’t even downloaded it all but the narration is terrible so stilted and formal for me cannot listen to any more.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for KRT
  • KRT
  • 14-07-2018

Poor narration

I’m still on he first chapter and don’t know if I’ll get to the end. The narrator is far to stilted. The pauses too long. I feel like it’s being read to a kindergarten class.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 29-08-2019

Fun, interesting, surprising

Like the scent of reader. Put in in right perspective. Unable to guess how things will happen throughout the book. Very descriptive so I could “see” where the characters were.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Janey
  • Janey
  • 11-01-2019

Really enjoyed this!

First time reviewer here. This is a fun story with some good twists, engaging and funny characters, and gorgeous locations. The author and narrator are a great fit. Highly recommend.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Owlgirl
  • Owlgirl
  • 05-08-2018

Geek Escape is a Great Escape

Great Summer read! Thanks Karen, a great escape! Greece is on my bucket list, but the story had great twists & turns in the story!
Loved it ❣️

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for angiev
  • angiev
  • 13-11-2018

Great story

Best book I have listened to for ages. Really interesting characters, cut above usual romance , a bit of a thriller. Will look out for more books by this author.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Izzy Stevens
  • Izzy Stevens
  • 02-08-2018

Slow starter

Usually I am hooked instantly by Karen’s books but this one took a bit of a while to warm up for me.

However, once I’d gotten into it I couldn’t stop listening! I didn’t want it to end and was left desperately wanting to know more about the characters lives after the story had ended!

Fingers crossed for a sequel !!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nicpik
  • Nicpik
  • 17-10-2018

Good once past the slow beginning.

As others have said,a slow start, I almost speeded up the narration but once got going a great listen and left one wanting more.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Glitteringbug
  • Glitteringbug
  • 18-08-2018

One of the best reads to date.

Twists & turns to keep your interest, right up to the end.
Narrator took some warming to, but the story outweighed this completely.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dumetella
  • Dumetella
  • 11-08-2018

Entertaining

Certainly entertaining, but I kind of wish that the author would make more research when naming the characters... I am neither Russian nor Slavic but even I know that a Russian man would not have a name ending with an ‘a’... his wife, yes...

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for S J Hunter
  • S J Hunter
  • 23-03-2019

Slow burner

This book was a slow burner, it started slowly with too much detail about mundane things but half way through it picked up and became more interesting. Although it was easy to guess the outcome , it turned into s good mystery story with a twist. The narrator had a rather dull and flat delivery but it’s worth sticking with until the end. I feel that with a less pedestrian narrator, the story would have come alive far more. I would try another Karen Swan as long as it was read by someone else. It doesn’t have the smoothness of a Santa Montefoire or the light heartedness of a Veronica Henry, but well worth a listen.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kathy
  • Kathy
  • 18-10-2018

Greek Escape

Not as much Greece as I’d hoped, but at least it was Hydra, one of the most beautiful places I know!
A fun romp of a story, and fairly well narrated - the Northumbrian accents were dodgy - I’d say they sounded more Yorkshire but you can’t win them all, eh?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for NellMcMH
  • NellMcMH
  • 18-07-2018

Rather let down by the reader...

...or at least it was to me. Not my first Karen Swan but, despite intriguing story lines, I found myself being far more critical in parts than I might have been if, say, Katie Scarfe had recorded it, though I'm finding it hard to put into words why, without sounding like an ungratefully. grumpy old woman. Having said that, once the story finally reached Greece - though not until nearly halfway through the book - it began to zip along and loose ends were tied up neatly in the end. Perhaps it was just a question of a mismatch between book and recording artist...

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sair0075
  • Sair0075
  • 03-09-2019

Heartfelt & Lovely

A simple premise that gets much deeper and more intricate. It's well thought out and just makes the heart melt. Very satisfied with the ending. Definitely worth a read or a listen.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for IJ47
  • IJ47
  • 16-08-2019

Romance and intrigue - perfect combination

Really enjoyed it. Listened for hours at a time. Brilliantly written and very well read.