Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $27.79

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Peering over the side of the boat, the glare of early morning sun catches on something pale in the inky water. The boy’s curious fingertips break the surface, pulling up a tangle of long blonde hair from the reeds below....

The discovery of a young student floating face down in Lake Windermere, her naked skin almost translucent in the freezing water, looks like yet another tragic teen suicide. But the victim’s lack of clothes make forensic pathologist Beth Adams want to investigate further. Anything to distract her from the arrival of her abusive ex-boyfriend’s body on the mortuary table that morning. 

With witnesses keeping tight-lipped and any clues washed away by the tides, it’s up to Beth to find the evidence her team needs. But then another girl is found in the lake, this time still clinging to life. She tells them she was at a party on a boat, and that she was pushed....

As more bodies surface, Beth finds tiny traces of boat paint present on each victim. It’s a critical lead that links these attacks back to a tragic accident involving a group of school children years ago. 

Faced with a killer hungry for revenge, and with her own life spiralling out of control, it’s going to take every ounce of skill and determination for Beth to catch this monster before he takes another innocent life. But will Beth realise he’s been right beside her all along? 

A serial killer thriller that will have you sleeping with the lights on. Fans of Patricia Gibney, LJ Ross, and Angela Marsons will have to hold on tight for this nail-biting rollercoaster ride!

©2019 Helen Phifer (P)2019 Bookouture

What listeners say about The Girls in the Lake

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    37
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    32
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    4
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    32
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Story

Couldn't put this book down loved every bit of it good narrator ....
loved thw twists such a great writer

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Another Good Beth Adams Mystery

Well narrated, a good story overall. As usual, it was not the usual suspect! Some good twists & turns.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars

The Girls in the Lake

I struggled with the narrator's voice so much so I couldn't continue listening to the book

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous!

Helen Phifer is one of my favorite authors and this didn’t disappoint it was an excellent read. A cracking start to 2020! Exciting and tense it kept me gripped through the whole book. Totally loved it, it was brilliant.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

easy to listen to

initially not impressed but it grew on me. listened to the whole book over the weekend.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • eob
  • 20-12-2019

Good story but narrator’s voice grates

The narrative is interesting and provides lots of twists and well developed characters, but the voice of the narrator can be very grating at times. It’s “little girl” quality is unsuitable for this genre.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

No regard for her readers

Did Helen Phifer even read this book? Did she read Book 1 in this series? If she, or the editors had they would have known who attacked the main character Beth and it wasn’t Robert. Absolutely no respect for her readers - will NEVER buy another of her books again. Couldn’t get past chapter 7. It’s a shame - but it Helen Phifer’s complete disregard for the people who buy her books is disgraceful.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Disappointing

Simple and predictable. I’m sad to say I found it boring. Shame the narration was more like a dirge .too.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Totally disconnected and boring

What a time waster! Spent an hour trying to get into it but the story drifts here there and everywhere you can’t piece together what’s relevant, so not recommending

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tiff S
  • Tiff S
  • 02-08-2021

Disappointed

The story is not consistent with the first book. The storyline is forced. The relationship is more interesting part of the book. Which is not the genre I wanted to hear. I'm just disappointed.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ajax
  • Ajax
  • 18-07-2021

did you even read it

I love the mystery of her stories, but the explanation of what happened to Beth in the first book compared to the explanation in the second book were completely different. and why did her ex off himself when he was literally about to die? and why was she shocked by his appearance when she had just seen him 6 weeks before when she dropped off his letters and told him to f off? why are we blaming the ex for the second attempt on her life and calling the man responsible her ex's accomplice? why, at the end of the first book does she feel so proud of herself for fighting off her would be killer, then in the second book she credits Josh with saving her. why is an insecure alcoholic in the second book? in the first book Beth and Josh took turns choosing Netflix titles to watch, but im the second book it says she never watches TV. why in the f would Josh ignore her for 2 days and treat her like shit because he was doing something nice for someone? why did Josh's ex and Beth's ex both have cancer? wtf? dumb.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for JF
  • JF
  • 26-06-2021

Tell, tell, never show.

The plot is interesting, but the writing is incredibly annoying. It constantly violates the show don’t tell rule and it just gets so tedious.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Marydior
  • Marydior
  • 05-07-2020

Fantastic

A great British Procedural and the second in the series. This book has it all: fast paced action, a mystery that will keep you guessing and a touch of romance. Excellent narration.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for K. Hawes
  • K. Hawes
  • 23-04-2020

Surprising to the end!

The story was very good, led in many different directions, with a great twist at the end.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kara
  • Kara
  • 20-03-2020

Terrible, poor mystery, ridiculous motives.

This is the second in the series and it’s just as absurd as the first. The first one never gives a motive for either attacker and it’s completely absurd. Main characters behavior like fools. I won’t read another one.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Andromeda's Twin
  • Andromeda's Twin
  • 14-12-2019

Great thriller

This is a great follow up to book one, The Girl in the Grave, which I very much enjoyed after a rough start.

This story starts with the non couple Josh and Beth having become an actual couple, which surprised me, so early in a series, but it plays a part in the story (not an edifying part).

Beth is still prone to annoying self doubts and mind wandering but overall she's rather a likeable character despite these flaws, so she's rather more human and believeable than some super hero cops/pathologists/psychologists.

I admit to having been totally thrown by the big reveal at the end, I had my suspicions, but I really was surprised when it all came to light, well done Ms Phifer.

I love Beth, I love this series, I will certainly get the next book.

Alison Campbell is not the best narrator for any thriller but she portrays Beth quite well, since Beth is lacking in confidence and generally seems pretty young and Alison is always pleasant to listen to.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Oops 66
  • Oops 66
  • 08-03-2020

Excellent

I do hope we don’t have to wait too long for the next instalment of pathologist Beth Adams. I have enjoyed books1 & 2. Will definitely recommend these to my family & friends.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Maureen Sutton
  • Maureen Sutton
  • 13-12-2019

Good story

Thoroughly enjoyable with a surprise at the end. Look forward to her next book.No more than I can say

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.