Get Your Free Audiobook

Listen with a free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $19.75

Buy Now for $19.75

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

The addictive Regency listen from the New York Times best-selling author that’s perfect for fans of Georgette Heyer!  

The accidental governess...After her livelihood slips through her fingers, Alexandra Mountbatten takes on an impossible post: transforming a pair of wild orphans into proper young ladies. However, the girls don’t need discipline. They need a loving home. Try telling that to their guardian, Chase Reynaud. The ladies of London have tried - and failed - to make him settle down. Somehow, Alexandra must reach his heart...without risking her own.

The infamous rake...Like any self-respecting libertine, Chase lives by one rule: no attachments. When a stubborn little governess tries to reform him, he decides to prove he can’t be tamed. But Alexandra is more than he bargained for: clever, perceptive, passionate. She refuses to see him as a lost cause. Soon the walls around Chase’s heart are crumbling...and he’s in danger of falling, hard.    

©2018 Tessa Dare (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic Reviews

"I absolutely loved it; her style is so warm and funny." (Nicola Cornick on The Duchess Deal)

"The irresistibly provocative, classy love scenes set the bar high for other historical romance novels." (Publishers Weekly on The Duchess Deal)

"I absolutely adored it. I laughed out loud numerous times...Love her writing." (Jodi Picoult)

What listeners say about The Governess Game

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    52
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    56
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    48
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Utterly charming

Delightful prose, wonderful banter and fabulous characters. Tessa Dare - and this series in particular - are a level above the vast majority in the genre. Wonderful.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

a good story

I did enjoy this but not as much as the first book with Emma and ash. Alex and chase didn't have the same chemistry and it felt lacking in places.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kerry
  • Kerry
  • 10-11-2018

Loved this book!

This book was so funny and romantic. The narrator was awesome. I couldn’t stop laughing out loud at times. I highly recommended

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Judy
  • Judy
  • 01-09-2018

Excellent narration enhances wonderful story.

The Governess Game is the second book in the Girl Meets Duke series, and we see quite a bit of the original cast from Book 1. This is Alexandra's story. She sets the time on the clocks of the wealthy, and stargazes in her spare time, hoping to find a new comet. Chase is her mysterious Book Store Rake and a potential client for her time-keeping business. He is also the reluctant guardian of a couple of little girls who would have been comfortable in the Addams Family.
The cast of characters have the enchanting quirks that I've grown to depend on in a Tessa Dare novel. From the doll with an unfortunate tendency to die from horrendous diseases,( and hilarious eulogies to match), to inventive sandwich recipes, there is a lot of background entertainment in this story that makes it a memorable experience. The love story is satisfying and hits no jarring notes, such as drawn out confessions or misunderstandings. Both Alexandra and Chase have their own charm and are thoroughly likeable. They just fit.
The narration is sublime. Mary Jane Wells just makes everything better, when it was already really, really good.
I hate having to wait for the 3rd book.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Teresa
  • Teresa
  • 05-06-2019

A lovely all round treat...

I didn’t know I was about to laugh out loud so many times or find myself smiling at the repartee between the characters. There was no obvious pages full of “ he said or she said” ending every sentence -
my personal dislike as it takes away the enjoyment. Mary Jane Wells is to be congratulated on her narrative skills , so much so I will look out specifically for her name. All together it was a treat to be savoured and I will no doubt play again..
Terry Mac

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Thor
  • Thor
  • 14-07-2021

An excuse for Sex.

Sadly the author has proved she has more to offer, but decided to settle for the easy and standard.
There is a good story with humour, drowned under obvious sex set pieces.
A totally disappointment, not worth the credit.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 23-05-2020

Brilliant narrator to fun book.

Could not stop listening to this book. Good story, strong characters and fabulous narration makes it very entertaining and most enjoyable. Many thanks for not overwriting it, as often some books go for the length rather than content.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Annie A
  • Annie A
  • 08-10-2019

Laugh out load moments

Really good book with strong characters and yes far fetched but good fun and very enjoyable

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Agatha
  • Agatha
  • 30-10-2018

Wonderful!

I adore Tessa Dare's writing style and can't wait for the next book in this series. Beautiful, funny and never bawdy. I loved it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Vi
  • Vi
  • 17-09-2021

Loved it

Brilliant performance by the narrator and great light story. I thoroughly enjoyed it and looking forward to more

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MagHod
  • MagHod
  • 07-09-2020

Happy camper

I can’t say enough good things about the narrator. I’ve been impressed with her work before, but this is another level good! Working with Tessa’s work must make it easier, but I’m so genuinely impressed with the narrators skill too!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for J. T.
  • J. T.
  • 11-01-2019

Perfect

Brilliant. Mary Jane Wells' narration perfectly complimented this story. Can we hear more by Mary Jane Wells please?

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Suzyplums
  • Suzyplums
  • 06-01-2019

brilliant and funny

I loved this second book. it's had me laughing out loud.

Mary Jane Wells brought all the characters to life.

I really hope Tess Dare follows up with a third book

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for JED
  • JED
  • 17-12-2018

Endearing story with the necessary happy ending

Another endearing story by Tessa Dare. Her stories do start to appear very similar, but they are worth a credit for the variation on the story. I also like the way Mary Jane Wells narrates these books. Its not too serious and there are some very lighthearted moments in it. This story is a bit too far fetched in too many places to rate five stars, but when its all pulled together it makes a happy Girl meets fate story, with the added charm of the two young girls,( who are wards to the hero), having a funeral for their doll every morning to attract their guardians attention. Nice little side story. Enjoyable listen.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.