Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $33.43

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Penguin presents the audiobook edition of The Glass Woman, by Caroline Lea, read by Heiða Reed (Poldark, BBC) and Smari Gunn. 

Iceland, 1686. The brutal, lava-scarred landscape can swallow a man without so much as a volcanic gasp. 

Jón Eiríksson has just married his second wife in a year. But Rósa's new home in the windswept village of Stykkishólmur is terrifyingly isolated - the villagers are suspicious of strangers and fearful of something which they will not name. 

What is Rósa's new husband's secret, and why does the spectre of his first wife, Anna, haunt them so? 

Set against the backdrop of the 17th-century Icelandic witch trials, in a land governed by religion and fear, The Glass Woman is addictive, breathtaking and perfect for fans of Burial Rites and The Silent Companions.

©2019 Caroline Lea (P)2019 Penguin Books Ltd

What listeners say about The Glass Woman

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Luscious storytelling and so cold.

Set in 17th Century Iceland, The Glass Woman is the coldest story I’ve ever read.
The language is captivating but doesn’t slow the plot, that unravels layers of secrets and wonderfully drawn characters.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Susie
  • Susie
  • 03-04-2019

The Glass Woman

This book was certainly different to any that I have previously "read". The narration was superb and a pleasure to listen to. I love historical books, and the setting in Iceland was an enjoyable surprise. The description of the harsh landscape, barren and icy, was so good I had no difficulty imagining myself trying to eke out an existence in the unforgiving terrain. In this icy world the story of Rosa and Jon and and the rest of characters was very well told. I do not heshitate in recommending this book for an interesting read.

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Monica Balt
  • Monica Balt
  • 28-02-2019

Atmospheric, vivid, skillfully narrated!

The Glass Woman is an imaginatively plotted, immersive and well-researched novel. Caroline Lea conjures the harsh yet starkly beautiful landscape of 17th century Iceland so that it not only permeates the actions and emotions of her characters, it emerges as equally strong and unforgettable in its own right.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Eleonora Ferrero
  • Eleonora Ferrero
  • 22-01-2020

ok performance but awful story and writing

I've really struggled to finish the book. poorly written with a pathetic story. characters have no personality and the flow is slow.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for lezeki
  • lezeki
  • 26-03-2019

Haunting

The narration was excellent. I would have struggled with the Icelandic names and places if I had been reading the book. The story captured the bleakness of the landscape and claustrophobia of living in a small community where every action is judged.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jannette
  • Jannette
  • 08-01-2020

Beautiful, a future star in the literary sky

A haunting story of love, family, suspicion & hardship, all set in the omnipresence that is the landscape of Iceland. It's a story that keeps unfolding and folding in on itself, a marked comment on the life of women in that time and the things we had too, and were expected to, endure. I was pulled in by the intellect that shines out through Rosa, that and compassion carried the story all the way to the end. And through to the end it never disappointed, just beautiful.

It's a perfect story, in a totally imperfect way. I loved it. I'll be waiting for Caroline Lea's next work.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for mrssharpe
  • mrssharpe
  • 07-01-2020

Incredible

Every word is incredible. The writing is beautiful, each word incredible. The narration is excellent.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 08-06-2020

too slow and predictable

glad I didn't have to actually read it
should have given up after 2nd chapter

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for lisa clark
  • lisa clark
  • 14-02-2020

loved this book

I really enjoyed this book it's a great story enhanced by great narration . would definitely buy more from.this author

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dragonsitter
  • Dragonsitter
  • 10-12-2019

Fantastic Tale

This was an intriguing story all through and beautifully told. I thoroughly enjoyed it and was captivated until the last word!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Christine
  • Christine
  • 03-06-2019

Emersive

Wonderfully story, beautifully read. This was an addictive listen. A real treat that helped my commute fly by.

1 person found this helpful

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.