Try free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $38.13

Buy Now for $38.13

Pay using coupon balance (if available) then card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

2017 Ned Kelly Award Best Crime Fiction Shortlist

"A chilling novel of our time, with a truly shocking twist." Australian Women's Weekly

When teenage bullying spirals out of control, who is to blame?

Blogger Lizzy's life is shiny, happy, normal. Two gorgeous children, a handsome husband, destiny under control. For her real-life alter-ego Beth, things are unravelling. Tensions simmer with her husband, mother-in-law, and her own mother. Her daughters, once the objects of her existence, have moved into teenage-hood, with their lives—at school, home and online—increasingly mysterious to her.

Then a fellow student is callously bullied and the finger of blame pointed at one of Beth's girls. As an innocent child lies suspended between life and death, two families are forced to question everything they believe about their children, and the answers are terrifying.

As unsettling as it is compelling, The Golden Child asks: How well can you know anyone in the digital age?

A potent story with shades of The Party and Mary Kubica.

Two families must grapple with the tragic fallout of cyberbullying.

PRAISE

"The novel is cleverly constructed, the characters are extremely well-drawn, the use of social media as a plot device is very sophisticated, and the resolution is a genuine surprise." Judges' report, Ned Kelly Crime Awards, 2017 

"This is domestic noir at its most intelligent and sharp." Sydney Morning Herald

"It takes 48 hours to pulse through Wendy James' rollercoaster 21st century story about parenting." Australian Women's Weekly

"An engaging and intimate read that will appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty and Jodi Picoult, with nods to Lionel Shriver and Christos Tsiolkas' The Slap . . . 4 Stars." Books & Publishing

"This book is utterly brilliant." Nicola Moriarty

"Brilliant. Such a clever plot, and such real characters, and so very, very well written." Danielle Hawkins

©2017 HarperCollins Publishers Australia pty Ltd (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers Australia pty Ltd

What listeners say about The Golden Child

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great ending I didn’t see coming!

Thank you Wendy I really loved this book - I was hooked from the beginning and so surprised with the ending - I didn’t see it coming!
I couldn’t stop listening - I look forward to downloading more of your a stories.
Im a nurse who met you at NBH earlier this year - hope all is going well with you and your lovely ma!
Cheers
Sally

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

memorable though chillingly believable

chilling, great narrator nightmare making😐certainly made the story sadly believable and frighteningly real and backstory on news in past!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Fee
  • Fee
  • 10-12-2019

Really enjoyable

Another new author for me and the wonderful Caroline Lee. Very, very good but really awful too, based on the all too real topic.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.